03:11 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS

PCS / PMS Information about PCS / PMS

Old Monday, May 05, 2014

mhz99 will become famous soon enoughmhz99 will become famous soon enough

Ppsc website says services and general administration in the column of pms. What does that mean
Old Monday, May 05, 2014

Mazhar Ali Khokhar will become famous soon enough

@progressive Pakistan

On what grounds age was relaxed by court last time.
Is relaxation of age by court , possible this time too.

Last edited by Mazhar Ali Khokhar; Monday, May 05, 2014 at 11:30 PM. Reason: Wrongly quoted.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mazhar Ali Khokhar For This Useful Post:
tariqrana (Monday, May 05, 2014)
Old Tuesday, May 06, 2014

ENGINEER BILAL MINHAS is on a distinguished road
Default help needed reagarding subject selection

salam everyone

i opted maths due to my enginring background and punjabi for its high scoring trend but confuse about 3rd optional plz give me any suggestion for 3rd subject??

plz members suggest some good books for maths and punjabi?math is a good scoring subject??

any rough idea how many months are left for papers??

mashkoor is on a distinguished road

Sir, i want to know about compulsory as wwell as optional subjects in detail .
First of all,what should be optimal length of essay?because in css we usually take 30-45 minutes to brainstorm essay and make outline as well.
However, in pms, we have only two hours.
Second,from where should we prepare urdu general,general knowledge,english, and social work?as much has not been written about them in this forum.
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 56

Progressive Pakistan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mhz99 View Post
Ppsc website says services and general administration in the column of pms. What does that mean
Services and General Administration Department(S&GAD) is controlling department of PMS Officers.

Originally Posted by mazharalikhokhar View Post
@progressive Pakistan

On what grounds age was relaxed by court last time.
Is relaxation of age by court , possible this time too.
Last time the LHC invoked “ Punjab delegation of powers (Relaxation of age) rules 1961” amended under Section 23 of Punjab Civil Sevants Act 1974. The rules requires that

"Age relaxation will be extended in cases where no recruitment was made for any reason during last five years. This relaxation equivalent to the period during which no recruitment took place shall be given across the board and appear as a part of the advertisement for recruitment obviating the necessity of an individual approaching the Government authorities for relaxation"

Since no exam was held last year , so this may make a ground for the same relief as granted last time. But this is a technical legal issue and I cant give a firm opinion over this..

Originally Posted by ENGINEER BILAL MINHAS View Post
salam everyone

i opted maths due to my enginring background and punjabi for its high scoring trend but confuse about 3rd optional plz give me any suggestion for 3rd subject??

plz members suggest some good books for maths and punjabi?math is a good scoring subject??

any rough idea how many months are left for papers??

Last time geography and Public Admin have proved very good scoring subjects.However keep your apttude and interst in mind while making the final choice.

Last edited by Amna; Tuesday, May 06, 2014 at 09:58 PM. Reason: merged post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Progressive Pakistan For This Useful Post:
ENGINEER BILAL MINHAS (Wednesday, May 07, 2014), mhz99 (Tuesday, May 06, 2014)
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 56

Progressive Pakistan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mashkoor View Post
Sir, i want to know about compulsory as wwell as optional subjects in detail .
First of all,what should be optimal length of essay?because in css we usually take 30-45 minutes to brainstorm essay and make outline as well.
However, in pms, we have only two hours.
Second,from where should we prepare urdu general,general knowledge,english, and social work?as much has not been written about them in this forum.
There are six compulsory papers

1- Essay
2- English Composition
3-general Knowledge(MCQs)
4-Urdu
5-Pakistan Affairs
6-Islamyat

For optional please follow the link given below

http://ppsc.gop.pk/Downloads.aspx

Essay:

Yes one has less time in comparison to CSS but there is no requirment of minimum words.But still many candidates fail to manage the time. Even some fellows even dont read the required time and end up in leaving the essay incomplete. To counter this problem, i suggest you to repeatedly " practice" before exam. With prior practice , you can comfortably attempt the paper with in given time.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Progressive Pakistan For This Useful Post:
aneeqawaheed (Wednesday, May 07, 2014), mashkoor (Tuesday, May 06, 2014)

mashkoor is on a distinguished road

what about general knowledge paper sir ? can you please guide us. Also, is there any constraints on scope of compulsory course,i.e, i only found optional's course on ppsc website?
Old Wednesday, May 07, 2014

aneeqawaheed is on a distinguished road
Exclamation please help me regarding subject selection

I am thinking to opt following subjects for PMS...... Plz comment on it

1. Zoology
2.public administration
3.Social work

adnan727 is on a distinguished road

Best opt subjects are for PMS

Punjabi

Social work

Public ad

(Agriculture Paper B is based on Genetics thats why it is low scoring in PMS, do not opt it)

DSPs posts are not announced in PMS exam. only S&GAD br seats are announced.

PMS exam syllabus – General Knowledge

This paper is intended to test the candidate’s knowledge of current world affairs and also of broad facts of historical, political, geographical and economical importance. A section will be included to test the candidate’s knowledge and understanding of matters of everyday observation and experience in the scientific aspect significant developments in science and technology.

Gul Khan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Progressive Pakistan View Post
I have initiated this thread to share my experience of PMS Exam. You can post your queries regarding any matter related to "PMS" exam, service structure or career prospects.

PPSC has so far conducted 3 exams of PMS(Combined Competitive Exams) ,under new scheme, in year 2006,09 and 2012 respectively. In first two exams the number of candidates who successfully qualified the written part were less than the number of vacant posts.So marks in written part carried little significance, as One had to secure minimum passing marks in written and interview in order to make place in Final List.

However in last exam, held in year 2012, more than 500 candidates qualified written part against 112 posts.There was a cut-throat competition amongst the candidates as differnce of one mark only could change ' one's merit order by 10 points.

That said,for aspirants of upcoming PMS two aspects bear critical siginificance.

1- Subject Selection
2- Two Compulsory Papers :GK and English Essay

Subject selection is of critical importance. In last exam the only thing that decided the fate of written qualified candidates was the choice of subject. Some subjects remained highly scoring. Those law graduates who opted law were made to repent on their choice and same was the case in many other subjects.Last time i posted analysis in respect of scoring trends. I am posting its link that may prove useful

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/punjab-pu...-analysis.html

2- Majority of candidates who could not get through the written part flunked in the two subjects: General Knowledge and Essay. I 'll share my view on these tow subjects in next sitting. By that time you can post your quiries in this thread.Good Luck
Dear Brother AOA
Kindly guide all of us regarding the preparation of English Essay,Urdu Essay & Mass Communication subject.Kindly suggest valuable books in this regard.
Take care.
Gul Khan