07:05 AM (GMT +5)

Old Tuesday, December 26, 2006

crying_baby is on a distinguished road
Post afghanistan ka hall

محمد خان نے کہا ہے کہ حکومت نے افغانستان سے شدت پسندوں کی آمد و رفت کو روکنے کے لیے سرحد کے مخصوص مقامات پر کہیں باڑ اور کہیں بارودی سرنگ بچھانے کا فیصلہ کیا ہے۔
یہ بات انہوں نے منگل کو دفتر خارجہ میں رواں سال کی آخری ہفتہ وار بریفنگ میں کی۔ یہ بریفنگ ترجمان کے بجائے خارجہ سیکریٹری نےخود دی۔ انہوں نے بتایا کہ باڑ اور بارودی سرنگ بچھانے کے لیے پاک فوج سے کہا گیا ہے کہ وہ طریقہ کار وضح کریں کہ کہاں باڑ لگانی ہے اور کہاں بارودی سرنگ بچھانی ہے۔

ریاض محمد خان نے کہا کہ اس بارے میں افغانستان کی حکومت سے کوئی مشاورت نہیں کی گئی ہے اور نہ اس کی ضرورت ہے کیونکہ پاکستان اپنے علاقے میں یہ کر سکتا ہے۔

ریاض محمد خان نے کہا کہ اس بارے میں افغانستان کی حکومت سے کوئی مشاورت نہیں کی گئی ہے اور نہ اس کی ضرورت ہے کیونکہ پاکستان اپنے علاقے میں یہ کر سکتا ہے

انہوں نے کہا کہ پاک افغان سرحد پر فرنٹیئر کور کی مزید نفری تعینات کی جا رہی ہے اور چیک پوسٹوں کی تعداد میں بھی اضافہ کر رہے ہیں۔ ان کے مطابق فی الوقت سات سو سے زائد چیک پوسٹ قائم ہیں۔

پاک افغان سرحد پر باڑ اور بارودی سرنگیں بچھانے پر کتنا خرچہ ہوگا، کتنے کلومیٹر تک ہوگی اور کن کن مقامات پر ہوگی جیسے سوالات پر سیکریٹری خارجہ نے کہا کہ اس بارے میں طریقہ کار پاکستان فوج وضح کر رہی ہے۔

خارجہ سیکریٹری نے کہا کہ باڑ اور بارودی سرنگ بچھانے کا کام کب مکمل ہوگا وہ اس بارے میں کچھ نہیں بتا سکتے کیونکہ اس کے لیے خاصی رقم درکار ہوگی ۔ ان کے مطابق تاحال اس بارے میں انہوں نے عالمی برادری سے امداد حاصل کرنے کا نہیں سوچا لیکن اگر ضروری ہوا تو وہ ایسا بھی کریں گے۔

تاہم انہوں نے کہا کہ مخصوص مقامات پر جہاں جہاں ضروری ہے وہاں بارودی سرنگ بچھانے کا کام بڑی خبرداری کے ساتھ کرنا ہوگا۔ انہوں نے کہا کہ باڑ یا بارودی سرنگ بچھانے سے پہلے سرحد پر لوگوں کی آمد و رفت کے لیے مراکز قائم کرنے ہوں گے اور انہیں اس بارے میں معلومات دینی ہوگی۔

انہوں نے کہا کہ باڑ لگانے میں دیر ہوگی اور یہ مشکل بھی ہے کیونکہ اس کی دیکھ بھال بھی کرنی ہے جبکہ اس کی نسبت بارودی سرنگ بچھانا کافی آسان ہے اور جلدی میں بھی ہوسکتا ہے۔

جب ان سے پوچھا گیا کہ کیا پاکستان حکومت کا یہ فیصلہ بارودی سرنگوں کے متعلق عالمی قوانین اور اقوام متحدہ کے کنوینشن کے منافی نہیں ہے تو ریاض محمد خان نے کہا کہ پاکستان نے اس کنوینشن پر دستخط نہیں کیا ہے۔۔

تاہم انہوں نے تسلیم کیا کہ پاکستان کو معاملے کی حساسیت کا اندازہ ہے لیکن وہ اس طرح کے غیر معمولی اقدامات غیر معمولی حالات کے تحت کر رہا ہے۔

واضح رہے کہ پاکستان اور افغانستان کی چوبیس سو کلومیٹر پیچیدہ سرحد کے متعلق افغانستان حکومت کہتی رہی ہے کہ یہ عارضی سرحد ہے جسے ’ڈیورنڈ لائن‘ کہا جاتا ہے جبکہ پاکستان کہتا ہے کہ یہ عالمی سرحد ہے جو ایک صدی تک دونوں ممالک تسلیم کرتے رہے ہیں۔

پاکستان نے اس بارے میں افغان حکومت کو سرحد پار شدت پسندی کو روکنے کے لیے باضابطہ طور پر باڑ لگانے اور بارودی سرنگ بچھانے کی تجاویز دی تھیں لیکن افغانستان نے وہ مسترد کردی تھیں۔

ایک سوال پر ترجمان نے کہا کہ افغانستان میں امن قائم کرنا اور شدت پسندی کو روکنا صرف پاکستان کی ذمہ داری نہیں ہے بلکہ ان کے بقول امریکہ کی اتحادی افواج، نیٹو اور افغانستان حکومت سمیت سب کی ذمہ داری ہے۔ انہوں نے اس موقع پر افغانستان میں پائیدار امن کے قیام اور تعمیر نو کے لیے پاکستانی حکومت کے اقدامات کی بھی تفصیل بتائی۔

انہوں نے کہا کہ پاکستان عالمی برادری اور بالخصوص اقوام متحدہ سے درخواست کرتا ہے کہ افغانستان کی سرحد پر واقع افغان پناہ گزینوں کے بعض کیمپ جو تنازعہ کی وجہ بھی بنتی ہیں انہیں مختلف مقامات پر منتقل کرے اور جتنا جلد ممکن ہوسکے افغان پناہ گزینوں کو واپس وطن بھجوانے کا انتظام کرے۔

افغانستان میں امن کے لیے ’مارشل پلان‘ بنانے کے بارے میں صدر جنرل پرویز مشرف کے حالیہ بیان کے حوالے سے سوال پر انہوں نے کہا کہ یہ ہماری سوچ ہے اور کوئی باضابطہ تجویز نہیں ہے اور نہ ہی پاکستان خود سے عالمی برادری سے رابطہ کرکے کہے گا کہ مارشل پلان بنائیں۔ تاہم ان کے مطابق اگر عالمی برادری کو درپیش چیلینج سے نمٹنے کے لیے ایسا لگے تو اس پر غور کیا جائے۔
Old Friday, December 29, 2006

elementofsurprize is on a distinguished road

Sorry crying baby I could not read the long article, but I would sure comment on the topic you have posted. Afghanistan is no doubt amongst world's poorest and most backward countries.... but these people were known as invaders in history. Thatta was second only to Baghdad in terms of libraries, schools, universities and learned people who lived there... Arghone and Turkhaan were Afghani invaders who invaded Punjab and Sindh and they burned all the libraries, schools and universities of Thatta just to put fear in the hearts of the people so that there is no uprising. All through history, Afghans have Used Islam to gain greater military advantages and conquer more lands... When any nation behaves so non-seriously they deserve a collective fate like that of Aghanistan. Now, they are themselves slaves of foreign powers who are exploiting them in worse ways than they could have ever exploited their subjects when they conquered any land.

Today, Sindh and Punjab are free and togather under flag of Pakistan, but Afghanistan is suffering from worst humiliation in history. This is cause and effect. Even today they are the very non-serious nation, selling drugs, destroying lives, finger-pointing at Pakistan, licking shoes of NATO, getting their own people killed....I feel sad for nations who don't learn from history

I M Possible will become famous soon enough

Same here, i also failed to read the article. Hope the guy could upload the original link or article's translation for the sake of info sharing and discussion.

eijaz is on a distinguished road

ok let me post same story in english ....

Islamabad, Dec 27: A flaming border row between Pakistan and Afghanistan is threatening to undermine the "war on terror" that both countries are supposed to be fighting in alliance with the United States and other Western powers.

Pakistan says it will "mine and fence" a part of its troubled border with Afghanistan while the latter has dubbed it an act of "beating around the bush" in response to charges that Islamabad is fuelling a Taliban resurgence.

An I-care-a-damn Islamabad says it does not require Kabul's permission.

But Kabul has reacted angrily to the decision by Pakistan and demanded that it fight "terrorists in a real manner".

"Rather than beating around the bush, we must confront terrorists in a real manner," said Khaliq Ahmad, a presidential spokesperson.

"Fencing or mining the border is neither helpful nor practical," he said. "We are against it. The border is not where the problem lies."

Pakistan has said it will build a fence and lay mines at "selected places" on its side of the border with Afghanistan to restrict cross-border movement, Foreign Secretary Riaz Muhammad Khan said Tuesday.

"This is a part of our established policy. We are taking measures to prevent any militant activity from Pakistan inside Afghanistan," Khan said.

The Pakistan Army has been tasked to work out the modalities of the project. The 2,400-km Pakistan-Afghan border has 700 crossing points. However, Khan did not give any time frame for the completion of the project, nor mentioned the specific areas to be fenced or mined.

Afghanistan has been battling, with virtually no success, cross-border movement by Taliban and Al Qaeda fighters who use Pakistan's tribal area as a safe haven and source of arms and money.

The growing Taliban and Al Qaeda campaign inside the Afghan territory has been a constant source of border skirmishes and verbal exchanges at the level of the two presidents, Hamid Karzai and Pervez Musharraf.

Mediation efforts by US President George W. Bush, who invited the two to dinner in October, and tripartite US-Afghan-Pakistan mechanism for border management have been of little use.

Pakistan entered into a pact with the local tribals on its side in September in which the tribal elders promised not to allow safe haven for Taliban insurgents.

But Afghanistan has rejected the deal and the US too has concluded that the pact has ended up allowing immunity to the tribals and their foreign 'guests' who cross into Afghanistan and return at will.

This movement is in total defiance of the US and the NATO forces and the Afghan National Army that is battling the Taliban and Al Qaeda militants, causing heavy casualties on both sides.

Khan justified the proposed action saying: "Mining (the border) is easier and can be done expeditiously while fencing, of course, requires a huge budget and time. However, the decision will be taken after we get suggestions from the armed forces.

"There is an extraordinary situation which needs extraordinary measures," he said.

Khan said Pakistan had also decided to strictly monitor Afghan refugee camps, expedite the registration and return of Afghan refugees, and relocate some camps close to the border.......... sources ==>> mwc news .

ھڪ سر جو سيد وارث اَ ٻيو وارث بھٽ جو شاھ اٿم..

Well , elementof surprise , who told you that argouns and turkhans were afghans?.. they were central asians not afghans .. you mentioned them but did not you mention madad khan pathan ..When argouns attacked punjab?..anyway.. Let me tell you joke from history
Shah waliullah ne marhatton ki zabardast success ko dekhte hui Qandhar ke ruler Ahmed shah abdali ko Dehli per hamla karne ki dawat di . Durrani ka bacha islam ke jazbe se sarshar dehli par hamla awar hua aur marhatoon ko maar bhagaya.. ab woh jab Delhi mein tha to ..kuch log (umra log) uss ke pass "aali janab aali janab karte aate aur usse Dehli par hukumat karne ki dawat dete.. aur wohi log raat ko Abdali(durrani) ke guards ko shahar mein apne baghal se khanjar nikal kar marte...Durrani ka bacha buht preshan hua iss se aur raat ke time mein Dehli se bhag nikla ..kabhi kabhi islam parasti ki ye bhi saza milti hey .. Mushraff is also from dehli but i hope he will not follow history though his promise regarding to uniform with MMA is telling soem thing else..
Coming back to topic "pak is mining and fencing 2400 km long border with afghanistan .. Well, this is our worse quality that we do not address problems in time and with right medicine .. It was also pakistan who made afghanistan like this as you called it as backward country .Pakistan is also responsible for backwardness of afghanistan also .Pakistan did not leave afgan matters to settle b/w afgans in 1989 and so on .. Now pakistan is fencing borders due to the pressure of NATO forces but they are not thinking about humanity and people .Who wants more disabled people? pakistan has to keep in mind this also .Pakistan has to show more flexibility and more co operation than taking extreme actions.. This decision is only thought of waverd mind people .those who can not think for future .When mushraff is talking about Gwader and central asian countries then why he forget this that afganistan is also in the way to Central Asia.

Old Saturday, December 30, 2006

eijaz, please pardon my poor knowledge of Southasian history...I find it funny too But the point that I wanted to convey is still valid. Afghans have been non-serious in history and their present is a consequence for what they as a nation did and what they deserve. Just suppose how many families will be saved, how many young lives would be saved, only just if the Afghani opium trade stops. What do the Afghans gain by pointing the finger of blame against Pakistanis? What was their benefit when they voted against Pakistan's entry into the UN? What are they gaining from providing Indian mischief-makers a safe haven to operate from Afghanistan and launch subversive operations against Pakistan? Afghanis are our brethren but for some unknown reason they always hated us Pakistanis, even long before British came!

Nations, just like you and me, have their fate.... they get what they deserve...
Old Sunday, December 31, 2006

i agree ..... One who killed Liaquat ali khan was also afghan and afganistan always supported pakhtoon movement and funded in pakistan . In the days of Daud afghanistan claimed areas of pakhtoons in pakistan as their part ..so as now . They are not accepting Durand line . this is psyche .. you call it as "Invaders" .. But if you execute them due to past then India has all rights according to your theory to attack pakistan and destroy us because since the ghaznavi entered in indian soil Hindus never rule india.. Muslims ruled in india for 1000 years most of them were turk slaves( aibak, al-tamash ,bulbin) and afghans and central asians . India was attacked by muslim rulers countless times . Nader shah from iran attacked india only for money and ransom . If i apply your theory of past for india then i find india as victim .Now a days in our syllabus we are reading that we got pakistan due to Hindus But hindus have also equal right to say that they got freedom from british Govt: and also muslims because muslims rule india when they were in minority and they never came in majority till last but they ruled for 1000 years.
Over all, pakistan has to play positive role in afghanistan crisis better afghanistan is in favour of pakistan . It is not only karzai who is blaming but taliban and engineer gulbadin hikmatyaar also blaming pakistan for its co-opration with america . but this si also true that this engineer sahib in 1995 was the pupil of eye for pakistan..In the days of Najeebullah and mujadadi pakistan supported them . Now in international politics situations are changing , loyalities are changing , basic manifestos are changing and also Causes of conflicts are changing and afhanistan is main battlefield for those changes so pakistan's policy for afghanistan is also changing . We have to support afghanistan and people of afghanistan not an individual like we did in past. In past our agencies placed music chair for power in afghanistan and also in pakistan in political decade of 1988-1999.

Old Sunday, December 31, 2006

I respect your knowledge eijaz, but you probably mis-understood my point. All I said is that Afghanistan is suffering because of the past behavior of this nation and such a behavior still persists. I am talking about cause and effect. Naturally, as good neighbours, Pakistan should do its best to bring peace and stability in Afghanistan and I completely agree with your point. We should not be taking "revenges" for what Afghanis did way back in history, because that would be simply stupid. Nor should any other country, like India do so...

But now the question is: How does the doctor treat the patient when the patient is not ready to take any medicine and is hell-bent on killing the doctor himself?! Pakistan has always maintained a positive attitude towards Afghani brethren, but Pakistan is far from being reciprocated...