08:11 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > Islamiat

Old Saturday, November 27, 2010
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 73Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,480 Times in 622 Posts
redmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by JazibRoomi
Redmax it is not a personal issue. I believe in your sincerity for the quest of knowledge and ask you to believe in mine.
Now let's quote another part of your post.

Originally Posted by JazibRoomi View Post

Emotions are too much involved in this subject. Do you really expect an intellectual and not emotional response from your wife when she will come to know that you are planning for a second marriage? Alas, I can never be your wife but at present I am on her side. So, pardon me.
Personal anyone???

And now let's find the answer of your above two quotes in your own post.

.... don't worry, agar main app ko jahil lagta hoon to " Qa'alu Salam"
.Self explanatory.

the gender status of a woman in Muslim countries is far more inferior than that of a western woman.
Man, you are funny!
Islam is NOT be blamed for whatever mischief people accomplish in fulfilling their own self-interests. It's the people, as an individual and their respective governments that should take this responsibility.

I would highly appreciate your opinion over the solution i presented for the issue by making an analogy between polygamy and slavery.
You do not fulfill the criterion to become a Mujtahid. Therefore it would be prudent for you to abstain from proposing anything in matters of religion based on your limited study.

As being a Muslim I found it extremely difficult to justify Quranic view about a woman's social status
This time when you look for answers, try adopting a positive approach and reading only the opinions of authorities in religion lest you should be deviated and misled by many who cover themselves under cloak of Islam. Next time, You will find it extremely easy to justify Quranic views about any issue.

Thought. But still confused.
Let me give one more try at solving your confusion.

In my next post, I am going to give you the complete details of the history, background, purpose and its implications of the polygamy. (which I had earlier advised to you look for.)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 73Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,480 Times in 622 Posts
redmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud of

Please clarify your misconception from the point number one, before reading the discussion that must follow.

1. Allah Almighty has permitted polygamy, not ordered. ITS NOT A COMPULSION OR COMMANDMENT!

Therefore, the practice of polygamy is purely one's own choice remaining in compliance with the limitations set by Islam.

Below is the origin, complete history of polygamy & its socio-economic implications.

The Background

Verse 4:3 (quoted in the post above) was revealed to Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him in Madina after he migrated to it from Mecca and established an Islamic state there right after the battle of Uhud in which the Muslims not only had lost badly against the Pagans, but also suffered a dramatic decrease in the number of Muslim men. The Muslim men before that battle were approximately 700. They became only 400 after the battle. This loss had left so many Muslim women (1) Widows, and (2) Not able to get married if they were single.

To make matters even worse, the Muslims had faced yet another battle against the Pagans in Mecca and its neighboring tribes who wanted to attack the Muslims in Madina to finish off Islam once and for all, and by the Jews and the Christians in Madina who betrayed the Muslims in the "battle of Trench" after signing a defense treaty with Muhammad peace be upon him against the Pagans.

All praise due to Allah Almighty. With Allah's Will and Mercy, the Muslims had miraculously won the battle against the Pagans of Mecca and drove them back to where they came from, and then attacked the Jews and the Christians who betrayed the defense treaty and kicked those hypocrites out of Madina forever!

These continuous battles against the Muslims were very costly in terms of Muslim men's lives. The women had to be taken care of one way or another. For this reason, Allah Almighty had revealed the Noble Verse 4:3 to Muhammad peace be upon him to solve the social problems that the Muslims were facing. That is why at the very beginning of the Noble Verse 4:3 we see Allah Almighty setting a conditional clause for Orphans "If ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly with the orphans...(4:3)." This Noble Verse came down for the purpose of protecting the Orphans and to increase the number of the Muslims by allowing the men to marry multiple wives (preferably from the grown Orphans at that time), up to four wives only. The purpose was absolutely not for man's sexual pleasure nor privilege, nor was it to support man's personal ego. It was revealed to solve a major social problem to prevent major sins such as illegal sex and prostitution.

Why Men Practice Polygamy?

Numerous reasons why men engage in polygamy can be cited. For example:

*There were frequent wars between tribes and nations. These wars resulted in an excess of females over males, as many men were killed in battle. In order to accommodate the excess number of women to men, polygamy was a remedy.

*Polygamy helped in the rehabilitation of widows and orphans and other women that were left without supporters or husbands, resulting from war.

*Polygamy was said to heal the wounded heart of a woman whose husband was killed in battle.

*Polygamy was practiced to ensure an increase in the birthrate. It was necessary for every individual member of a tribe to try to increase the numbers in the tribe to which it belonged.

*Polygamy was the solution for women that were helpless and destitute. A polygamous marriage provided those women with a means of livelihood and protection.

*It was considered a chivalrous act to marry as many women as a man could support.

*It was considered a huge indignity on a family and the entire tribe, if a female remained unmarried or married below her social status. Eligible girls of marriageable age had many offers of marriage. Parents competed with each other in providing enticement in the form of jewelry and property as dower.

*Polygamy was a solution in some cases in which a wife was chronically ill, incapacitated, or unable to bear children.

THE NEED FOR POLYGAMY IS NOT OBSOLETE

*There are still wars that leave women widowed.

*There are still single women that cannot find husbands.

*For many women, marriage is their dream. It doesn’t matter whether she is a physician, educator, or a lawyer; it does not matter what her position may be. Regardless of how much she excels in her work, for a woman (not all women, of course) her subconscious aim is that of having a family of her own shared by a good man that is the father of her children.

*There still are married women that are reproductively challenged (barren).

*The Quran was written for all men, for all times. Polygamy is permissible in Islam. That permission was given by Allah (Great and Glorious is He). However, it must be reiterated that Permission does not employ the meaning of Order.

Some Food for thought

What shall we do when the balance is upset and the number of women becomes many times more than men? Shall we deprive women of the blessing of marriage and motherhood; and thus let her walk the way of whoredom and vice, as it happened in Europe owing to the increase in number among women after the 2nd World War? Or shall we solve this problem by noble ways that preserve the woman's honour, the family's purity and the wholeness of society? Which is more honourable and more ethical, that woman should be bound with a holy bond in which she joins another woman under the shelter of a man in a legal, noble manner (i.e Islamic way)? or that we should let her become a mistress or a girlfriend of that man, the relationship between them then being sinful and evil (i.e Un-Islamic way)?

Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default Only One!

'Marry woman of your
choice in twos' threes' or
fours' but if ye fear that ye
shall not be able to deal justly,
(with them), THEN ONLY ONE.' [Al-Qur'an 4:3]

"You (Prophet p.b.u.h) are never able to be fair and just as between women, even if it is your ardent desire. [Al-Quran 4:129.]

The second verse is decisive since Allah Almighty Himself testifies to the fact that one cannot, not even a prophet can divide one's affections equally among one's wives. So why then the first verse was revealed at all?
Because it was revealed after the battle of Uhud which muslims had lost to infidels with 300 casualities. The widows and orphans of the martyred men were becoming a social problem and a financial burden for the muslims so came the permission of polygamy. It benefited women more than men because if Allah Almighty had not permitted polygamy, all the widows were not going to get husbands because men mostly prefer virgins over widows. But Allah asked muslim men to marry widows and take care of them and their children and their property and when the children become adults then make them owners of their inheritence (do not usurp what belongs to them).
The context of the first verse is war, martyrs, widows, orphans. Still one is asked strictly to be just among one's wives or perish the thought of polygamy and remain with ONLY ONE (wife).

From medical point of view, small girls (infants) got more immunity at birth than small boys (in my view: so that even if girls are discriminated against and neglected during infancy so that they still can survive; that shows God loves girls very much). That's one of the reasons that women population is more than men population in the world despite selective abortion of girl foetuses by discriminating parents. (Women are equally guilty and may be more because almost all mothers wish for a male child. Now how can men be blamed when women themselves kind of hate their own gender? Flavia! You said you were disappointed. Now What do you say about that?
I remember in Gynaecology and Obstetrics ward a mother, with the help of her elder daughter, killed her 2 days old baby girl by smotherig her just because she was a girl. Don't blame me, who can save that baby when her own mother is desperate to take her life? Its a common practice in our society and the common excuse the mother presents is that the baby died in sleep but when you carefully examine the baby's body especially her throat and mouth region you will find finger marks and signs of violence). But God says that on Judgment Day we will know the truth when HE will ask from the small girls in their small graves: TELL ME TODAY WHAT SIN DID YOU COMMIT THAT YOU WERE BURIED ALIVE AND MURDERED IN COLD BLOOD BY YOUR OWN PARENTS?

There are 7.8 million and 9 million more women than men in USA and Russia respectively. 25 million of the male population in the USA is gay. Polygamy is illegal in USA and that's why practices like orgy parties and Bukake and others are getting so common. They believe virginity is not dignity but a lack of opportunity.

One of the signs of the end of the world in islam is that the women population will increase to an extent that there will be dozens of women against 1 man.

Conclusion: Polygamy is allowed only in the above particular scenarios i.e to safeguard the rights of the widows and orphans, and to prevent prostitution and other sexual perversions, there is no harm in it if single women (virgins or widows) who can't get a male partner, willfully undergo polygamy and save the world.
The Following User Says Thank You to Witchdoctor For This Useful Post:
Abid Mehboob (Sunday, January 09, 2011)

rainy... is on a distinguished road

@whitchdoctor

Conclusion: Polygamy is allowed only in the above particular scenarios i.e to safeguard the rights of the widows and orphans, and to prevent prostitution and other sexual perversions, there is no harm in it if single women (virgins or widows) who can't get a male partner, willfully undergo polygamy and save the world.
i tend to disagree with you here that above listed scenarios are the only scenarios, these can be the prime ones. Reason is that a man can never understand the full wisdom and the beauty of Quran is that it addresses whole humanity but at the same time you'll find a direct communication at the personal level while reading it....

As i have seen here...

many people think that polygamy is allowed to safeguard widows and orphans,
some are convinced that its in line with the psychology of men and women or physical needs are more important...for them they consider its a mean of fulfilling those needs...
obviously there are social and biological implications as well....

Then there is personal bias that plays vital role. For women its difficult to accept the second marriage of husbands but men are very much in favor(majority). I have listened this kind of argument '4 ki ijazat hai' but for me sometimes its funny and at the same time its quite serious as well because they totally ignore the rights of women wen they talk about this permission as most of them never think about providing equal status( in terms of love, respect, finance etc). How many think about How Rasoolullah(PBUH) used to manage things among his wives.

i don't want to quote some thing without reference but Hazrat Aa'isha(RA) was more close to the heart and i have read somewhere that its said that after Hazrat Khadija(RA) , Hazrat Aa'sha(RA) was the one. But Rasoollah(Salallahu alayhi wasallam) used to ask forgiveness for this(though its fully natural even among our sisters we have favorites, among parents we are naturally inclined towards one specific person). And to my understanding the ayah quoted by whitchdoctor:

"You (Prophet p.b.u.h) are never able to be fair and just as between women, even if it is your ardent desire. [Al-Quran 4:129.]
actually addresses emotions that are not under direct control....

Here i want to emphasize on the consciousness of the rights of wives. In-spite all these facts Rasoolullah(SAW) managed it so well that none of the wives ever complained. MashaALLAH...

i have seen women complaining that men are given more rights but when i think of the responsibility that comes with THIS RIGHT(polygamy) i shiver. Maintaining balance between wives is not an easy thing...

At last i just want you people to try look at the whole picture rather than focusing on parts(though its not fully possible because humans we have limitations). Bias is natural but try to overcome or at least admit it.
....."O my Lord! Open for me my chest (grant me self-confidence, contentment, and boldness); "And loose the knot (the defect) from my tongue, (i.e. remove the incorrectness from my speech)"That they understand my speech; And ease my task for me."(surah 20, ayaah 28).
Aameen....
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Roll number 6338

JazibRoomi has a spectacular aura aboutJazibRoomi has a spectacular aura about
Default Marry only one woman at one time:order of the day

In my earlier posts I have clearly showed that Islam Favors monogamy.

How is it Allah's choice:

'Marry woman of your choice in twos' threes' or fours' but if ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly,(with them), THEN ONLY ONE. This will make it more likely that you will not deviate from the right course.' [Al-Qur'an 4:3]

"You (Prophet p.b.u.h) are never able to be fair and just as between women, even if it is your ardent desire.[Al-Quran 4:129.]

And how it is Prophet Muhammad's Choice:
"Most of his life Muhammad remained monogamous. It was not until he was 54 that he for the first time had two women together in his life, and that too was not for the change of taste. Kion kay " Allah zaiqa badalnay walo or zaiqa badalnay walio ko pasand nahi karta"

Ab jo solution main apni earlier posts main diye uskay kya advantages hain:
Aik to polygamy ko reject kartay hoye Allah or Uskay Rasook kay farmaan ki koi toheen nahi ki gai. Is explanation say app Islam kay critics ko mu tor jawab day saktay ho. khawateen bhi khush. Rahi baat mardo ki to hum aik baar jeetay hain aik baar martay hain pyar bhi aik dafa hota hay or shadi bhi.

Redmax objected that i am not a mujtahid. Rainy asked for my qualifications. It is perhaps my 17th post and i have been asked the same questions again and again. Inshallah in my next post I will not only tell you my qualification, but also explain the qualifications required for a Mujtahid. Laikin aik baat.

"Hum Muslmaan her nai baat or nai theory say dartay hain or is ki sab say bari waja Shaksiat Parasti Hay."

rage is on a distinguished road

"Hum Muslmaan her nai baat or nai theory say dartay hain or is ki sab say bari waja Shaksiat Parasti Hay."
@JazibRoomi
Well said,
But it is not just Muslims who are dogmatic but its human instinct to be bound in beliefs that comfort him.

No one can deny the Islam's permission for polygamy but the need is to take it with all of its obligations as well.
And, as u mentioned that Allah likes u to be monogamous, it is becoz He knows, Man can not do the justic, as mandatory.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Roll number 6338

Originally Posted by redmax View Post
The Background

Verse 4:3 (quoted in the post above) was revealed to Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him in Madina after he migrated to it from Mecca and established an Islamic state there right after the battle of Uhud in which the Muslims not only had lost badly against the Pagans, but also suffered a dramatic decrease in the number of Muslim men. The Muslim men before that battle were approximately 700. They became only 400 after the battle. This loss had left so many Muslim women (1) Widows, and (2) Not able to get married if they were single.

To make matters even worse, the Muslims had faced yet another battle against the Pagans in Mecca and its neighboring tribes who wanted to attack the Muslims in Madina to finish off Islam once and for all, and by the Jews and the Christians in Madina who betrayed the Muslims in the "battle of Trench" after signing a defense treaty with Muhammad peace be upon him against the Pagans.

All praise due to Allah Almighty. With Allah's Will and Mercy, the Muslims had miraculously won the battle against the Pagans of Mecca and drove them back to where they came from, and then attacked the Jews and the Christians who betrayed the defense treaty and kicked those hypocrites out of Madina forever!

These continuous battles against the Muslims were very costly in terms of Muslim men's lives. The women had to be taken care of one way or another. For this reason, Allah Almighty had revealed the Noble Verse 4:3 to Muhammad peace be upon him to solve the social problems that the Muslims were facing. That is why at the very beginning of the Noble Verse 4:3 we see Allah Almighty setting a conditional clause for Orphans "If ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly with the orphans...(4:3)." This Noble Verse came down for the purpose of protecting the Orphans and to increase the number of the Muslims by allowing the men to marry multiple wives (preferably from the grown Orphans at that time), up to four wives only. The purpose was absolutely not for man's sexual pleasure nor privilege, nor was it to support man's personal ego. It was revealed to solve a major social problem to prevent major sins such as illegal sex and prostitution.
I totally agree.

*Polygamy was practiced to ensure an increase in the birthrate. It was necessary for every individual member of a tribe to try to increase the numbers in the tribe to which it belonged.
One couple should produce only two to replace them.

*Polygamy was the solution for women that were helpless and destitute. A polygamous marriage provided those women with a means of livelihood and protection.
We better need to work against gender discrimination to ensure the economic independence of women.

*It was considered a chivalrous act to marry as many women as a man could support.
Very very bad

*THE NEED FOR POLYGAMY IS NOT OBSOLETE

*There are still wars that leave women widowed.

*There are still single women that cannot find husbands.

*For many women, marriage is their dream. It doesn’t matter whether she is a physician, educator, or a lawyer; it does not matter what her position may be. Regardless of how much she excels in her work, for a woman (not all women, of course) her subconscious aim is that of having a family of her own shared by a good man that is the father of her children.
Allah has its own way of ensuring equal number of men and women throughout history. The reason being whether an X or Y sperm fertilize the egg is based purely on chance. Therefore, even after a history of six hundred thousand years of human race, involving countless wars and world wars, the population of male and female is almost equal. So this argument reiterated by Zakir Naik and other supporters of polygamy is essentially faulty.

*There still are married women that are reproductively challenged (barren).
Equally true for males. Pakistan ki her dewaar pay mardana kamzori kay istehar hain laikin mard khaal khaal hain.

*The Quran was written for all men, for all times. Polygamy is permissible in Islam. That permission was given by Allah (Great and Glorious is He). However, it must be reiterated that Permission does not employ the meaning of Order.
This is an over simplistic statement. Quran is not applicable on pre Quranic Times. And there are many verses of Quran that are valid only for a specified time and specfied nation.

Some Food for thought

What shall we do when the balance is upset and the number of women becomes many times more than men? Shall we deprive women of the blessing of marriage and motherhood; and thus let her walk the way of whoredom and vice, as it happened in Europe owing to the increase in number among women after the 2nd World War? Or shall we solve this problem by noble ways that preserve the woman's honour, the family's purity and the wholeness of society? Which is more honourable and more ethical, that woman should be bound with a holy bond in which she joins another woman under the shelter of a man in a legal, noble manner (i.e Islamic way)? or that we should let her become a mistress or a girlfriend of that man, the relationship between them then being sinful and evil (i.e Un-Islamic way)?
Likhnay say pahlay yeah to soocho kay kya likh rahay ho. Forum pay article copy paste karnay say koi Allama nahi ban jata. Not monogamy but poverty is main reason behind prostitution. Visit Lahore ki Heera Mandi and you will surprisingly come to know that most of the prostitutes there are married. I myself met a prostitute and asked her,:"why don't you get married. I you wish I will marry you." To my surprise she replied,"I wish I could, but I am already married".

Default @rage

Originally Posted by rage View Post
@JazibRoomi
Well said,
But it is not just Muslims who are dogmatic but its human instinct to be bound in beliefs that comfort him.

No one can deny the Islam's permission for polygamy but the need is to take it with all of its obligations as well.
And, as u mentioned that Allah likes u to be monogamous, it is becoz He knows, Man can not do the justic, as mandatory.
Polygamy "was" permitted by Islam and that too was under very special circumstances. But at present, we should discourage man looking for second or third or forth marriage as is a common practice in Arabia kay 4 shadiaan kar leen or jab panchwee pay dil aa gya to pahli ko talaq day di. Hamaray country main bhi aorto kay sir per doosri shadi ki talwaar latakti rahti hay or Quran ki is provision ka galat istamal society main male dominance ki bhut bari waja hay.

Aorat kay istehsaal ka is say bara proof kya ho ga kay according to Dr Mehboob ul Haq UNDP report 2005, Dunya ka 67% kaam aoraatein karti hain or profit main unka share only 10% or property main sirf 1% hay.

And also if my wife sleeps with another person with or without telling me, what would I feel. And how she would feel if I do the same. Loyalty and Wafadari are the two basic clauses of marriage contract. Tell me, whether you are a male or female, what is meant by the statement that I will remain loyal to my spouse.

If I get a chance, I would definitely work to include monogamy in our family law.

rage is on a distinguished road

Aorat kay istehsaal ka is say bara proof kya ho ga kay according to Dr Mehboob ul Haq UNDP report 2005, Dunya ka 67% kaam aoraatein karti hain or profit main unka share only 10% or property main sirf 1% hay.

And also if my wife sleeps with another person with or without telling me, what would I feel. And how she would feel if I do the same. Loyalty and Wafadari are the two basic clauses of marriage contract. Tell me, whether you are a male or female, what is meant by the statement that I will remain loyal to my spouse.

If I get a chance, I would definitely work to include monogamy in our family law.
I fear, majority of men would be offended by this statement.
For man, as per usual, loyalti does not mean to be with a single woman all of his life. As 99% men take it to be their birth right to have more than one wives, often by quoting forementioned Quranic verse, and at times taking other social excuses.
And women are supposed to remain that submissive and obedient to their SO-CALLED HUSBANDS who go for second or third marriage overlooking their legitimate obligations towards their wives, let aside that intimate sincerity.

Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default Emaan and Delusion!

@ jazibRoomi: Did you really proposed to that prostitute for marriage?
If yes then its an exception because most men won't.
Same way there could be exceptions with women as well; women who won't mind if their husbands sleep with others of their wives.
Although a prostitute has a terrible past but if few men can forgive that, few women can allow their men taking other wives as well.
Human psyche differs from individual to individual. Recently we watched on the TV, a guy from Sialkoat marrying two girls, both his cousins. They were invited to a talkshow and the wives seemed happy and said again and again that they had no issue sharing one husband etc.
In Arab countries polygamy is very common and has become a part of their culture. Let me tell you an incident I heard from a pakistani girl working as a judge in UAE:
She went into a bank. There she happened to interact with a well-to-do, good looking affluent arab woman. They sat down, talked about this and that, socialized in a friendly way. After sometime the jolly arab woman asked the girl: You are so sweet and I like you a lot. Why don't you marry my husband and we will live like a family together and all?
Well, the girl was surprised to hear that.
In the above live example, both are women and both possessing two different psyches. What was a sweet prospect for one, was almost shocking for the other.
At the end its all about mentality, perceptions and understanding. Social norms, culture, environment, awareness play vital roles in defining the eventual psychology of the human mind. A kid raised in Africa won't share the values espoused by an American kid. Both will be different in their approaches towards life.
When something negative becomes a part of culture, we stop noticing its thrust and with the passage of time seem to accept it without objection and later it becomes a part of the morality of the next generation. Morality itself is taught. We believe God is one because we are taught that way. We haven't seen God, still we believe HE is there all the time. A kid born to idolatrous parents will find no fault with worshipping mere statues all his life because he is taught that way and its a part of his morality to do so.
A persistant belief about the existence of something when its not there is termed as DELUSION in Psychiatry; its to be corrected with anti-psychotic drugs. But a persistent belief in the existence of God, angels and Heaven and Hell is considered Emaan in religion.
I hope you understand the difference!