03:25 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Essay > Essays

Essays Essays here

Old Sunday, November 26, 2006

Nosheen is on a distinguished road
Default Character formation:as an object of education

Education is one of the most important issues for the Goverments worldwide. For everybody knows that a way to progress for any nation is through the path of education. Goverments as well as the NGO"s are desperate to raise their literacy rates.And it should be for education is one of the very basic needs and rights of a man.

What is education? Is it a way of getting knowledge about everything,is it a mechanism to prepare forces of doctors,enineers or any other tehcnicians.Education is infact a life long process.It include not only the knowledge of the things surrounding,of hidden truths bu it is also a process which differentiate man from animal life.From the jungles and caves man has progressed to this advance and modern world.Is it what we all mean with education.The answer given by any ordinary man would be a simple 'NO'. For the scope of education is not just linked with the scientific discoveries or inventions,no doubt these are the very important aspect, but education on the other hand is very much linked with the progress of the moral world of man.It deals with the advancement of ideas which has brought tremendous changes in the moral,social,political in short in all fields.It is related with the thoughs and values as well as the behaviour of the educated person which he reflects in his daily routine life.

Character formatio as being the object of education is indeed a very deep and complex issue.It deals with individual and the whole system of his thoughts ,believes,habbit ,values and all those part of his personality which are reflected in his behaviour.What is character? It is the most presentable part of our personalities.Though it is characterized by the individual's personal values ,thoughts and moral conduct but it also depends on the individual's ability to reflect all these things into his daily life.The example is very obvious. If someone believes in something but is unable to bring it into practice the same cannot be called the part of his character,for he is not exhibiting it in his daily interactions.For human beings are judged by how they present themselves for the inner self is not seen from outer shell.So character formation demands not mere including some basic principles,values or ideas but to bring these certian ideas into daily practice.

So as we see the Education s a process which is not a medium of giving some philosophical or technical ideas but it should be first and formostly related to the object of character formation.And this process continues till death.For once we are able to know the importance of education the desire to rise above and above increases.Education taken in the most formal way adopts such patterns as to suit or link itself with the particular environment,needs plus the age of recipient.It on a formal level is divided between primary education,secondary education and higher education.AT primary and secondary level it concerns itself with the introductoion of some basic universal values to the children at teh same time introducing simple and most obvious fact and principles of different important fields like mathematics, social sciences,and language studies and with the progress of phase it deals more with teh deeper and deeper issues till higher education which concerns itself more with the particular field chosen and making one proficient with its intricasies and depths enabling him to carry out his own research basing it on the work of his predecessors and thus finding new horizons of these fields. So education no doubt deals with the advancement of different fields but its basic object is to build character on certian bases os that to produce overall better human beings.

The value of education and its role in human life can be understood when we see the importance Islam has given to it.Education has a very prominent place in Islam.Islam gives primary importance to education and asks its followers to educate themselves through out their lives.For human life is always in continueous process which ends with death.It is more like a journey where one passes from different phases each phase teaches you something.Sometimes one observe and learn from others and somtimes one has to earn the learning at hard process through experience.So its a never ending process like life and ends with it.Islam raises the status of humanity and calls man the deputy of God on earth.And this status has been awarded for no other ability than his knowledge and ability to educate himself.Infact there are numerous verses in Holy Quran where the importance of education is emphasizsed calling muslims to educate themselves.Infact a person who died in a struggle to acquire education is called a martyer.Muslims are asked to acquire education even if someone has to travell far off for it.Here it must be kept in mind that that when islam asks muslims to get education it is because of the benifits that can be achieved in practical life and the changes it brings in the personality of a person.The first and formost object of education according to ISlam is character building for it is cleared that ideas devoid of practice are of not value.No matter how much knowledge a person has aquired but if it does not reflect from his character and daily conduct it better had not been acquired.The very personality of Holy Prophet(PBUH) is a source of inspiration for the muslims,for here we see not mere theories but the practical application of the professed values in all circumstances.It shows that no matter how circumstances gather against you but one,if equipped with knowledge is never deviated from the path of truth and virtue.From Islamic percpective education is not related to some ideas of beliefs but it encompasses almost every thing,behaviours,dealing with others in all sort of matter from personal to buisness,with the rights nd the duties of a person in different spheres of life being a citizen,a family member and the skills and expertise that helps man to satisfye his needs of knowing about world as well as to earn a respectable living.Infact Quran urges the man to interpret the signs that God has created for him so that he can uderstand the creativity of his God.Islam being a practical relegion related itself with the physical as well as the spiritual life of its followers and shows how by getting knowledge man can exalt himslef in both spheres.

So education, being so important for nations,countries and states, what are the areas that it covers?First of all it deals with the individual telling him the basic answers of the questions he needs.It on the other hand links him with his respective family and gradually from particular areas society,region,country continent to the entire universe.It tell him the basic principles and values of living with others in relating him with others it clears some of his duties and rights as well as of the others.It characterizes the collective thinking og a society,draws some codes of conduct and in a way form a collective behaviour.It also imparts to indiviual knowledge in different fields enabling him to earn as well as to make his own and of many other's lives more comfortable.That is the key to human progress till now.Each subsequent generation do its part of work basing it on the ground of its previous generation's work and thus they shouldmake their lives better materialistically as well as spiritually.For if confined to the mere one of these aspects it fails in its objectives.So these are the areas that it covers but still the most important part of education remains to form better human beings.For many a scholars averred that the purpoes of education is not only to creat better doctors ,engineers,politicians but above of these all to creat better human beings.To base their charcter on such lines of universal values and principl es that they are better in all ways as compared to an uneducated person.

But if these objectives of education were understood and practiced then certianly we would have been living in a different world.Materialistically man has progressed well but where do we stand morally.Are we better human beings or citizens or better responsible member of our society.Had the character building aspect of education practiced and applied than surely our societies would be glowing with the shining personalities embodiment of ideas and practice.But it is not the reality that we see around us.

Reality on the other hand is much bitter and worse.We are civilized as we have evolved the civilized way of satisfying our base desires.Our society may have more but not less vices that were found in previous so called dark ages.Our society overall is devoid of such values of tolerence,patience,discipline,truth,honest and righteousness.Their is no difference between the so called educated men of our society and the ignorant.It can be easily analysed by conducts usually exhibited at roads and in lines.Education if tell the difference of right and wrong then why are their so many mercenary officers as they are more educated .the fact is that the more one is educated the better he knows the ways to whiten his black money.The only picked the things that help them to disguise their base values.We are more prone to the acts of intolerance and impatience than our previous generations.SO what is the reason of this deplorable fact are we forgeting the real objectives of education.

The main reason behind this situation seems to be the objectives we have attached to education.Education in our society is a character building tool anymore we are more concerned with the other benefits that are achieved through education.This include the tint of materialism which has coloured our views and ideas.Education is a greatest mean to earn more handsomel. the main objective tagged with education is to achieve the materialistic benefits that it offers o.On a very simple level it is more a routine.

This trend can be verified from the number of students excelling in fields like medicine,engineering other physical sciences but no change in character building has been seen.Money earning is being given the supreme importance.No doubt money is one of the important realities of our lives but its mere one aspect of life and not life itself.

If we put this objective of money earning at a side then what we see is a loss of objectives. Beside money earning no more objectives are usually attached consicously to education.It has become more like a routine.There may be somewhere in the back of our minds a view of teacing our children to differentiate between right and wron but that usually is not the driving force nor we ensure the same for them.Gaining more prestige can also be a motive beside other things as an educated man do has a kind of respect of his own in our society.

Now comes the question of the responsibility.who is responsible for this deplorable state of affairs.why are we unable to recognize and render imprtance to the most needed objective of educaion which is character formation.There are several factors responsible for this condition.

At this age of machine and speed we simply have no time to ponder over and device some objectives for ourselves.We have a trend inour society where we may plan our future in material term but give no imoportance to what we want our children to be like a human being some years after.What kind of a society member or a citizen he will be .There is a wide spread lack of such considerations.

Again just to be with the pace of time materialistic views have overshadowed everything else.The social values has been hijacked by class privileges and social status.Society is clearly divided among different classes,upper,middle and lower and these classes are defined in terms of their materialistic status.Rich are busy in gaining more and consolidating their position,poor are busy in making their both ends meet as well as to earn as much as tehy can for thier respectable existence.for in this society Respect has been somewhat closely associated with money.So in such a materialistic society ideas and values are not seemed to be much important.

But still if education(so wide spread)should have done something to imporve the situation and if it has failed then their must be some problem in formulating its policies and patterns.

Educational system cn be to some extent hold responsible for its its responsibility to impart education along with its all objectives and purposes.And it is failed in
this purpose due to many reasons.One is that it has been yet failed to device the proper curriculum to achieve such noble objectives as chracter formation.Though there had been some frequent changes (miner ones noot drastic)but the overall pattern has remained the same.we have been witnessing the same curriculum for years without any improvement though we can see that the same is insuffiecient ofr character building purpose of education.There is a lack of practice.Our examination system are thus deviced that importance is given to theory and ideas as how well they are memorized and its more a test of memory.Our examination system has raised a custom of cramming.Students are required to crame and reproduce some important points but no importance is given to the practical application of these ideas.For this teachers are also responsible to some extent.The children learn more from what they see than what they are told.Mere caming some values as honesty,truth,love,humbleness brotherhood will not do anything unless student see the practice of these ideas before their own eyes.

Teahcers have alway been the ideals of student but we are really laking those dedicated and devotional teachers who with all their might tried to bring up a better generation.Teachers today are more concerned about their own futures and lives than understanding the fact that they have been enthrusted with the most precious treasure of society.The lack of coordination between what they teach and what they practice fails to inculcate in the young minds the practical application of these value in day to day life.Then there is no uniform system of education.Especially in our country education has become a thing that can be attained at different prices. There are many different levels of educational institutions to suit one's pocket.Private institutions have made this noble purpose a buisness to earn more and more.There are english medium as well as urdu medium schools but both has failed to achieve the basic objective of character formation.

Because of these many reasons education has lost its real value and significance.Now there come the question that hjow to improve this situation.First of all realization of the problem is very important.If we assume that there is no problem then ofcourse circumstances will continue to move in descending direction.We need to understand the importance off education right from the begining in a very new way.It has to be understood that the purpose of eduction is not to gain the ability to earn more.Though we cannot reject this objective catagorically but it is not teh primary objective.It may be an important benefit of education but the primary objective of education is and should be to inculcate such universal values and virtues in such a way that they become part of one's character and are translated in their daily lives.If it does not bring a positive change in the mind and behaviour of human being thatn it is not fulfilling its real purpose.

Curriculum needs to be devised on altogether new lines to cater this objective.There should be more stress on moral values and their application. It should be made more intresting and up to date for the coming generations.

Teachers should realize thier role in this scenario and must understand their duties as well as the graveness of thier work.They need to adopt a behaviour with children that furthur educate them and infact present the practical embodiment of the values they are teaching.They should inculcate the values of tolerence,honesty and discipline in the future generation.

Examination system are to devised in such way that instead of testing the craming abilities of the students they are to test their understanding of the curriculum.
So education if devoid of its purpose of character formation is of no value whatsoever.We ,at this age of machine and technology are left far behind in field of morals and human values.Its high time to consider this probelm and make strenous efforts to right this wrong.Its a great duty imcumbent on our generation towards later generations.A human character is the most imortant subject of education and by making our educational system able enough to perform its due role in the making of societies we would render the greatest service to the world than all discoveries and inventions.Education must be separated from the materialistic values and desires.Its the most needed change in our society as it is lacking in the requierd values of tolerance and honesty.By achieving these values collectively we will advance on the path of progress as a proud and able nation
And miles to go before i sleep
S.Nosheen

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, June 23, 2009 at 12:57 AM.

plz read my essay and tell me whether its good or not.
infact think from an examiner's point of view and give me marks i gave myself the time and wrote this essay offhand without any preparation actually preparation k sath mujh sey essay likha hi nahi jata
S.Nosheen

I M Possible will become famous soon enough

Its good and comprehensive!
Old Monday, November 27, 2006

Najabat is on a distinguished road

Re:Nosh33N
Indeed A superb Piece of writing!Very well done Sis,i reallly appreciate your superb effort!Like all normal things it has some defects which when clear make it a more sophisticated and precise!

Well first thing i favor for upgradation is Topic should be more comprehensive in nature if it is titled as :Character Formation:As an objective of Education.

Secondly you wrote in first para and subsequently use the word man,like "And it should be for education is one of the very basic needs and rights of a man" instead use individual or person, seems more appropriate.

Thirdly very little and may be just due to time shortage for your essay,you do some clearly indicating spell and punctuation mistakes.But its ignorable for such a gr8 theme of your Essay.

4thly you can also take example of our educational system's lack of character making,since our Parliment language is no more hidden form common people now.Do we think of them as Graduate Assembly,abusing and fighting terribly all time.Plus Qoutes from reknowned personalities also play a pivotal role to strengthen your points.

In a nutshell i just mention some weaknesses,don't to keep you low but to give you a fly....Wish u all the best!!,Keep it up!

Best Regards,

thanx
and really i need such healthy criticism.
the point u gave of our parliment is very good and truely didn't come in my mind.as far as quotations are concern i too feel this point but my problem is that i cant memorize well.so ratey wali cheezein mujh sey reh jati hain any ways thanx for ur comments
S.Nosheen

Sohail Shuja is on a distinguished road

Salaam,

Good going sister. Keep it up !

If u dont mind, I can just say that it would appear much absorptive and comprehendable if u assign some appropriate headings to the paragraphs.

Take Care

Allah Hafiz

but i have heard headings dont creat good impression?
S.Nosheen
Old Tuesday, November 28, 2006

Sohail Shuja is on a distinguished road

As a matter of fact, I really don't know the required fromat of CSS but I have seen the major outlines and headings of the topics in the section of past papers and thier soloutions provided by the prestigeous members of the forum. So, me too waiting for thier final say.

On the subject matter... I have gone through ur work and have found it quite impressive in terms of effort and eloquence of thought and reasoning. Just to add a bit to your good arguments I may define that education is broadly divided into two majors...1 formal and 2nd Informal. Formal education refers to the instituionalized body of knowledge and the informal education is the learning which we start to recieve from our mothers lap and it protrudes till the edge of our grave. This includes the lessons which we recieve in the social context of family, friends and situations etc.The character development process is more concerned with the informal type of education. So that is probably why we have such a bulk of weak characters in masses. The revision of the curriculum of study or what we know as formal education won't be able to make a striking mark untill and unless we pay due attention to the sources of informal education and get them inlined with the ideals of our ethics. Nowadays, much of the value is also attributed to the effect of media as a tool to fashion the perception of people, which in turn translates into thier behaviors. No doubt that no other tool can be used to bring about a change on such a mass scale like it does. The other most important factor in this regard are the legislations and policies of government which shape the general atmosphere of society, where a person is subject to be educated. Creating an atmosphere which compells a person to focus much on his/her basic needs results in the establishment of a general acknowledgement of monetary richness as a highly approved and appreciated entity. This creates frustration and induces a sense of competetion in monetary terms between people, which atlast results in much of the social evils which start from a simple notion of bribery and pickpocketing etc and extends till terrorism. If we have to create a knowledge loving well behaved society, then we have to have policies which should be rewarding for good conduct in terms of character, justly. More or less, our media seriously needs a revolution if we are to crush the other forms of frustrations prevalent in our society covertly and are spreading like cancer.

I hope that i have not confused u by keeping it brief.
Old Tuesday, November 28, 2006

I M Possible will become famous soon enough

Headings are not allowed in essays for css exam. Kindly avoid them at all.