10:39 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Precis

Old Sunday, January 31, 2010
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

Originally Posted by newstudent View Post
Your precis:

"It is a matter of vital importance that modern sciences have not realized any significance of culture despite huge developments in science. The psychologist have ignored the potential of man and developed a materialistic world where emotionless deliberation has transformed man into an monetary instrument. The systems of communism and capitalism were also the yields of the same think-tank that it discouraged the growth of cultural, social and emotional feelings. successive wars and insensitive technology have threatened the objective of life in this planet. The adverse environment, full of terror, has made the role of scientist controversial subject to predictable dangerous life, in the light of destructive inventions. How the life emerged? The question needs amplification due to indistinct contribution of scientists, politicians and religion. Its erroneous to say man a ‘specie’."

Some Suggestions (May sound harsh but I am writing it in good faith so be patient) :

1. You say "It is a matter of vital importance ....". You are making it matter of vital importance passage doesnt say that. So stick to what is said in precis.
2. You say "The psychologist have ignored the potential of man and developed a materialistic world where emotionless deliberation has transformed man into an monetary instrument." Psychologist focused on psyche and ignored the physical aspect, they didnt made man into a monetary instrument. Try to understand what passage says. Passage means that due to non synthesis of Darwin's theory and psychologist thinking the result is emergence of man as an economic being.
3. You say "The systems of communism and capitalism were also the yields of the same think-tank.....". Which think-tank you are referring to. You didnt describe it earlier.
4. You say "Its erroneous to say man a ‘specie’." Well this is not mentioned in original passage.

Again I am saying that I am giving my honest opinion, if you find it not useful then ignore it.

Well writer said that feelings and nature is not considered that's y i made this sentence that of emotionless materialistic .....

This state of his servility makes the functions of the scientist appear merely to push humanity to a state of perpetual fear, and lead man to the inevitable destruction as a species with his own inventions and achievements
may be i took the meaning of sentence wrong

Well think-tank im reffering to is of psychologists and scientist but ur right i shud have mentioned it, i took examiner my best friend here,lolzz

THANX again ur points were upto the mark. i wll work over it...Regards
Sarah shah (Monday, February 01, 2010)

Sabah Hunzai is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by rishzzz View Post
Describing

It is easy to find out mistakes while v read and difficult to catch them while v r writing, so dont mind....
dear there is always room for improvement, I didn't claim for perfection.
the errors you identified in my precis are well taken by me. I think we can keep commenting on each effort to make the learning reciprocal process.

yes, you are right am not giving proper time to precise practice due to obsession with official duties. I hope things will improve gradually.

just pray

Default Comment on it please.....

FEDERAL PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
COMPETITIVE EXAMINATION FOR RECRUITMENT TO POSTS
IN BPS – 17 UNDER THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT, 1996.
ENGLISH (Précis)

1. Make a Précis of the following passage about one third of its length and suggest a suitable title. (25)[/I]

Along with the new revelations of science and psychology there have also occurred distortions of what is being discovered. -Most of the scientists and psychologists have accepted Darwin’s theory of evolution and his observations on “survival of the fittest” as a final word. While enunciating his-postulate on the concept of the fittest, Darwin primarily projected physical force as the main criterion, and remained unmindful of the culture of mind, The psychologist, on the other hand, in his exclusive involvement with the psyche, has overlooked the potential of man’s physical-self and the world outside him. No synthesis has been attempted between the two with the obvious result of the one being sacrificed at the altar of the other. This has given birth to a civilisation which is wholly based on economic considerations, transforming man into a mere “economic being” and limiting, his pleasures and sorrows to sensuous cravings. With the force of his craft and guns, this man of the modern world gave birth to two cannibalistic philosophies, the cunning capitalism and the callous communism. They joined hands to block the evolution of man as a cultural entity, denuding him of the feelings of love, sympathy, and humanness. Technologically, man is immensely powerful; culturally, he is the creature ‘of stoneage, as lustful as ever, and equally ignorant of his destiny. The two world wars and the resultant attitudes display harrowing distortion of the purposes of life and power. In this agonizing situation the Scientist is harnessing forces of nature, placing them at the feet of his country’s leaders, to be used against people in other parts of the world. This state of his servility makes the functions of the scientist appear merely to push humanity to a state of perpetual fear, and lead man to the inevitable destruction as a species with his own inventions and achievements. This irrational situation raises many questions. They concern the role of a scientist, the function of religion, the conduct of politician who is directing the course 5f history, and the future role of man as a species. There is an obvious mutilation of the purpose of creation, and the relationship .between Cosmos, Life, and Man is hidden from eyes; they have not been viewed collectively..
here is my effort

Science and Psychology, besides their contributions, so far have lacked a holistic approach to life. Former has emphacised phyical forcess of man ignoring his mental faculties, while the later focused human psyche only. These exclusive approaches have given birth to a society with economic imperatives. The Capitalism and communism, two leading concepts of this society, have ruined man culturally. They have given man physical strenghth and temporal bliss but made him culturally backward. Science's engagement for exploration of natural forces for the destruction of human specie, has made the world fearful. This has invited man for serious deliberations on different roles and for a holistic appraoch.

Title: Need for a holistic approach to Human life.
words:104

God Fearer is on a distinguished road

Thankyou Rishiz, Subah Hanzai and New student for ure response.. I don't know why FPSC has to check our abilities by giving these philosophical passages.. they have to check our skills of brevity, these skills can be checked with easy-to-understand passages as well. What you say guys?
The Following User Says Thank You to God Fearer For This Useful Post:
rishzzz (Sunday, January 31, 2010)
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

I don't know why FPSC has to check our abilities by giving these philosophical passages
well dear, a good opinion most of us wud have with us....lolz

But kiya hai na v have to adapt us according to exams....so that's why glass breaks at our head
PMS - S&GAD

Science and Psychology, besides their contributions, so far have lacked a holistic approach to life. Former has emphacised phyical forcess of man ignoring his mental faculties, while the later focused human psyche only. These exclusive approaches have given birth to a society with economic imperatives. The Capitalism and communism, two leading concepts of this society, have ruined man culturally. They have given man physical strenghth and temporal bliss but made him culturally backward. Science's engagement for exploration of natural forces for the destruction of human specie, has made the world fearful. This has invited man for serious deliberations on different roles and for a holistic appraoch.

dont use again same holistic approach but replace with some other
the statement u mentioned above (highlighted) is not which writer meant to say, culture is not exactly ruined, i think it is being ignored at the cost of scientific and psychological developments or so....

Comment: Very Good, you have improved a lot, n ur expression woth appreciation, i personally liked ur precis
PMS - S&GAD

It is easy to find out mistakes while v read and difficult to catch them while v r writing, so dont mind....
I didnt pass the ststement at u, i generally said it while i was pointing ur hints, that its easy when i m cheking ur precis, that i can find out mistake, but i ll ignore them while i ll b writing my own self....

Comment: Very Good, you have improved a lot, n ur expression woth appreciation, i personally liked ur precis
thanks rishzzz for your encourgement, I am fearful about this paper along with mighty ESSAY... anyhow keep going inshallah we will win one day.

thanks for identifying mistakes..

I don't know why seniors have turned their heads away from us. they are not commenting.
PMS - S&GAD

Originally Posted by Sabah Hunzai View Post
thanks rishzzz for your encourgement, I am fearful about this paper along with mighty ESSAY... anyhow keep going inshallah we will win one day.

thanks for identifying mistakes..

I don't know why seniors have turned their heads away from us. they are not commenting.
Yeah i m also quite desperate that no CSP or experienced members have posted any comments

any hw v shud keep on cheking each other, will i.a get smthn in return
Yar its ok dnt wry, ve ll have to practice a lot to make our hands and fingurs like iron to attempt for six hours in a day
Old Monday, February 01, 2010

New Student has a spectacular aura aboutNew Student has a spectacular aura about

@Sabah Hunzai and Rishz

I was a bit busy, asking same kinda help from my seniors . Main khud bi hairan hon kyon dosre seniors aap logon ki madad nahi kar rahe. As I have my own way of critically analyzing precis and others their's. The more input you get the better it is.

Sabah Hunzai, I have seen your precis, if I remember correctly I have checked that sometime ago. So no more comments.