08:30 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2010 Exam

Old Sunday, March 21, 2010

Thanked 1,049 Times in 524 Posts
Waqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by rishzzz View Post
no you will not be allowed to write anything on question papers, that is prohibited strictly....You ll be given guidance again n again to write in answer book at end pages or according to your question plan, how you arrange, but in answer book not in question paper...

@last island

i had asked if any probable news when the result of css 2010 is expected.....i mean how long we ll have to wait for the result news......xact expectations, if somebody can tell...

No one can prognosticate that when result will be announced minimum 5 months and maximum 6 months you will have to wait.
Itni jaldi bhi kya hay. chill karo jab tak

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

first of all line problem
you can use a ruler or foot to make lines on your clipboard no need to use paper. or u can use a ruler to kep u in line at paper
but both these are time consuming and troublesome
best is to practice and do it independanlty.some line may sway but don't worry.
second in my centre i have seen people writing alot of things on question paper the invigilator only checked roll no at the top and left them alone.
u can do your rough work on q. paper though it is prohibited by fpsc. but consider your centre conditions
thirdly planning a question ,i mentioned previously read paper or question repeatedly so you get right idea of question and major abstract of what is required. read question while answering as it keeps u focussed.ideas keep on coming in your mind through the question.so be focussed and write according to the question's demand
fourthly time division q.1that u are going to attempt must be best u can give it 40 minutes ,then next 2 questions 35 minutes and last 30 minutes.save 5 minutes for checking numbers of question and tying the sheets if any
finally attempt all questions that are asked (like 4 in a paper)whether u know little detail about the topic.
best of luck
fahadfa (Monday, March 22, 2010), sherry.j (Sunday, March 21, 2010), Shooting Star (Monday, March 22, 2010)

Thanked 1,049 Times in 524 Posts
Waqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud ofWaqar Abro has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by fahadfa View Post
Can somebody tell me if it is so with all of you, as it was with me?

i appeared for css-2009 and css-2010. I have noticed that there is a severe lack of time. You hardly have time to plan or prepare an outline for answering a particular 20-marks question! I always finished the (30-minute) MCQs within maximum 15 or 20 minutes so that i get time to decide which questions to answer and how much time to spend on each answer! Usually you have so much information to write and so little time that it is rarely possible to write everything!!! This is a big issue! You seee you have to explain every thing you write! you cannot just write one word and move on as we do in making notes at home! At most places i did extremely bad handwriting due to lack of time and had no time to reread the answer paper. You almost get no time to change the pen you are using from one kind to another or to use blanco! I wonder in how many sentences, due to lack of time, i skipped words and made the sentence unintelligible! I can now only pray to God and wish this did not happen! In so many questions I had to depend on assuming examiner to know somethings already without me having to explain everything!!

i wish somebody could comment!!
First of all,it should be in your mind that no one is perfect.
For instance,
Noor-ul-ain-fatma took first position in 2008 and according to me she secured 760 or 770 marks out of 1200 in written that means she was also not perfect.
If she had written each and everything,she would have taken 900 or more marks in written.however,i would like to suggest you kindly forget such petty mistakes which were made by you in the exam.

Moreover,you have mentioned in your post that due to shortage of time it is really hard to check out what one has written in the answer copy ; this happens with everyone .

Last but not the least,checkers do not bother to read everything.Although,they are exprienced and they give marks to the candidates by reading intro and conclusion para.

wish u best of luck.
The Following User Says Thank You to Waqar Abro For This Useful Post:
fahadfa (Monday, March 22, 2010)

sherry.j is on a distinguished road

I mark all mcqs clearly on the question paper! but probably that is not a very wise thing to do

That is right! We should avoid writing anything on question paper. After all its not worth taking such risks. (However I used to mark a slight dot under my selected option. So that I can recheck my MCQs when at home )

Originally Posted by DEADLYDOCTOR View Post
finally attempt all questions that are asked (like 4 in a paper)whether u know little detail about the topic.
best of luck
Yes! here deadly made a very good point that we all were forgetting. "Attempt all the questions" never leave the hall believing that you don't know the answers. Like people did in geography paper...Manage time and never give up on any question!!!

Last edited by Princess Royal; Sunday, March 21, 2010 at 10:55 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sherry.j For This Useful Post:
fahadfa (Monday, March 22, 2010)
Old Monday, March 22, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

KAWISH will become famous soon enough

Can somebody tell me if it is so with all of you, as it was with me?

i appeared for css-2009 and css-2010. I have noticed that there is a severe lack of time. You hardly have time to plan or prepare an outline for answering a particular 20-marks question! I always finished the (30-minute) MCQs within maximum 15 or 20 minutes so that i get time to decide which questions to answer and how much time to spend on each answer! Usually you have so much information to write and so little time that it is rarely possible to write everything!!! This is a big issue! You seee you have to explain every thing you write! you cannot just write one word and move on as we do in making notes at home! At most places i did extremely bad handwriting due to lack of time and had no time to reread the answer paper. You almost get no time to change the pen you are using from one kind to another or to use blanco! I wonder in how many sentences, due to lack of time, i skipped words and made the sentence unintelligible! I can now only pray to God and wish this did not happen! In so many questions I had to depend on assuming examiner to know somethings already without me having to explain everything!!

i wish somebody could comment!!
aoa fahad the problems as u mention e.g
a-confusion n trouble in management of time for question
b-then problem in making urself equivocal n ur approach comprehensive in each question,
can be due to:
a- poor writing speed
b-stress
c-poor conceptual base
d-lack of self confidence
im optimistic if one work on these weak points,these issues can be addressed sucessfully.hope u have an opinion to share.
best regards
fahadfa (Tuesday, March 23, 2010)
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 176Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

rose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the rough
Smile What matters: Quantity or Quality

What you all seniors think, what matters in CSS exams

Quantity of pages written

or

Quality of the work.

My point is, if former is considered then definitely one will have problem in managing time and writing all what he has in mind about the specific question. However if the latter matters then one should give more concentration on making logical relations among what he writes.

So what is your opinion??????

Secondly could any body tell us that what type of pages are available to write on. Portrait or Landscape. And how many words, approximately, can be written on a page. Also plz guide that how many words a good answer of 20 marks should contain.

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

quality or quantity?
cmmon guys
its css
both are required and inter-dependent
let me explain 20 marks question
u need to write at least 20 points from different views.
1 point one paragraph
1 paragraph = 5-6 lines of 6-8 words in each line
1 page 2-3 paragraphs
20 paragraphs can be adjusted on 8-12 pages
now what matters is your presentation
if u make those 20 paras or points evident to examiner then good score is the result
problem lies either you know 20 points or less
either u can view from different perspectives or not
answer is just like essay outline u can judge from your points where do you stand
next problem is your style of expression
so quantity is going to be easy if you have quality.
best of luck
rose_pak (Wednesday, March 24, 2010), Shooting Star (Monday, March 22, 2010)

fahadfa is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by KAWISH View Post
aoa fahad the problems as u mention e.g
a-confusion n trouble in management of time for question
b-then problem in making urself equivocal n ur approach comprehensive in each question,
can be due to:
a- poor writing speed
b-stress
c-poor conceptual base
d-lack of self confidence
im optimistic if one work on these weak points,these issues can be addressed sucessfully.hope u have an opinion to share.
best regards
Yes dear Kawish, indeed i was very nervous especially in the essay paper. In the essay paper i was more nervous than you can think! And in other papers there were certain things I left not completely answered because of lack of time. For example remember there was one question in the Current Affairs paper on corruption: I managed to mention military takeovers as cause of corruption but could not mention british viceregal legacies, plus other things.

I think you have reason to be nervous, you have your whole life depending upon it, u c?

And yes i also think my writing speed is slow. I used ordinary ball piint because other pens could not write that fast!

Fahad F. A.
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

Originally Posted by rose_pak View Post
What you all seniors think, what matters in CSS exams

Quantity of pages written

or

Quality of the work.

My point is, if former is considered then definitely one will have problem in managing time and writing all what he has in mind about the specific question. However if the latter matters then one should give more concentration on making logical relations among what he writes.

So what is your opinion??????

Secondly could any body tell us that what type of pages are available to write on. Portrait or Landscape. And how many words, approximately, can be written on a page. Also plz guide that how many words a good answer of 20 marks should contain.

Well, deadlydoctor is for sure right...
In css quality with quantity matters but sometimes, it so happens that you can not expand the matter of answer you have which is purely authentic like in law subjects....then in that case you can use techniques like....Giving more headings and dividing answer in different sub headings portions and even by giving outline at the start....

So there are plenty of ways to tackle examiner in css, its not a tough case when you appear in exam centre, managing quantity is easy and quite convenient rather quality

so my advice would be to manage QUALITY plz.....

aneeqa is on a distinguished road

i dnt know wt will happen :-) .. as b4 papers we think that we will do this and this.. but really telling u i couldnt make introduction well of any Q as i was thinking i would make.. the analysis which i have made is that one should prepare well b4 exam.. make out lines on each topic of every subject and then during exam only read tht outlines and sleep well...as it is a test of nerves..only u have to tackle this exam by maintaining ur nerves..complete ur stdy b4 exam.. and during exam only read that out lines of every subject...as the only prblm which i faced i couldnt sleep well and due this reason i couldnt remain fresh.. although i tried hard to do well and i did well also..hope ALLAH will help me ..plz pray for all of us..but literally it was really really gud experience..
my best wishes are with all of u guys, those have taken exam and those are going to enter in 2011..GUD LUCK
The Following User Says Thank You to aneeqa For This Useful Post:
rose_pak (Wednesday, March 24, 2010)