03:31 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Friday, August 31, 2012

Diya Maham is on a distinguished road

Mano g

I want to appear in css 2013. Css forum is only guidance for me and I am hopeful you will guide me. I am studying communication portion of Journalism nowadays and facing problems in understanding the questions of past year papers.

In 2010 Journalism paper question about communication was

Mass communication is considered important in modern age. Discuss the concept and process of communication.

What should be the sequence of answer:
Concept of communication
Process of communication
Mass communication
Importance of mass communication in modern age

Or

Mass communication
Concept of communication
Process of communication

In 2009

Discuss the concept and barriers of communications. Are these barriers also existing in this modern information age? (2009)

First part of the question is understandable but I am confused in the second part. If I say yes, these barriers also exist nowadays then should I answer with proofs and examples. Culture Barrier still exists, should it be answered with some examples of current scenario.

In 2007

What are the essentials of effective communication? Support your answer with arguments?

Yaha pr arguments se kya matlab he. Ks tara se arguments dye jaye.

In 2000

“Communication is a process, a series of action, always in motion and directed towards a particular goal.” Elaborate.

How can we elaborate this question.

Thanks in advance.
Old Friday, August 31, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Zaheer Qadri View Post
Salam/ Mano g..

Can you plz tell me which books you referred for Islamic History & culture,Psychology & Sociology..?

Thanks in advance.
Please see the initial posts of this thread, I have mentioned books for every subject!

Originally Posted by Diya Maham View Post
Mano g

I want to appear in css 2013. Css forum is only guidance for me and I am hopeful you will guide me. I am studying communication portion of Journalism nowadays and facing problems in understanding the questions of past year papers.

In 2010 Journalism paper question about communication was

Mass communication is considered important in modern age. Discuss the concept and process of communication

What should be the sequence of answer:
Concept of communication
Process of communication
Mass communication

Or

Mass communication
Concept of communication
Process of communication

In 2009

Discuss the concept and barriers of communications. Are these barriers also existing in this modern information age? (2009)

First part of the question is understandable but I am confused in the second part. If I say yes, these barriers also exist nowadays then should I answer with proofs and examples. Culture Barrier still exists, should it be answered with some examples of current scenario.

In 2007

What are the essentials of effective communication? Support your answer with arguments?

Yaha pr arguments se kya matlab he. Ks tara se arguments dye jaye.

In 2000

“Communication is a process, a series of action, always in motion and directed towards a particular goal.” Elaborate.

How can we elaborate this question.

Thanks in advance.
Mass communication is considered important in modern age. Discuss the concept and process of communication.

Following should be the sequence,

What is communication? (Only mention definition)
Mass communication (One of the type of communication)
Importance of communication (General-in personal and professional life)
Importance of communication in the modern age (emphasis is on modern age so exclusively focus on the aspects of modern age and relate accordingly here)
The above mentioned points should be discussed briefly, now come to the concept of communication and then explain the process in detail…….You have to follow the sequence of question, so better not to ignore the first statement.

Yes, you have to say that although this is the age of information technology, but still psychological barriers exist……although world has become a global village but both technological and cultural barriers exist….then explain it with examples and arguments….

Arguments aese diye jaen ge k effective communication k liye jo elements required hain, wo include krne se communication kese effective hoti ha aur agar won a hon to kis trha communication ineffective hoti ha……it means you not only have to explain in detail the essentials of effective communication but also prove their importance with the help of convincing arguments!

In this question, the requirement is to explain the concept and process of communication in detail, but while doing so, mention that it is a process in which different actions are being taken with the involvement of different factors, and it is always goal oriented…referring to target audience and purpose of communication!

Last edited by mano g; Friday, August 31, 2012 at 04:32 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mano g For This Useful Post:
Diya Maham (Friday, August 31, 2012), Intifada (Wednesday, May 29, 2013), student (Saturday, September 15, 2012)
Old Sunday, September 09, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

The method of attempting all the papers is the same, with the exception of few points, for islamiyat, try to be more vigilant as we have to attempt 5 questions in 2.5 hours, instead of four....so be quick, make outlines first and always make outline with the same sequence followed in the question asked, try to remain to the point here as you will have the total of 15 marks per question, include quotes, hadis and quranic verses as much as you remember exactly, because it is better to write none, rather than writing or interpreting them in a wrong way, the nature of question should be carefully assessed and then start attempting. More verses are neeeded in the questions like beliefs, pillars of islam etc and a few will work for the questions in which current scenario is involved.......

Your second method of outline is better, intro, body, conclusion should be mentioned no need of details in the outline, in the body, explain the topic in detail but no need of mentioning ''main body'' in the outline!
student (Saturday, September 15, 2012)
Optimist

Zaheer Qadri will become famous soon enough

Salam Sister G.

I aspire to appear in CE-2014. i want group of my choice.. i wanna ask you what can make difference in papers like we say one needs to be exceptional in writing answers in CSS exm so i have more than enough time to get prepared plz tell me what i should do most in terms of study? and Dear I want to do Islamiat complusory in english medium plz recommend me book/books for that.

Salam Sister G.

I aspire to appear in CE-2014. i want group of my choice.. i wanna ask you what can make difference in papers like we say one needs to be exceptional in writing answers in CSS exm so i have more than enough time to get prepared plz tell me what i should do most in terms of study? and Dear I want to do Islamiat complusory in english medium plz recommend me book/books for that.
For making a difference in paper, you must have analytical skills, sharp common sense, evaluating the need of a particular question, because most of the time, many people having exceptional knowledge but they are unable to bring it effectively on the paper, so your paper should be impressive, quality should be your focus, because about 10,000 candidates will give the answer of the same question but the examiner should find something extraordinary in your paper. Make outline, write short but grammatically correct and comprehensive sentence, yes, in written, purely your written skills are checked so practice writing more and more, it will improve it many folds......for Islamiyat in English Professor Khurshid's book ''Islami Nazriye-e-Hayat'' is available in translated form.
Zaheer Qadri (Sunday, September 09, 2012)
Optimist

Zaheer Qadri will become famous soon enough

Oceans of thanks indeed for your guidance.
Dear respected.

One more question plz i have same optional subjects as yours.
for psychology. with which book to start ie shahr bano's or roger fieldman.?
for EDS which one is best kashmiris book or encyclopedic of eds by Dr.Rab nawaz?

isha saeed has a spectacular aura aboutisha saeed has a spectacular aura about
Smile Salam,

Asalam o alaikum behna,
congratulation for your extraordinary success.
may LORD bless you.
want to appear in css in 2014 insh ALLAH.
i have selected subjects for css which are,
psychology,
islamic history,
punjabi and journalism.
but i am not good in islamic history.
it is marks scoring subject thats why i want to choose kindy suggest me best books for these subjects and also say somthing regading islamic history.
and if u dont mind plz give me your email ID sothat i can communicate via mail.
stay happy.

Originally Posted by isha saeed View Post
Asalam o alaikum behna,
congratulation for your extraordinary success.
may LORD bless you.
want to appear in css in 2014 insh ALLAH.
i have selected subjects for css which are,
psychology,
islamic history,
punjabi and journalism.
but i am not good in islamic history.
it is marks scoring subject thats why i want to choose kindy suggest me best books for these subjects and also say somthing regading islamic history.
and if u dont mind plz give me your email ID sothat i can communicate via mail.
stay happy.
Walaekum Assalam! Dear mention your email Id in your profile, I will contact you.

Waqas77 is on a distinguished road
Default Dear Mano g sir

Dear respected.

for EDS which one is best kashmiris book or encyclopedic of eds by Dr.Rab nawaz?
sir please respond to this question also as im also having psychology and dont know which book to start?
coz i read two chapters in Mortan & king's book, its too detailed and too time consuming sir.
so please feed us back.
Old Monday, September 10, 2012

Dear respected.

One more question plz i have same optional subjects as yours.
Originally Posted by Waqas77 View Post
sir please respond to this question also as im also having psychology and dont know which book to start?
coz i read two chapters in Mortan & king's book, its too detailed and too time consuming sir.
so please feed us back.
For initial understanding of psychology, Shehar Bano's book is good one but for making a difference, Feldman's book must be consulted and now as the time is short, better to utilize the easiest source. Kashmiri's book is better for EDS.