03:35 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Thursday, September 20, 2012

Thanked 1,265 Times in 674 Posts
VetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to all

AOA. First of all congratulation on your success and best wishes for the upcoming CTP. I have been reading your valuable posts/suggestions regularly. Though i haven't posted any comment/post in this thread so far, but i used to read the posts of this thread on regular basis and some of the posts had really helped me a lot especially regarding preparation of Islamic history/journalism. You are doing very commendable job and i think its the reason of your success (your humble and kind nature).
I am a veterinary doctor, serving in Pak Army as civilian Vet Officer and appeared in CSS-2012 but that was not my best effort. As a result after the exam, i started preparation for next year exam(css-2013).My optionals are Islamic History, Journalism, Sociology,Public ad and Pashto(my mother tongue).Kindly comment on my optionals and suggest a single book which cover the whole course of Islamiat (compulsory) and Islamiat can be attempted both in urdu and english, whats your view?which one is best english or Urdu?
Thanx for reading such a lengthy post.
Old Friday, September 21, 2012

Farhad Ahsan is on a distinguished road
Default @mano g

i have done metric in science , f,sc in pre engineering and then electronics engineering recently and now studying for CE of CSS. my optional subjects are Psychology, Sociology, Forestry, and the last of 200 marks i am having lot of trouble to opt. please guide me the best option. as i have less time already. email is written on my id

Last edited by Arain007; Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 10:58 AM. Reason: Caps

Default @ mano g

i need to know about the best books of psychology ?forestry? and sociology?

Last edited by Arain007; Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 10:59 AM. Reason: avoid using extra question marks

miss leo is on a distinguished road

thanks mano g
well I have gone through the syllabus of Geography. Although it is a bit technical but i can handle it..
please suggest any good book of geography.

Old Saturday, September 22, 2012

zahir 1987 is on a distinguished road
Default At Mano G

Respected Mano G

I went through some previous posts at this forum related to the UN program of youth induction. I found your posts there as well. Since young induction is conducted every year as per UN policy, Could you please guide me about this exam. Did you also appeared in those exams? And what kind of preparation is needed for that exam. Looking forward for the guidance.

Muhammad Zahir Hussain
Old Sunday, September 23, 2012

Amreen is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks!!!

Hey Mano G!

I am new here. I Found your post very informative therefore thought to join.
Mano G, There are two months left in my B.Sc II examination after that I will get freedom of studies for one year. In 2014 my university classes will be started. To avoid this freedom and boredom I thought to prepare my self for CSS exam. I will not give CSS exam in this year but after my masters.

I will do M.A in English OR Islamiyat in sha ALLAH. So, I am thinking to improve my English (by learning many words and making myself able to write on any kind of essay/topic). Someone told me that vocabulary is very necessary. One should know at least 10,000 English words. Therefore, I will be going to focus on it. Could you please tell me further steps to improve my english? At the same time I am going to keep my interest in Islamiyat too because perhaps I will chose this subject for masters.

In optional subjects I want to chose English Literature, Islamic History and Culture and Political Science. Are these subjects okay or should I chose some other subjects. What will be easy for me to gain good result? Thanks!

farhanmuhammad90 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mano g View Post
Your combination is perfect,geography is a bit technical so you can also go for US History+International relations, but US History remained low scoring last year so if you have gone through the syllabus of geography and you are comfortable then you must go for it.
Which academy you joined and which is best academy in Islamabad

headache is on a distinguished road

Mano sister your experience will definately help us..thanks for sharing ...as u have passed the exam so you are now our special and valued guide...plz do not leave the forum

Last edited by Arain007; Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 10:59 AM. Reason: Caps
Old Monday, September 24, 2012

Default @mano g

is arabic good option to replace islamic history and culture ????
Old Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Saddam Bhatti View Post
Assalam-o-alaikum to all the dear fellows and respected CSP'S!
Mano g,I wanna need your worthy suggestions regarding the subject selection,being a masters of commerce(M.com) I wanna opt the following subjects
Accounting and auditing
Islamic history and culture
Punjabi
Mercantile law
Kindly,you are required to share your views about these.Thanks in anticipation.

As far as IHC and Punjabi are concerned, they are advisable to opt but I have no idea about technical subjects like Accounting and mercantile law so I can’t comment on these, but I can only say that as you have related background so they will be fine for you hopefully.

Originally Posted by VetDoctor View Post
AOA. First of all congratulation on your success and best wishes for the upcoming CTP. I have been reading your valuable posts/suggestions regularly. Though i haven't posted any comment/post in this thread so far, but i used to read the posts of this thread on regular basis and some of the posts had really helped me a lot especially regarding preparation of Islamic history/journalism. You are doing very commendable job and i think its the reason of your success (your humble and kind nature).
I am a veterinary doctor, serving in Pak Army as civilian Vet Officer and appeared in CSS-2012 but that was not my best effort. As a result after the exam, i started preparation for next year exam(css-2013).My optionals are Islamic History, Journalism, Sociology,Public ad and Pashto(my mother tongue).Kindly comment on my optionals and suggest a single book which cover the whole course of Islamiat (compulsory) and Islamiat can be attempted both in urdu and english, whats your view?which one is best english or Urdu?
Thanx for reading such a lengthy post.
Thank you very much for appreciation. Your optionals are fine, and I would suggest to keep the same optionals as were in 2012 attempt as familiar subject is always easier to prepare again(until and unless they are low-scoring or any other genuine reason), For Islamiyat I personally never consulted any book, but Professor Khurshid’s book Islami Nazriye-e-hayat is the best one, the topics are mentioned in the syllabus and follow past papers as well and make your own notes for Islamiyat consulting various sources, it will be the best mode of preparation, find out related verses and hadiths, compile them and make point-form notes. Islamiyat can be opted be opted both in English as well as urdu, better to opt in the medium in which you can better express your knowledge. Best of luck!

Originally Posted by Farhad Ahsan View Post
i have done metric in science , f,sc in pre engineering and then electronics engineering recently and now studying for CE of CSS... my optional subjects are PSYCHOLOGY, SOCIOLOGY, FORESTRY, and the last of 200 marks i am having lot of trouble to opt ... please guide me the best option ... as i have less time already.. email is written on my id

You can opt any history subject except Indo-Pak history or geography, better to opt one subject of 200 marks as time is less and one subject of 200 marks is manageable, instead of 2 subjects.

i need to know about the best books of psychology ???forestry??? and sociology????
Forestry was not my subject so don’t know about the books, for psychology Shehar Bano’s books and Feldsman book are the good ones, For sociology, Hameed taga’s, J.J Baloch’s and Horton n Hunt’s books are fine.

Originally Posted by miss leo View Post
thanks mano g
well I have gone through the syllabus of Geography. Although it is a bit technical but i can handle it..
please suggest any good book of geography.

Dear geography was also not my subject so no idea about the book.

Originally Posted by zahir 1987 View Post
Respected Mano G

I went through some previous posts at this forum related to the UN program of youth induction. I found your posts there as well. Since young induction is conducted every year as per UN policy, Could you please guide me about this exam. Did you also appeared in those exams? And what kind of preparation is needed for that exam. Looking forward for the guidance.

Muhammad Zahir Hussain
UN YPP exam is conducted every year in a few countries across the world, but in 2011 and 2012 this opportunity has been given to Pakistan, last year no candidate from Pakistan got selected, I also appeared last year in public information category, you can have all the details from un global job portal i.e inspira.un.org this exam will be conducted this year as well, sample papers are given there, so you can take guidance from them.

Originally Posted by Amreen View Post
Hey Mano G!

I am new here. I Found your post very informative therefore thought to join.
Mano G, There are two months left in my B.Sc II examination after that I will get freedom of studies for one year. In 2014 my university classes will be started. To avoid this freedom and boredom I thought to prepare my self for CSS exam. I will not give CSS exam in this year but after my masters.

I will do M.A in English OR Islamiyat in sha ALLAH. So, I am thinking to improve my English (by learning many words and making myself able to write on any kind of essay/topic). Someone told me that vocabulary is very necessary. One should know at least 10,000 English words. Therefore, I will be going to focus on it. Could you please tell me further steps to improve my english? At the same time I am going to keep my interest in Islamiyat too because perhaps I will chose this subject for masters.

In optional subjects I want to chose English Literature, Islamic History and Culture and Political Science. Are these subjects okay or should I chose some other subjects. What will be easy for me to gain good result? Thanks!
@ giving attempt after completing masters….. wise decision, M.A English is better, complicated vocabulary is not the key to pass essay paper, so focus on overall English improvement instead of focusing on vocabulary alone, For those tips please go through initial 3-4 pages of this thread, I have mentioned the tips in detail…..read Islamic books, translation of Quran…listen lectures of Islamic scholars for help in Islamiyat. There is a lot of time for you to opt optionals so for the time being focus on writing and speaking skills, read newspapers daily, and don’t opt English literature at all, and specifically when you are saying that you are interested in MA Islamiyat not in MA English……

Originally Posted by farhanmuhammad90 View Post
Which academy you joined and which is best academy in Islamabad
I joined NOVA css academy in Islamabad.

Originally Posted by headache View Post
MANO SISTER your experience will definately help us..thanks for sharing ...as u have passed the exam so you are now our special and valued guide...plz do not leave the forum
I am not leaving the forum at all and will always try to be consistent in responding to queries.

is arabic good option to replace islamic history and culture ????
Both subjects are fine, although Arabic is a new language but manageable and scoring trend is also satisfactory.
Amreen (Wednesday, October 03, 2012), Farhad Ahsan (Wednesday, October 03, 2012), Saddam Bhatti (Thursday, September 27, 2012), VetDoctor (Friday, October 05, 2012)