04:59 AM (GMT +5)

Old Monday, August 09, 2010

samraa is on a distinguished road
Default Rich baluchistan,poor baloch

The feudal lords that are raising voices are the true and real culprits for the situation in balochistan.These sardars would never like to see Balochistan getting developed, as it will deprive them from the royalty that they enjoy for their own families in the name of tribal heads. These tribal leader shall be eleminated if the goverment makes direct investments in the province.
Old Tuesday, August 10, 2010

doublegreatestniazi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Riaz Ahmed Alizai View Post
Among the many grievances expressed by the Baloch nationalists, the most persistent and long-standing has been that the resources, including coal as well as gas, have been exploited by the central government without adequate compensation to the province. Poor handling of Balochistan issue by the past governments fed a sense of alienation in the minds of the Baloch.

Balochistan is a transit site for major proposed natural gas pipelines that would carry gas from either Iran or Turkmenistan to Pakistan and from there potentially to India. One of many obstacles to the implementation of these pipeline projects has been the threat of Baloch militant attacks to disrupt gas supplies.

Balochistan is the site of a major port facility and energy hub at Gwadar on the province’s coast. Gwadar is the terminus of a projected interstate transport corridor that is to link Pakistan by road, rail, air, and, to some extent, pipeline with both China’s Xinjiang province and, via Afghanistan, with the energy-rich Central Asian Republics (CARs).

Baloch nationalists have complained that the government has developed the port and corridor without consultation with, involvement of, or benefit to the Baloch people. The anger of Baloch nationalists has sometimes been directed against China, whose investment in the Gwadar project and in other Balochistan-based ventures has been substantial.

A number of Chinese nationals have been the target of five violent attacks in Pakistan in recent years, with three of these attacks taking place in Balochistan, two of which resulted in fatalities. And recently, the Baloch nationalists abducted UN official John Solecki asking the government to fulfill their demands in return of his release. But later, Mr Solecki was released with the help of the three deceased leaders. These acts of belligerence cannot be stopped unless the grievances of the Baloch are addressed completely and surely.

Baloch nationalist leaders insist they are not opposed to development but are against the exploitation of natural resources that do not benefit local communities. They also insist that the province, not the sardars or the centre, should be the main beneficiary of the income from Balochistan’s natural gas and other mineral resources.

Distribution of resources remains another matter of conflict between Balochistan and the centre. The National Finance Commission (NFC), the mechanism used by the centre to distribute federal grants to the provinces, is contentious because it is controlled by the federal government, and in the Balochistan context, because the main criterion for NFC awards is population. The award should be determined through consensus among the provinces and on an equitable basis. By revising the criteria to account for backwardness, level of development, geographic size and revenue levels of the provinces, the centre would remove at least one major bone of contention.

In a province that already has an excessive security presence, the government’s decision to establish new military cantonments has reinforced local perceptions of the Pakistani army as a ‘colonising force’.

The Baloch opposition has called for the removal of the Frontier Corps (FC) and its checkposts, an end to military operations, the return of the army to the barracks, the withdrawal of politically motivated cases and the release of political prisoners if peace is to be restored. The insurgency is unlikely to subside as long as the military relies on repression, killings, imprisonment, disappearances and torture to bend the Baloch to its will.

Many Baloch ruling provincial parliamentarians also support local ownership of development projects and agree with the opposition that military force will not solve the conflict.

To solve the Balochistan conflict, the federal government should review the checkposts manned by the Frontier Corps and the Coast Guards in interior Balochistan, removing those not needed; redirect the focus of both security agencies on border patrol and interdiction of arms and narcotics; train levies on the police pattern and provide the requisite logistics.

The federal government should halt construction of military cantonments until all major issues are resolved, increase royalties to the gas-producing districts of Balochistan, with the government paying arrears. It must ensure maximum provincial representation immediately on the boards of PPL, OGDC, and Sui Southern.

It is required that oil and gas companies invest 5 percent of total expenditures on social sector projects in consultation with public representatives; distribution companies should provide gas on a priority basis to the areas where it is produced.

The central government should allocate 7 per cent of the GPA’s gross revenue, other than federal levies, for Balochistan’s development, while giving locals employment preference, followed by people from Makran and then the rest of Balochistan; fishermen, displaced by the Gwadar project, must be reimbursed and relocated near the East or West Bays; address under-development in Gwadar, Quetta and Sui, facilitate social sector development province-wide, especially in health, housing and education, and make a one-time grant to improve the province’s medical infrastructure.

The federal government should make the development level and degree of backwardness the first criteria for NFC awards; strictly implement the 5.4 per cent employment quota for Baloch workers in all federal ministries, divisions, corporations and departments and consider special measures to compensate for the lack of recruitment of the Baloch into the armed forces and civil security forces; and create parity between the Baloch and Pashtuns in Balochistan in all spheres of life.

Among the many grievances expressed by the Baloch nationalists, the most persistent and long-standing has been that the resources, including coal as well as gas, have been exploited by the central government without adequate compensation to the province. Poor handling of Balochistan issue by the past governments fed a sense of alienation in the minds of the Baloch.

Balochistan is a transit site for major proposed natural gas pipelines that would carry gas from either Iran or Turkmenistan to Pakistan and from there potentially to India. One of many obstacles to the implementation of these pipeline projects has been the threat of Baloch militant attacks to disrupt gas supplies.

Balochistan is the site of a major port facility and energy hub at Gwadar on the province’s coast. Gwadar is the terminus of a projected interstate transport corridor that is to link Pakistan by road, rail, air, and, to some extent, pipeline with both China’s Xinjiang province and, via Afghanistan, with the energy-rich Central Asian Republics (CARs).

Baloch nationalists have complained that the government has developed the port and corridor without consultation with, involvement of, or benefit to the Baloch people. The anger of Baloch nationalists has sometimes been directed against China, whose investment in the Gwadar project and in other Balochistan-based ventures has been substantial.

A number of Chinese nationals have been the target of five violent attacks in Pakistan in recent years, with three of these attacks taking place in Balochistan, two of which resulted in fatalities. And recently, the Baloch nationalists abducted UN official John Solecki asking the government to fulfill their demands in return of his release. But later, Mr Solecki was released with the help of the three deceased leaders. These acts of belligerence cannot be stopped unless the grievances of the Baloch are addressed completely and surely.

Baloch nationalist leaders insist they are not opposed to development but are against the exploitation of natural resources that do not benefit local communities. They also insist that the province, not the sardars or the centre, should be the main beneficiary of the income from Balochistan’s natural gas and other mineral resources.

Distribution of resources remains another matter of conflict between Balochistan and the centre. The National Finance Commission (NFC), the mechanism used by the centre to distribute federal grants to the provinces, is contentious because it is controlled by the federal government, and in the Balochistan context, because the main criterion for NFC awards is population. The award should be determined through consensus among the provinces and on an equitable basis. By revising the criteria to account for backwardness, level of development, geographic size and revenue levels of the provinces, the centre would remove at least one major bone of contention.

In a province that already has an excessive security presence, the government’s decision to establish new military cantonments has reinforced local perceptions of the Pakistani army as a ‘colonising force’.

The Baloch opposition has called for the removal of the Frontier Corps (FC) and its checkposts, an end to military operations, the return of the army to the barracks, the withdrawal of politically motivated cases and the release of political prisoners if peace is to be restored. The insurgency is unlikely to subside as long as the military relies on repression, killings, imprisonment, disappearances and torture to bend the Baloch to its will.

Many Baloch ruling provincial parliamentarians also support local ownership of development projects and agree with the opposition that military force will not solve the conflict.

To solve the Balochistan conflict, the federal government should review the checkposts manned by the Frontier Corps and the Coast Guards in interior Balochistan, removing those not needed; redirect the focus of both security agencies on border patrol and interdiction of arms and narcotics; train levies on the police pattern and provide the requisite logistics.

The federal government should halt construction of military cantonments until all major issues are resolved, increase royalties to the gas-producing districts of Balochistan, with the government paying arrears. It must ensure maximum provincial representation immediately on the boards of PPL, OGDC, and Sui Southern.

It is required that oil and gas companies invest 5 percent of total expenditures on social sector projects in consultation with public representatives; distribution companies should provide gas on a priority basis to the areas where it is produced.

The central government should allocate 7 per cent of the GPA’s gross revenue, other than federal levies, for Balochistan’s development, while giving locals employment preference, followed by people from Makran and then the rest of Balochistan; fishermen, displaced by the Gwadar project, must be reimbursed and relocated near the East or West Bays; address under-development in Gwadar, Quetta and Sui, facilitate social sector development province-wide, especially in health, housing and education, and make a one-time grant to improve the province’s medical infrastructure.

The federal government should make the development level and degree of backwardness the first criteria for NFC awards; strictly implement the 5.4 per cent employment quota for Baloch workers in all federal ministries, divisions, corporations and departments and consider special measures to compensate for the lack of recruitment of the Baloch into the armed forces and civil security forces; and create parity between the Baloch and Pashtuns in Balochistan in all spheres of life.

http://www.countercurrents.org/yasin190409.htm
Brother alizai,
the points ur aised are all correct,
but ur leaders who raise these points for the pple of Balochistan are sincere with common balochis?
they say that Federal Govt is exploiting them,it is true we admitt but what these sardars has giving to the commmon men of balochistan?
sardar is like a father to pple of his area but this father i think has looted or damaged much much more the common balochi than federal govt.

sumair shah is on a distinguished road

y shud sardars give us and y they have to do with us.... we need government to support us and let us get good jobs..

u r saying all this coz u havnt seen and faced the real situation going on here.... we live here and we know how wrong its going over here

Last edited by Silent.Volcano; Tuesday, August 10, 2010 at 02:26 PM.

sillent.killer will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
Baluchistan should be given more then it deserve but what about the Sardari system that dont allow any development work in their area ? What about the killing of poor "ABADKARS" and pushing them out of the province ?
Sardari system is not stoping the development in balochistan i my self passed my life in sardari system and till to day i havent seen our sardar igonre us and become a rare in development , and about abadcars i ask you a question where are our 8000 thousand sister,s mother's, brother's father's who are escaped by agencies and what about our da dae balochistan shaheed nawab akbar khan bugti who killed by forces and till two his dead body is shot. ask the mother , father, or relatevs of those family member;s who are escaped always they are shouting for there relatives. ........????????

sillent.killer will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Crown Prince View Post
Riaz Ahmad Alizai !!

Politicians of the provinces are mostly Nawabs and Sardars hence they are sure to be elected in elections regardless of party affiliations. They are not interested in the development and prosperity of the province. You said a village near Sui has not facility of natural gas but a Minister of JUI provided natural gas to his constituency in Pakhtun belt of Balochistan by his personal efforts. It is not the matter, even an MPA can provide such facility to his constituency.

See the role of CM Balochistan; he is non serious person ever in the province. He did nothing for the well being of the masses. He belongs to PPP and in center PPP has government but he has no concern about the problems of common men. Here people want infrastructure, educational and health facilities but he is not serious yet to solve the problems of the people.

Provincial Assembly of Balochistan consists of 65 MPAs, 2 from opposition and 63 are from Govt. and all of them are Ministers. Govt. has been formed on ministerial basis not on ideological and on the basis of party manifesto. I can surely claim that if CMship of Balochsitan is entrusted to a visionary and talented person like Shahbaz Sharif then he will bring drastic changes in the provicnial and can change the fate of the masses. Current set up is corrupt and lack vision.

i agree with u are respective points but which things u are saying i m not satisfied with them even as one said till u not seen dont throw stones i want to say the real suitation of balochistan but soon i will show u are about balochistan. in the time our governer nawab zulfiqar magsi said my foot and hands are tied from fedrel government what pakistan has given to balochistan with out dead bodies and escaping balochs froms there homes as you people are discussing you people have lissned from other's come to visit i my self visit you all about balochistan how establishmenters ignoring balochs in punjab in all areas all villages you found gas but in balochistan instead of 30 disst you people found just in 4 disst gas is available what is this ??????

sana_krn has a spectacular aura aboutsana_krn has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by sillent.killer View Post
Sardari system is not stoping the development in balochistan i my self passed my life in sardari system and till to day i havent seen our sardar igonre us and become a rare in development , and about abadcars i ask you a question where are our 8000 thousand sister,s mother's, brother's father's who are escaped by agencies and what about our da dae balochistan shaheed nawab akbar khan bugti who killed by forces and till two his dead body is shot. ask the mother , father, or relatevs of those family member;s who are escaped always they are shouting for there relatives. ........????????
my dear brother issue of missing persons is not issue of balochs only its issue of all provinces akber bugti martyerd we all feel ashamed on it but u forget LAL MASJID? U forget suicide attacks? how can u say only balochs are suffering?
her aik utni he takleef mai hai jitni main baloch
ab yea btao punjab ka wazir e alla flood effected areas 7 days spend kr k ata hai apney hatho sey rescue kerta hai baki kha hian? baki sab so ray hian?
Army n punjab govt. k ilawa kon nzr a ra hai govts main? yea b hmra qasoor hia kha hai baki sab? Khuda k liey in syasto sey nikal aye werna hath ksi k b kuch ni aye ga.
hm mulk torna afford ni ker saktey kb jagoo app ??? jb kuch b ni bachey ga tb?
Shali (Wednesday, August 11, 2010)

sana_krn has a spectacular aura aboutsana_krn has a spectacular aura about

who said all villages of punjab are blessed by gas????????????????? come n visit here n see sufferings here n the area which hv gas is dua to thier MPAs MNAs, how come MPAs n MNA of Baluchistan are helpless? tell me constitution of pakistan has some spl article for baloch mpa n mna's that thier powers are less thn punjabi sindhi n pushtoon mna's?
had hai badgumani apni ankhai kholo bhai khud dekho dosrey jo dikhatey hian us ki aink utaroooo apni ankho sey dekho apney kano sey suno
waha ki bat kertey ho yaha ao tumhai yha k halat dikhati ho phr bt kerna
Shali (Wednesday, August 11, 2010), Sociologist PU (Tuesday, August 10, 2010)

Thanked 1,049 Times in 524 Posts
Waqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud of

The main reason behind the deprivation of balouchi people,is education.
Have you all forgotten the scenario in which 6 alive women were buried?
who most of the time blow gas links up?
how many times chinese engineers were killed in balouchistan?
who will invest in such province which is damned risky?
will u invest your money in ghanna or in somalia? never.
Educate the people and ask them to give votes to deserving politicians.
as far natural resources are concerned,bhai it is the duty of the province to dilever justice to the people ,federation ka koi kaam nahi usko buss kuch % milta hay.
Ask all these questions to balouchi leaders?
why khan of kalat claimed that accession of balouchistan was done forcibly?
why nawabs and nationalist are still claiming that balouchistan is not a part of pakistan?
pyar se bat karo tub bhi naraz,koi action lo tab bi naraz.
ese liye kehta hon,education k store kholo,education phelany waly doctors recruit karo aur sab ko education k dozes do,sab sahi hojayega per afsoos kuch arsa pehly teachers,principals ,VC ko bhi shaheed kya gaya? why?
where is home minister? is he sindhi or punjabi?
think over it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Waqar Abro For This Useful Post:
Sociologist PU (Tuesday, August 10, 2010)

sumair shah is on a distinguished road

F.C is operating in the Balochistan against the people in their own province and degrading them, teasing them......Natural gas taken no royality paid yet....Innocent people those who have not had any single crime committed, taken away later found dead, eye witnesses saw people wid covered faces throwing the dead bodies and after a few mins F.C coming 2 collect those bodies even no one informed them..how they came 2 know..?
Nawab Akber Bugti did not commit any crime was not at all involved in any illegal activity and he did not go to have fight with the Govt but the army attacked his home so he had to resist.. u tell me if someone attacks u at ur home wat would be ur reply then...?
Nawabi system reference is not at all not at all and not at all correct..absolutely concocted story... Baluchistan is being completely administered by the feadral government eveything lies in there hand, they are running the whole province and they are delebrately doing all this nonsense..
Another point,, the educated people of Balohistan, the balochs are unemployed eventhough very talented and well qualfied and they are compelled to such extent that they sell melons, do peon jobs..just bcoz there seats have been occupied by others outsiders and all the job handling decision s lie in their hands u can even chek in order to comply to this statement of mine....
MOst important ..Government itself is confessing that justice has not been adopted in case of balochistan and the claims of balochistani people are absolutely correct... then how could u people favor the government and still considering balochs and balochistan wrong.........?

Yes this is true quaid-e-azam made an agreement with khan of kalat, and balochistan was combined with pakistan on contract,,, balochistan is not at all the part of pakistan and balochistan is existing far before the independance of pakistan..balochistan existed when there was no pakistan

Government itself is saying that balochistan's gas royality is pending and has not been paid...how r u saying that some of the percentage is received by the federal govt...? First improve ur knowledge then take part in this discussion

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, August 10, 2010 at 11:22 PM. Reason: avoid offensive comments

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all

I wonder that lot of gas is being pumped out in KP, sindh and punjab, but people and politicans of these provinces have never demaned any royality or undue favour from the fed. gov. So why some nawabs demand money against the gas pumped out in Baluchistan ? I wonder what is the justification of keeping private armies by some nawabs ? Is it is lawless province ?
And somebody saying above that education is low in baluchistan, so how it will improve when every student want to get degree without reading anything ? When teachers are killed mercilessly, who will stay there to teach you ? I remember whenever some development workers went into far-flung areas, they were beaten and killed. Who will go to develop your area in this dangerous situation ?
I think the baluchi posters in this thread should prove themselevs with unbiased thinking instead of playing second fiddle to the blackmailer politicans. We will raise our voice with them.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, August 10, 2010 at 11:33 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sociologist PU For This Useful Post:
sana_krn (Wednesday, August 11, 2010), Shali (Wednesday, August 11, 2010)