09:09 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Datesheets and Results > Previous CSS Results and Datesheets > CSS 2013 Exam

Old Monday, June 03, 2013

ashiq e hussain is on a distinguished road
Default Ce 2013 share ur experiences

those who appeared in CE 2013 best of luck guys .
what u guys expecting this year .
which subjects would be stricktly checked ?
this attempt proved to be analytical , what do seniors think about thE next attempt ( CE 2014 ) would it also proved to be analytical or conventional ? ? ?
The Following User Says Thank You to ashiq e hussain For This Useful Post:
madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013)
Old Tuesday, June 04, 2013

hsmraza is on a distinguished road

Thank you for the good wishes.
I appeared in CE 2013 for my first attempt. Overall it was not an easy going journey but at the same time the learning experience and knowledge acquired weighs much more. The most important factor for a CSS aspirant, in my view, is MOTIVATION. I used to hear this from seniors but i experienced the fact that there are countless new concepts and ideas i had to grasp and sometimes i felt exhausted. Only thing that helped me keep the focus and come back back strong was motivation.
As mentioned in the post most of the papers demanded analytical approach. In my view this trend will be carried forward in next attempts (2014 onwards), as it seems a delebrate strategy to dicrourage cramming and incourage conceptual understanding of subject matters.
In reply to the strictly checked subjects, i am expecting changes in marking style due to analytical approach in exams. So, this time it would be hard to predict which subjects would be marked strictly. However, frequently chosen subjects including psychology, sociology, geography and history subjects can get thorough attention of examiners.

Remember me in your prayers
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hsmraza For This Useful Post:
ashiq e hussain (Thursday, August 01, 2013), khAdijAA (Wednesday, September 11, 2013), LonelyEngineer (Tuesday, July 30, 2013), madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013)

Arooje Nasir is on a distinguished road

CE-2013 is my first attempt.... and I experienced many things
1: no cramming, study everything conceptually,
2:develop analytical skills
3: never skip any topic
4:increase your writing speed
5:one should learn how to manage time
6: don't take stress because this is not the last exam of life
7: choose subjects which you prepare easily don't run after scoring subjects because CSS is unpredictable
8:try to write neat and present your paper in a good way because when examiner will check you will be not present infront of him but your good presentation will be there which will help examiner to assess you
9:read all questions carefully,jaldi mein bh kam kharab ho jaty hain
I made many blunders in current affair and eds paper because I was in hurry to complete paper
10:keep your mind calm and open
11: don't give attention to other things happening in center which will disturb you and you will loose your concentration then

Talking ab CE-2014
What I think it will be more unpredictable because most of us will prepare according to pattern we saw in 2013... but may be this time they will make new strategy ....
but what I think in almost all subjects try to prepare topics which never came in exam repeatedly because they are changing trend slowly each year now new questions and topics appear in papers.. and the previous trend in which topics use to be repeated with few changes is no seen in subjects like psychology, sociology, geography etc

This year science subjects will fetch good marks to students like

forestry ( two questions were repeated from 2012, and two questions were given from the same chapter, and rest of he questions were also very easy, and topics which were core of forestry paper were no even touched)
Agriculture, chemistry paper were also very easy

for those who studied sociology and psychology conceptually can get good marks still.... incase they have good analytical approach

talking about compulsory subjects:

current affair was easy indeed same old kashmir issue was there, terrorism, extremism, Arab Spring, political parties success and failures about which anyone can write easily, bu don't forget just writing your opinions is not sufficient in current affair , opinion should be based on actual and real facts.

Pak Affair shocked many students because questions were some how out of course no one studied details about press and media that helped muslims during independence struggle for pakistan, questions were taken from islamic history rather than pak affair course .... selection of questions and the way it has been attempted will decide marks

EDS: MCQ's were easy for students with biological background, but a changing trend can also be seen in EDS because two/ three questions were based on general knowledge of current science issues we are facing, and topics which use to be repeated every year were not there

ENG ESSAY:
was very easy because many general topics were there.... I think it will not fetch good marks this year because most of us wrote on general issues.... there were no current topics present.

ENG Comp: those who did correct incorrect and direct indirect could get good marks because distribution of marks was changed this year so lets see how this will work

thats it for now
hope these points will help you to evaluate CE-2013 resul
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Arooje Nasir For This Useful Post:
ashiq e hussain (Thursday, August 01, 2013), Descendant of Saul (Sunday, June 09, 2013), madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013), qqurat (Wednesday, September 11, 2013)

ashiq e hussain is on a distinguished road

what i experienced in CE 2013 is that time management is the actual obstacle in the way of attempting any paper
secondly just be confident and keep in mind that you and your answer is certainly right .
overall papers were interesting but pakistan affair and sociology papers were little bit difficult .however senior teachers of lahore already claimed that large amount of candidates would flunk in essay paper (Allah na kare ) .
Furthermore we can not denounce the fact that essay is hard nut to crack .

thank you hamza and urooje
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ashiq e hussain For This Useful Post:
madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013), qqurat (Wednesday, September 11, 2013)
Old Sunday, June 09, 2013
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 131

aminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura aboutaminshah101 has a spectacular aura about
Thumbs up CSS 2013: My 2nd but last attempt..

Well, CSS 2013: my second but last attempt as I would overage for my 3rd .

Unlike 2012, I got around 45 days at my disposal (courtesy my job in SNGPL this time around) but due to the arrival of my elder brother, bhabi and nieces, I got hell busy and hence, 20 days were occupied by them. So I started off on 29 January 2013.

This time around, the books were already found, the errors were corrected. But the mistake I committed was to be out of touch from books since CSS 2012 written.

The prep was comparatively more planned this time around but 25 days is still not much of a time.

Time passed and exams came in. I prepared three Essays this time around: Good Governance, Global Warming, Why Democracy Fails in Pakistan.

When Essay paper came, I came out as a SHOCKER . None of them came. Khair, I managed to attempt Country Life is better than City Life and tried to express my opinion. Keeping my fingers crossed regarding that. . But I feel hopeful....

The Precis paper was unexpected but not as much as Essay. Except vocabulary (which was a nightmare and I got only 12 right), rest was ok.

Everyday Science paper puzzled me a lot due to the unexpected type and I got my entire 100 minutes utilized for Objective. However, I attempted the paper completely and got 38 objectives and 4 questions completely right .

Current Affairs: the nightmare of 2012 turned out to be the opposite of what happened in 2012. All 4 questions attempted nicely and 16 objectives correct.

Pakistan Affairs: 10 objectives right and 4 questions attempted well

Islamiyat: 10 questions right and all 5 questions attempted nicely

Now the time of optionals came:

Journalism: 18 MCQs correct with 4 questions attempted well

Indo Pak: Keeping in mind the pattern, the paper came as a flip side. Balban for 4th consecutive year . Paper I went better than 2. Overall, 26 MCQs correct and out of 8 cumulative questions, 6 and a half questions were nicely attempted. Overall, nothing missed out in both papers.

Business AdL: Extremely puzzled during the start of the paper. In the first hour, it appeared as if I don't know anything. But by the Grace of Allah, attempted 2 numerical questions from Finance and both turned out to be correct hence ensuring 40 marks from Finance . These, coupled with 19 correct MCQs ensure a high score, agar headings daikh kar paper check karnay ka riwaaj na hua to .

Forestry: Again a U-turn in paper. 3 questions from Wildlife. I attempted 2 of them and wanted to attempt 3rd one too, but then replaced it with Short Notes to minimize the risk. Got 17 MCQs correct.

Statistics: The last paper but another most critical paper besides Business Ad. Pressure was immense as Stats was opted by me to act as a trump card. It further increased when 4 people left the hall in first 30 minutes.

Got 17 or 18 MCQs correct. Contrary to my attempt in 2012, I attempted all 5 numerical questions this time around and unlike 2012, did not leave any question. Except for two sub-part (2 marks each), got all questions correct Masha Allah. Hopeful for a quite high score as in Business Ad.

However, almost all questions had Part (a) as descriptive questions, ranging from 2 to 4 marks so cannot guarantee my score in them.

Thats about papers.

The differentiating point this time around was that I used to checked my MCQs from the internet and other books right after my paper, which gave me an idea of the position where I stood.

On a personal note, my intuition says that barring Essay, all the other papers of mine went well when compared to previous attempt of 2012.

All I need is Countless Blessings, Mercy and Kindness from Allah Almighty, prayers of family members, and best wishes of my peers out here. .

If the Will of Allah is not otherwise, I personally believe that Insha Allah, my result of CSS 2013 would be better than that in CSS 2012..

Rest upon Allah and on the human side, the Examiners .
Ahmed Faisal (Tuesday, June 11, 2013), ashiq e hussain (Thursday, August 01, 2013), behzad hussain (Tuesday, June 11, 2013), Imrantm (Wednesday, September 11, 2013), madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013), qqurat (Wednesday, September 11, 2013)
Old Tuesday, June 11, 2013

mikafridi is on a distinguished road
Smile My Experience of CSS 2013

Dear Aspirants and Candidates...
Salam!
I would like to share the unforgettable experience of 2013 attempt and the dilemmas I went through the process...
After the completion of my postgraduate qualification in February 2012, I had it in my mind to appear in the competitive exams, be it CSS or PMS. My circumstances allowed me to take the decision of appearing in 2013.
As I had an interest in these exams so I had been collecting relevant information about the syllabus and the subjects. For further guidance I decided to join an academy. I had selected my optional subjects prior to joining the academy and had already sunk into reading vaguely around the subjects.
As it was my first attempt therefore motivation and enthusiasm was on the peak. The atmosphere in the academy and fellow students added to the interest level.
Made a realistic strategy and study plan which was quite realistic considering the time available for preparation. A drift in preparation was acquired through the academy, teachers and fellow students in my accommodation (hostel).
Relevant syllabus was covered and revision was done accordingly. Throughout my preparation I kept focused on acquiring analytical writing skills. This was done through following the style of various analysts and mainly editors of various newspapers.
Covered the optional subjects first along with a compulsory subject of my own interest. The techniques of attempting papers was acquired through peers, teachers and past exam patterns... As per my nature, I did not over-burden my head just with studies. Treated myself with regular recreational activities (Dinning out, movies and family visits) now and then to keep my morale high. Other motivational factors played a massive role (family).
Then came the exams as referred to by a fellow member of the forum as 'Muqabilay ka Imtihaan' 2013...had a tight schedule for exams as not enough gaps. Therefore the final revision was tailored accordingly...

1)English Essay - Unpredictable! (No guessed topics) But aware of the nature of these exams and based of the generic preparation I attempted
GENDER EQUALITY IS A MYTH...(I have uploaded the rough outline in the essay section) Details can be found there!
2)Composition - attempted well! précis practice and comprehensive essay writing practice paid off... was aware of the blunders previously made by peers!
3) EDS
4) Current Affairs
5) Pakistan Affairs
6) Islamiat
7) Sociology
8) Journalism
9) Psychology 1 & 2
10) International Law
11) Pashtu
In short I would say is that the often predicted bookish papers were very general and the general papers were somehow bookish.
But if one had prepared the syllabus and taken a holistic approach to the areas of most subjects would have attempted well...
So hopeful but also would like to suggest that it is a process/project and once you have engulfed the myths and preconceptions and taken into it, you should be more motivated for the next attempt, not surpassing the fact that every attempt should be made as first and last (for beginners)!
It is achievable as per my experience...not yet achieved and awaiting results (in my case). The attempt itself is a brilliant learning experience and you will experience a boost to you confidence level once you have started the process. Do not be too harsh on yourself. Would rather suggest a slow start for beginners and pace could be picked up at a later stage. Be focused and keep treating yourself now and then for achievements such as completion of subject areas. Tackle it like an exercise for mind and body!
Please keep me in your prayers and Best of luck... Wassalam!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mikafridi For This Useful Post:
ashiq e hussain (Thursday, August 01, 2013), madiha alvi (Friday, September 06, 2013), qqurat (Wednesday, September 11, 2013)
Old Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Imrantm is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aminshah101 View Post
Well, CSS 2013: my second but last attempt as I would overage for my 3rd .

Unlike 2012, I got around 45 days at my disposal (courtesy my job in SNGPL this time around) but due to the arrival of my elder brother, bhabi and nieces, I got hell busy and hence, 20 days were occupied by them. So I started off on 29 January 2013.

This time around, the books were already found, the errors were corrected. But the mistake I committed was to be out of touch from books since CSS 2012 written.

The prep was comparatively more planned this time around but 25 days is still not much of a time.

Time passed and exams came in. I prepared three Essays this time around: Good Governance, Global Warming, Why Democracy Fails in Pakistan.

When Essay paper came, I came out as a SHOCKER . None of them came. Khair, I managed to attempt Country Life is better than City Life and tried to express my opinion. Keeping my fingers crossed regarding that. . But I feel hopeful....

The Precis paper was unexpected but not as much as Essay. Except vocabulary (which was a nightmare and I got only 12 right), rest was ok.

Everyday Science paper puzzled me a lot due to the unexpected type and I got my entire 100 minutes utilized for Objective. However, I attempted the paper completely and got 38 objectives and 4 questions completely right .

Current Affairs: the nightmare of 2012 turned out to be the opposite of what happened in 2012. All 4 questions attempted nicely and 16 objectives correct.

Pakistan Affairs: 10 objectives right and 4 questions attempted well

Islamiyat: 10 questions right and all 5 questions attempted nicely

Now the time of optionals came:

Journalism: 18 MCQs correct with 4 questions attempted well

Indo Pak: Keeping in mind the pattern, the paper came as a flip side. Balban for 4th consecutive year . Paper I went better than 2. Overall, 26 MCQs correct and out of 8 cumulative questions, 6 and a half questions were nicely attempted. Overall, nothing missed out in both papers.

Business AdL: Extremely puzzled during the start of the paper. In the first hour, it appeared as if I don't know anything. But by the Grace of Allah, attempted 2 numerical questions from Finance and both turned out to be correct hence ensuring 40 marks from Finance . These, coupled with 19 correct MCQs ensure a high score, agar headings daikh kar paper check karnay ka riwaaj na hua to .

Forestry: Again a U-turn in paper. 3 questions from Wildlife. I attempted 2 of them and wanted to attempt 3rd one too, but then replaced it with Short Notes to minimize the risk. Got 17 MCQs correct.

Statistics: The last paper but another most critical paper besides Business Ad. Pressure was immense as Stats was opted by me to act as a trump card. It further increased when 4 people left the hall in first 30 minutes.

Got 17 or 18 MCQs correct. Contrary to my attempt in 2012, I attempted all 5 numerical questions this time around and unlike 2012, did not leave any question. Except for two sub-part (2 marks each), got all questions correct Masha Allah. Hopeful for a quite high score as in Business Ad.

However, almost all questions had Part (a) as descriptive questions, ranging from 2 to 4 marks so cannot guarantee my score in them.

Thats about papers.

The differentiating point this time around was that I used to checked my MCQs from the internet and other books right after my paper, which gave me an idea of the position where I stood.

On a personal note, my intuition says that barring Essay, all the other papers of mine went well when compared to previous attempt of 2012.

All I need is Countless Blessings, Mercy and Kindness from Allah Almighty, prayers of family members, and best wishes of my peers out here. .

If the Will of Allah is not otherwise, I personally believe that Insha Allah, my result of CSS 2013 would be better than that in CSS 2012..

Rest upon Allah and on the human side, the Examiners .
Thanks for sharing your experience.
(1) English Composition Paper: Kindly suggest any good book for vocabulary.
(2) EDS Paper: Please share your strategy for EDS MCQs including Book for MCQs.

qqurat is on a distinguished road

thanks seniors for sharing your experience as it adds a lot to our knowledge! best of luck for your results I hope all of you get through it with flying colors !
do pray for us as well, hope we learn from your mistakes and try to avoid them in exams !
I would like to quote here something which I guess fits best on CSS
KNOW YOUR ENEMY KNOW YOURSELF , IN 100 BATTLES YOU WILL NEVER BE DEFEATED
IF IGNORANT OF BOTH YOURSELF AND YOUR ENEMY, YOU ARE SURE TO BE DEFEATED IN EVERY BATTLE.

soft rock is on a distinguished road
Default thanks@ all for sharing your xperiences

A.O.A.......

The experience of ce-2013 for me proved to be enough novice. Practice makes a man perfect. My first attempt left me with mistakes at times of the exam. Hopeful and absolutely positive for the current results of ce-2013 but still great room for improvement i see in ce-2014 inshallah. Still have two more chances by the grace of almighty allah. May God bless me with a perfect attempt next time. AAMEEN.

now the story of ce-2013,

Firstly the omr sheet , very simple to use as answer sheet , but throughout the exam at times even the answers very easy & i was fairly certain about them, but still picked the wrong options, Might be it was due to being anxious about the exam or then the circles of OMR sheets were very minute to create confusion. So be carefull my fellows of ce-2014 about this point.

Secondly the greatest blunder was to not find an opportunity even for a single paper to recheck the attempted paper( answers)., so, it turned out that pre-planning about the length of the intended answers is a must factor to take into our account for the written exam.

Thirdly....
Essay paper was a great experience to attempt The topic " NOT ECONOMY BUT POLITICS IS A KEY TO SUCCESS" , Which i have depicted with details in another thread. Though critics were head-up against it, but still i m fairly convinced that it was a better attempt, Nevertheless there is always room for improvement.

Precis & Composition Seven MCQs were correct out of twenty, The rest of the paper was not bad......calculated 55 expected marks.

Everyday Science 37 MCQs were correct and Four Question were well attempted with the definitions of Global warming and biotechnology as the fifth question in part two.

Current affairs 17 MCQs correct, Four question attempted enough well,

Pakistan AFFAIRS 17 MCQs correct, three long questions.

Islamiyat outstanding paper with 20 MCQS correct , fascinating long answers , as per my experience.

Pashto 10 MCQs correct and the rest of the paper was grasped with good approach.

Sociology 17 MCQs correct , and three long questions, One question thought i could attempt, Better than the other three but due to shortage of
time i got hammerd by luck here.

Psychology 1 & 2 Exactly like islamiyat paper with 40 MCQs correct. Decorated long ansers with quotations.

Zoology 1 & 2 34 MCQs correct, paper one was attempted with a lack of fifteen marks....questions. However the rest of the paper ,which i attempted of 85 marks, was a compact paper and condensed paper. Paper 2 was very easy and the standard of this paper was a redicule for aspiants since it was a F.Sc Level paper. ...........Maashaa-allah for the first enough good experience . Thanks Alot.

VetDoctor (Wednesday, September 11, 2013)

Bonaparte is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by soft rock View Post
A.O.A.......

The experience of ce-2013 for me proved to be enough novice. Practice makes a man perfect. My first attempt left me with mistakes at times of the exam. Hopeful and absolutely positive for the current results of ce-2013 but still great room for improvement i see in ce-2014 inshallah. Still have two more chances by the grace of almighty allah. May God bless me with a perfect attempt next time. AAMEEN.

now the story of ce-2013,

Firstly the omr sheet , very simple to use as answer sheet , but throughout the exam at times even the answers very easy & i was fairly certain about them, but still picked the wrong options, Might be it was due to being anxious about the exam or then the circles of OMR sheets were very minute to create confusion. So be carefull my fellows of ce-2014 about this point.

Secondly the greatest blunder was to not find an opportunity even for a single paper to recheck the attempted paper( answers)., so, it turned out that pre-planning about the length of the intended answers is a must factor to take into our account for the written exam.

Thirdly....
Essay paper was a great experience to attempt The topic " NOT ECONOMY BUT POLITICS IS A KEY TO SUCCESS" , Which i have depicted with details in another thread. Though critics were head-up against it, but still i m fairly convinced that it was a better attempt, Nevertheless there is always room for improvement.

Precis & Composition Seven MCQs were correct out of twenty, The rest of the paper was not bad......calculated 55 expected marks.

Everyday Science 37 MCQs were correct and Four Question were well attempted with the definitions of Global warming and biotechnology as the fifth question in part two.

Current affairs 17 MCQs correct, Four question attempted enough well,

Pakistan AFFAIRS 17 MCQs correct, three long questions.

Islamiyat outstanding paper with 20 MCQS correct , fascinating long answers , as per my experience.

Pashto 10 MCQs correct and the rest of the paper was grasped with good approach.

Sociology 17 MCQs correct , and three long questions, One question thought i could attempt, Better than the other three but due to shortage of
time i got hammerd by luck here.

Psychology 1 & 2 Exactly like islamiyat paper with 40 MCQs correct. Decorated long ansers with quotations.

Zoology 1 & 2 34 MCQs correct, paper one was attempted with a lack of fifteen marks....questions. However the rest of the paper ,which i attempted of 85 marks, was a compact paper and condensed paper. Paper 2 was very easy and the standard of this paper was a redicule for aspiants since it was a F.Sc Level paper. ...........Maashaa-allah for the first enough good experience . Thanks Alot.

Very nice.Kindly tell me what kind of quotations you have used in Psychology Paper? Dont you think those candidates having background of Zoology or medical had an edge over rest of candidates?Thank You.