Tuesday, May 14, 2024
10:29 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Tuesday, August 23, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,898 Times in 694 Posts
Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

Originally Posted by dms664 View Post
+1, I am searching the thread for books and those which I ll not find will let u know and ask u later
Another request
Sir can u please share the daily routine u followed for study? In other words please share the daily n weekly timetable of urs please
I don't have that timetable with me anymore,althoigh its saved in my diary which is stuffed somewhere in my house in Pakistan.But I shall try to help you by making a rough one.

21st to 25th December:Indo Pak history I + Current affairs

Topics to be done on 21st:
Muhammad bin Qasim,ghauri,ghaznawi
Pak India relations,Pak Iran relations,energy crisis

Topics to be done on 22nd:

Aibak,Balban,Iltutmish,Allaudin Khalji
Pak US relations,US AFPAK policy.KL bill

and so on....after finishing with these two,I would start maybe Journalism and Islamiyat from 26th onwards.I kept on revising current affairs after every 3 or 4 subjects.I read DAWN daily,and saved the cuttings of important news and articles with me.As I have said,I never made a daily timetable,that I shall study for that many hours and from this time to that,rather I settargets for myself like I have exemplified above;written targets.Note that it was probably my 2nd revision during these December days.The first time you do any subject it takes more time.After the 2nd revision my speed incrased considerably,and in the next two months before the exams,I was able to do 5 to 6 more revisions.On the average,I had revised every subject 8 times atleast.I started proper preparation in September,with a 3 week gap in between for my final university exams.As I have already mentioned somewhere in this thread previously,its not about the number of hours you put in to study;its about the study that you put into those hours.One edge I had was that Alhamdulilah my english was very good and I never had to work on it.Secondly,I was so much into a reading habit that I had read hundreds of books before even thinking of taking this exam,so that obviously helped.

Originally Posted by Jamal Malik View Post
@Hamza you've been very helpful and I appreciate your efforts, thanks a lot. I wanted to ask you whether to attempt islamiat in english or urdu? And what book would you suggest for that? Also I wanted to know your email for directly contacting you. I searched for it on your profile but couldn't get it from there. Once again, thanks a lot for your efforts.

I shall advise yoy to attempt Islamiyat in english.
I have already suggested books for that in the post where I have put light upon Islamiyat preparation.Kindly refer to that.
You should feel free to post here.I shall reply to any kind of querry that you have.In this way my answer would benefit others as well who have the same querries as you have.About my email ID,its not shared here.I shall consult the moderators and ask them if its worthwhile to share it publicly on the forum.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
dms664 (Tuesday, August 23, 2011)

maryamkhakwani is on a distinguished road
Default is it worthwhile to go to lahore?

@ hamza.
i belong to multan and have an option to go to lahore for preparation. is it worthwhile to go to lahore or staying in multan, joining any academy and doing hard work can help one win the game. plz give ur opinion

Jamal Malik is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Hamza_Salick86 View Post
About the books,there is a seprate relevant thread on this forum.Could u please consult that because me ne yahan books ka btana shuru krdia tw Modz mujhe maren geyespecially Last Island ko me naraaz nahy kar sakta
Ur subject selection should be:
Indo Pak,Sociology,Punjabi,Muslim Law and Internationl Law..don't go for journalism...
Hamza bhai why should one not go for journalism as you mentioned here?

Go for Chemitry because I know that you people in Pharm.D study hardcore chemistry..200 marks out of the way.Dont go for Islamic History.Go for Indo Pak history/geography whatever interests u more.For the other 200,opt International Law and Muslim Law/Sociology.Ramadan Mubarek to you too.

It is a good choice of optionals overall.Leave philosohy aside and go for Political Science.You have a background in it as well.

Yes it is a 'make or break' subject combination.Prepare well.
I cant tell surely about the review of syllabus.But as far as I think,the course hasn't been reviewed for a decade.No need to worry about this.

I know it is a difficult task to prepare for CSS with 2 daughters and all the domestic compulsions a married woman is under.But believe me,its not impossible.You can do it.Just give it ur all.The members and moderators here are always present t help you sis.You can ask for all the help you want.May Allah help you in making ur mark.Best of luck.Just give it ur all.
Hamza bhai why shouldn't one opt for islamic history and culture??

Last edited by Umer; Wednesday, August 24, 2011 at 01:30 AM. Reason: Chain posts

basitpasha is on a distinguished road
Default Question for Hamza_Salick86

Hamza_Salick86 , Bro you said before that you started css preparation when u were doing your bachelors. iam also a bachelors student , doing it privately. Please tell me what did you first start to learn ? i mean what Subject of css you started to learn when u were doing bachelors ?

want to start the same as you did.

waiting for your reply anxiously
Old Wednesday, August 24, 2011

israrahmed is on a distinguished road

most probably perhapzz u got lucky:pyar u must have added some pretty strong arguments in ur essay..something which must hve struck the examiner right in his heart..dats wt I can think off..
Hamza sb

i appreciated ur valuable guidance.
Old Wednesday, August 24, 2011

farhan1111 is on a distinguished road

Salam Hamza bhai, My query is about notes. In ur one of post u have mentioned that for journalism u had had the privilege of consulting good notes.. From where u got that notes? And why it is difficult to have updated CA notes of DR Wazir khan(KIPS)?
Old Thursday, August 25, 2011

asia bibi is on a distinguished road

Current Affairs:
Ok comrades..u need to keep one thing in ur mind while attempting this paper..its very name!!’Current’ affairs..this means that u shud emphasize on the current n future developments,information and analysis of a problem/situation/topic presented 2 u in the exam..no doubt Ull have to give a lil background n history of the topic,but the emphasis n space shud be given to current developments n future trends n predictions..I must admit it is one of thje trickiest papers in CSS..U can b ezily caught out!
How to prepare:
Ofcourse DAWN is the bible of current affairs..make it a habit to read it daily..atleast u shd read the 1st page,opinion pages n the international news page daily..wid the economic review on Tuesdays..the examiner loves dawn..sumtimez he gives questions strait off dawn..I remember in 2007 or 06 there was an essay in the paper named ‘end of cheap oil’..a column by the same name had appeared in dawn a few mnths back!!
Make a scrapbook of sorts..Ill tell u wat I did..I had a big register..in that I wrote down the title names of important current affairs topics,n left a space of 4,5,6 pages between each topic..whenever I came across a column,editorial or feature,even a news story on sum particular topic,I read it,highlited it,cut it n pasted it in that register under its appropriate title heading..benefit:whenever I revised,I cud go thru the developments n evolution of that problem in the last few months..it really helped me a lot..Do one more thing..any points u find in c.a books,write them down in this register..then make a structure of ur anwer on the register..i.e if a question cmz regarding dis topic.how shall I structure my answer in the paper..wt headingz n points shall I use..just like u make an essay outline!got dat??
There are no proper books for current affairs..but I will advise u to read ‘Current affairs journal’ by imtiaz shahid..it gts published every 2 months..most of thje articles in it r worth reading..wat dis buk does is dat it gets articles n essays frm around the world n collects them in one place..makin it convenient fr u..plus u can also refer to ‘current affairs digest’ by safdar mehmood..also if u can,get updated C.A notes of Dr Shahid Wazr Khan from KIPS..they are excellent,but vry hard to get!!
Try watchin DAWN news English channel..its gud..geo,ary,express etc r crap..

@redmax..Ill be posting a ruff outline for a sample question in a lil tym as u askd for..
@competitive..we ll tawk abt essay tommorow..alryt?we l disucc every subject dnt u wry sis..
Thank u very much for your useful tip ,it really works a lot ,please help me making notes ,should i make detail notes or just bullet points are enough? I am studying at KIPs Karachi and i got notes from there but my some says don’t rely only other notes make your own, m confuse now
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 25Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason:

Hamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to allHamza Salick is a name known to all

Originally Posted by maryamkhakwani View Post
@ hamza.
i belong to multan and have an option to go to lahore for preparation. is it worthwhile to go to lahore or staying in multan, joining any academy and doing hard work can help one win the game. plz give ur opinion
Yes,you should go to Lahore if you think you can manage to give time to your studies there.But you should stay at your home for the last 3 months before the exam,and do delf-study.

Originally Posted by Jamal Malik View Post
Hamza bhai why should one not go for journalism as you mentioned here?

Because Journalism has scored pathetically low in CE-2010.Normally,a scoring trend continues for 3 years,so it is better to stay away from Journalism.Saying that,if you work hard,you still can score decent marks in this subject.So for those of you who have already prepared journalism,I shall say-----Go ahead with it
Hamza bhai why shouldn't one opt for islamic history and culture??
See the DMC's of candidates with Islamic History and Culture in 2010..It was a complete and utter disaster,infact the lowest scoring of all subjects.Hardly anyone would have scored 100 or plus in it.And I reckon(I might be wrong) that this trend is going to persist for 2,3 years yet.Agr koi mediocre sa scoring history subject hi rkhna hey,tw Indo Pak rkh lo,uss k or bht faidey hey.

Originally Posted by basitpasha View Post
Hamza_Salick86 , Bro you said before that you started css preparation when u were doing your bachelors. iam also a bachelors student , doing it privately. Please tell me what did you first start to learn ? i mean what Subject of css you started to learn when u were doing bachelors ?

want to start the same as you did.

waiting for your reply anxiously
All of them I have mentioned above somewhere that I read alot,so that worked in my favour MashAllah.Agar ap mjhse poochain gey k me dedicatedly CSS k liye kitna arsa parha hun,tw I shall say 5 months.Agar poocho gey k reality me kub se tyari kr rha hun,tw indeliberately tw me 14,15 sal se tyari kr rha hun
Its better if you start with Current Affairs,Pakistan Affairs and English.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hamza Salick For This Useful Post:
basitpasha (Friday, August 26, 2011)

Originally Posted by israrahmed View Post
Hamza sb

i appreciated ur valuable guidance.
Thanx

Originally Posted by farhan1111 View Post
Salam Hamza bhai, My query is about notes. In ur one of post u have mentioned that for journalism u had had the privilege of consulting good notes.. From where u got that notes? And why it is difficult to have updated CA notes of DR Wazir khan(KIPS)?
I got them from one of my mentors.Its difficult to have Dr Shahid Wazir's notes because they aren't available in printed form.He used to teach us on powerpoint,and we tool lecture notes from there.You have to be a KIPS student for that,or you must know a KIPS student who can furnish them for you.

Originally Posted by asia bibi View Post
Thank u very much for your useful tip ,it really works a lot ,please help me making notes ,should i make detail notes or just bullet points are enough? I am studying at KIPs Karachi and i got notes from there but my some says don’t rely only other notes make your own, m confuse now
Its not a rule that you cannot rely on others' notes.Sometimes they can be better than the ones you would make.I shall advise you to mix your own notes with the other notes that you have got.Make them in bullet points.I have written how to go about them in previous posts somehwere.And yes,the KIPS notes are not very good or comprehensive.If you have them only,try making you own short notes as well.

nustian is on a distinguished road

@zubair.....please go through the previous posts by hamza in this thread.....you will find answers to most of your questions....