01:37 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Foreign Service of Pakistan

Old Saturday, May 15, 2010
35th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Income Tax Group in CSS 2006. Marit No 102. Roll No. 5324

Zain.ul.Abidin will become famous soon enough
Smile @Capt: Omar (Scorps Shadow)

Omar Brother....You know it is only the Foreign Service of Pakistan who have 1...Two Hostels (Furnished).
2....One Five Storey Hostel Under construction
3...Foreign Service Lodges and
4...Almost half of F-6 Sector
for Officer's Accommodations on Constitutional Avenue....Where as Grade-22 officers are seen to be fighting over a single room in Federal Lodges.....
36th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2007

scorpsshadow is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by css2011 View Post
true,that's the main reason why girls don't want to come in this field.There are some social restriction which we have to face....and Husbands don't easily agree to live with their wives on her terms but other way around....

i have a question

Are you allowed to take your family with you on different trips?
if yes
then can parents and siblings of an officer go with her/him?
who pay their expanses?
You are allowed to take your family with you on all postings abroad ( family includes wife and kids only) ... As far as initial language course is concerned you can take your family only on that languages which are more than one year likeses chinese, russian... On other small trips and courses you cannot take your family along, i mean you always can by taking permission from ministry and seeing if accomodation is avaiable plus you have to pay for their tickets, medical etc which simply becomes unbearable...

Parents are not included in the family and you can take them on your own expenses which as i said before becomes almost unbearable....

Originally Posted by Zain.ul.Abidin View Post
Omar Brother....You know it is only the Foreign Service of Pakistan who have 1...Two Hostels (Furnished).
2....One Five Storey Hostel Under construction
3...Foreign Service Lodges and
4...Almost half of F-6 Sector
for Officer's Accommodations on Constitutional Avenue....Where as Grade-22 officers are seen to be fighting over a single room in Federal Lodges.....
Sir ji thats true but on ground kya halat hain yae bhe aap nae dekh he lye hain , even senior officers are living in hostels...the foreign service lodges i suppose are same i.e. the other hostel... and new one pata nai uss ka kya banta hai...problem is the number of officers as compared to housing. i mean like 300 work here and accomodation is too less with regard to that ,specially young officer till 19-20 grade can forget about getting a home in f-6 area... but nevertheless this is what it is, we know it and we came in it for the service. What all comes ahead has to be faced and tackled... I love foreign service of Pakistan to the core of my heart and will keep doing so

Last edited by Princess Royal; Saturday, May 15, 2010 at 05:16 PM. Reason: posts merged
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to scorpsshadow For This Useful Post:
hassanshariq (Saturday, January 21, 2012), Saad Khan (Tuesday, May 18, 2010), Shooting Star (Sunday, May 16, 2010)
38th CTP (MLCG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 486

dr.ali.zaidi will become famous soon enough
Lightbulb

Salamunalaikum everyone. I have few questions as well:

Q1. I have heard that new officers dont go on language courses anymore. Is it true? If it is then please tell me who gets to go where and how?

Q2. What is the rule about serving in country and going abroad? I mean how many years of living in Pakistan and how many abroad? Do you guys feel the same difficulties in getting assignments and posting abroad (I m talking about political influence etc. )

Q3. What is your starting salary and how much do u get abroad?

Q4. Plus is there any rule that if u have done your language course in some African language then you would never be posted in Europe?

Q5. What facilities do u get abroad and back at home?

Dr. S.M.Ali
The Following User Says Thank You to dr.ali.zaidi For This Useful Post:
Shooting Star (Sunday, May 16, 2010)
Old Sunday, May 16, 2010
36th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2007

Q1. I have heard that new officers dont go on language courses anymore. Is it true? If it is then please tell me who gets to go where and how?
New officers do go on foreign language course, rather its sort of compulsory now..yes but new rule is that u can only go after passing your final passing out exam....but that also u do tend to pass , after u do it takes almost 10-12 months then to go to language course

Q2. What is the rule about serving in country and going abroad? I mean how many years of living in Pakistan and how many abroad? Do you guys feel the same difficulties in getting assignments and posting abroad (I m talking about political influence etc. )
....No specific rule, depends on the posts available and availability of officers, normally 3 years out and then same in pakistan or it can be 6 years out and 3 here .. as i said no specific period or rule....

Q3. What is your starting salary and how much do u get abroad?
Starting salary is same as of other officers of grade 17 like something basic about 9000+ .. and abroad i am not quite sure but its almost 1200 dollars for 3rd secretary

Q4. Plus is there any rule that if u have done your language course in some African language then you would never be posted in Europe?
...nothing like that....normally u get posted all over world but u can expect more postings in those regions where that language is spoken

Q5. What facilities do u get abroad and back at home?
already mentioned....same as grade 17..... medical and house rent etc... abroad u do tend to get house, medical facilities, free education fr 2 children upto 18 years etc
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to scorpsshadow For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Saturday, November 10, 2012), DR ZHIVAGO (Sunday, October 30, 2011), dr.ali.zaidi (Monday, May 17, 2010), jadoon khan (Sunday, May 16, 2010), Mz89 (Wednesday, December 14, 2011), Saad Khan (Tuesday, May 18, 2010), Saleha Jamil (Saturday, August 30, 2014), Shooting Star (Sunday, May 16, 2010), Stunner (Friday, August 13, 2010)
Old Monday, May 17, 2010

pakipower111 is on a distinguished road
Default about family...

Hello sir,
As you have mentioned that family includes wife and kids (no parents)... so, what if a person is bachelor and has only a single parent alive. Can there be some exceptions made for him?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pakipower111 For This Useful Post:
azmatullah (Monday, May 02, 2011), Shooting Star (Monday, May 17, 2010)
Old Friday, May 21, 2010
36th Common

Originally Posted by pakipower111 View Post
Hello sir,
As you have mentioned that family includes wife and kids (no parents)... so, what if a person is bachelor and has only a single parent alive. Can there be some exceptions made for him?
No my dear unfortunately "NO"... if u are not married , it simply means you are single you can't take ur father or mother as ur family abroad...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scorpsshadow For This Useful Post:
Mz89 (Wednesday, December 14, 2011), Shooting Star (Saturday, May 22, 2010)
Old Thursday, June 03, 2010
39th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 124

ayezzaS is on a distinguished road

@SCORPSSHADOW...bro,a question keeps on haunting me:ain't it correct to say that despite being a group which calls for a tough heart)(as one has to live alone)FSP is more woman-friendly as the public dealing is relatively minimum...?as compared to DMG which demands a dead-strong gal it is a sophisticated and better paying job?i believe that the harasment ov women ought to be non-existent here as the beings concerned are well-bred?what is thine opinion...please do comment!and secondly,are the diplomats given a choice to mention which mission they wish to join after FPOE?and how about mediha mohyuddin?has she left the service or is still shining smewhere as a bright star?and lastly,what is meant by catgory A -B and C ov our missions abroad???
please do ans soon!
thanks in advance.....
Old Friday, June 04, 2010
36th Common

Originally Posted by ayezzaS View Post
@SCORPSSHADOW...bro,a question keeps on haunting me:ain't it correct to say that despite being a group which calls for a tough heart)(as one has to live alone)FSP is more woman-friendly as the public dealing is relatively minimum...?as compared to DMG which demands a dead-strong gal it is a sophisticated and better paying job?i believe that the harasment ov women ought to be non-existent here as the beings concerned are well-bred?what is thine opinion...please do comment!and secondly,are the diplomats given a choice to mention which mission they wish to join after FPOE?and how about mediha mohyuddin?has she left the service or is still shining smewhere as a bright star?and lastly,what is meant by catgory A -B and C ov our missions abroad???
please do ans soon!
thanks in advance.....
well ayezzas there are different aspects to every service in the government sector. I mean i agree that DMG requires a strong gal but how can you say that FSP doesn't require a strong gal either...Well telling you honestly it is not at all that being an officer in MOFA your dealing with public is less. Yes there is a difference. In DMG you meet common people with their problems. Here also you also meet common people with their problems but on a less extend. Mainly you meet with diplomats of other countries, foreign delegations, your ex Pakistani community abroad and that is where your role gets even tougher. Each and every word spoken from your mouth will count as the words of Pakistan and printed in media as such. Consider such a scenario where you have to deal media and so many people asking you confusing questions regarding policies of your country. And when u are posted abroad , i need not to say how important you role becomes. You are the Pakistan outside Pakistan for the people of that country and every time you have to deal with a lot of people. All the entertainment allowance given to you there is for the same reason.. so this is as far as you consider that you don't have public dealings...
Normally task of postings and language are dealt with a seprate department and they consider merit mostly other then your own preferences. yes for language they do ask the probationery officers but u can see all will adopt for french or spanish so mostly its merit. Same holds good for posting, they post you according to your merit and rotations in world. Yes to some extend your own will can also matter since its not a large service and compromise can be reach but it depends on the situtation and vacancies.
Thirdly, honestly i don't really know the A, B , C and X,Y,Z missions. but i have heard it is with respect to importance of a country with regard to Pakistan. for e.g USA will be a category A country for Pakistan, Saudi Arabia may be B, and Zimbabwe as C. Depends. Also X, Y ,Z catergories are as per the facilities available in that country, like USA will be category A and zimbabwe as Z...
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to scorpsshadow For This Useful Post:
Aamish Bhatti (Saturday, November 10, 2012), Almaas Ruby (Friday, June 04, 2010), ayezzaS (Friday, June 04, 2010), faizan dgkhan (Tuesday, October 28, 2014), Intifada (Tuesday, January 15, 2013), Saleha Jamil (Saturday, August 30, 2014), wasfagillani (Tuesday, June 08, 2010)
Old Friday, June 11, 2010

Annora is on a distinguished road

salam ppl
after readig many posts on FSP, i realized that i am getting more and more interested in fsp
but a simple asnwer to a question will let me go more futher

it takes approximately how much time to get postted on international mission
is it standerdrized or depends upon luck or parchee
and do every officer get posted on international mission?
Old Sunday, June 13, 2010
36th Common

Originally Posted by Annora View Post
salam ppl
after readig many posts on FSP, i realized that i am getting more and more interested in fsp
but a simple asnwer to a question will let me go more futher

it takes approximately how much time to get postted on international mission
is it standerdrized or depends upon luck or parchee
and do every officer get posted on international mission?
Normally it takes 2-3 initial years to get posted abroad provided u clear ur fpoe exams in first attempt....

it is neither standardized nor parchee , yes to some extend on luck and availability of posts abroad...

yes almost every officer has to serve abroad as well as in home both
The Following User Says Thank You to scorpsshadow For This Useful Post:
Jetpack2 (Monday, August 29, 2011)