03:07 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Wednesday, March 04, 2015

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by daniyalahmed View Post
I don't think the panel customizes questions according to your background. However, I do believe that they are not testing your knowledge. They are trying to gauge your ability to handle pressure. I'm an ordinary MBA and nothing special.

Please pray for me, as there is many a slip between cup and lip.
Daniyal, I have been following the interviews for a long time.I have never seen technical questions from economics/finance being posed to people who do not have a background in these fields.
Old Thursday, March 05, 2015

murtaza27 is on a distinguished road

spot on getting 700+ but failing does not allow you to pass judgment on people who have scored a bit less but managed to clear the best example i can quote here is arslan shahzeb 42 ctp scored 700 in written and only 100 in interview merit#106 where as fazle rabi 42 ctp scores 660+ but managed to get 230 in interview merit #8

Shahmir Lakho is on a distinguished road

I want to ask if interview panel ask question about Nawaz sharif, Zardari, Imran khan or Taliban then what should be our answer? Diplomatic or what we think of them?

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

I am not a very ambitious person. Moreover, for me allocation is more important than securing a top notch group. This paradigm may be construed as defensive, however, on another level it can also be judged as realistic.
I think it's a good approach.I tried that in 2012. Didn't work for me but main reason was I am extremely straight forward. So when I try to be prudent, I suck at that!

You on the other hand appear to be mature and balanced. I think it goes well with you, this approach as I put it -being optimistic and somewhat diplomatic, it's a good one. But again this is the most common approach in CE interview as well.

To me your interview stands out more because of depth of your answers. You demonstrated that you understand your field and if they allocate you, you have some real skills to offer.

I don't think the panel customizes questions according to your background. However, I do believe that they are not testing your knowledge. They are trying to gauge your ability to handle pressure. I'm an ordinary MBA and nothing special.
I agree with that. Interview can take any course. It's just luck that someone gets to play to his/her strengths, that happened to you. Same happened to me this time and I am utterly thankful to God for that. Last time they were asking me about politics and I was like- 'Kill me!' I have no interest in politics, if asked I would give a layman's answer but if asked about forces I know what I am talking about. So quality of your responses vary depending on what are you being asked.
The Following User Says Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015)

RMKamran will become famous soon enough
Default @ Miss Artemis

Mam, I am nobody to comment on your interview but one thing is assured that it seems you did not confuse or get panic at any stage and that would certainly add sugar to your marks, IAT.

Your approach towards life is really optimistic and at the same time, the way you beautifully made friendly conversation with the panel shows the charisma of your personality. It would certainly be very beneficial both for your professional and personal life. I wish everyone a warm best of luck and kindly pray for me as well.

Stay blessed.
Artemis (Friday, March 06, 2015)
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 27

daniyalahmed is on a distinguished road

Let me clarify a couple of points. To begin with, clearing competitive examination is not a criteria to judge the competence of an individual. I have seen pretty ordinary people qualify, contrarily, many able people do not even consider civil services as a worthwhile career. I am saying this out of experience.

Apart from managing to clear CE - 2014 written examination, I have already secured Fulbright scholarship. Now, the credentials of people who bag this prestigious award are immaculate to say the least. Moreover, most of them are not even aware of the CE. Likewise, the scope of this service is limited to Pakistan only,however, people with global ambitions opt for other alternatives. Most people from humble backgrounds perceive civil services to be a short cut for social success. Sadly, very few people take the exam to ameliorate the sufferings of teeming masses.

CE process needs reform that is why people are clamoring for change. Do you know, in some parts of the world civil services has been completely phased out? Do you know that our cram oriented examination system has been replaced by other more effective examination systems such as GRE and GMAT that capture analytic abilities? Why MEPCO, LESCO, FIA, NAB, LDA and a hundred other departments are recruiting people based on NTS? Do we need people who study Arabic, Persian, Punjabi, Pushto, Islamic History or we need people who are proficient in Public Policy formulation and implementation? Are Persian or Arabic even relevant to our society, leave alone Civl Services? With this yardstick how can you assess that a 'chosen' candidate is indeed suited for public service?

I have better alternatives but still I will opt for CSS, if given a chance by god almighty. This is because I believe that people are to be served. I am from people and unto this soil, I shall return. However, my own goals are secondary. Tragically, this mindset is scarce. Clearing CSS is more important, opting for relevant subject is less important. What a tragic irony!

I would also like to add that there is no point in arguing. All members of this group are honorable people. Furthermore, we may have differences but 'ego' should not dictate our reactions, rather love, consideration and regard should serve as guiding light. Let us pursue knowledge, Let us appreciate intelligence and above all let us tolerate difference.

My best wishes are for those who will take the interview. May the best person who can serve people be selected.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to daniyalahmed For This Useful Post:
alirazakh (Thursday, May 07, 2015), bilalrhd (Tuesday, March 10, 2015), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, March 06, 2015), Faisal86 (Monday, March 23, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015), imrancl (Thursday, March 05, 2015), Introuvable fella (Thursday, March 05, 2015), mhz99 (Thursday, March 05, 2015), Zeerain shah (Saturday, April 11, 2015)
46th CTP (CTG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 180

gintino is on a distinguished road

But I disagree with the point that you made regarding the nature of the examination. If you want to induct someone into, say, Foreign Service, assessing him/her on a GRE-based is uncalled for. You need to test their language skills, analytical reasoning on a host of issues and how powerfully they can articulate feelings and expressions.

And yeah, CSS is not totally cram-based. Even now, the compulsories subjects screen the candidate because the marker mark you on your intellect, and not on your presentation and writing wonders. And well, yeah, you may miss out on a top allocation if you don't choose your optionals wisely.
The Following User Says Thank You to gintino For This Useful Post:
daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015)

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

Let me clarify a couple of points. To begin with, clearing competitive examination is not a criteria to judge the competence of an individual. I have seen pretty ordinary people qualify, contrarily, many able people do not even consider civil services as a worthwhile career. I am saying this out of experience.

Apart from managing to clear CE - 2014 written examination, I have already secured Fulbright scholarship. Now, the credentials of people who bag this prestigious award are immaculate to say the least. Moreover, most of them are not even aware of the CE. Likewise, the scope of this service is limited to Pakistan only,however, people with global ambitions opt for other alternatives. Most people from humble backgrounds perceive civil services to be a short cut for social success. Sadly, very few people take the exam to ameliorate the sufferings of teeming masses.

CE process needs reform that is why people are clamoring for change. Do you know, in some parts of the world civil services has been completely phased out? Do you know that our cram oriented examination system has been replaced by other more effective examination systems such as GRE and GMAT that capture analytic abilities? Why MEPCO, LESCO, FIA, NAB, LDA and a hundred other departments are recruiting people based on NTS? Do we need people who study Arabic, Persian, Punjabi, Pushto, Islamic History or we need people who are proficient in Public Policy formulation and implementation? Are Persian or Arabic even relevant to our society, leave alone Civl Services? With this yardstick how can you assess that a 'chosen' candidate is indeed suited for public service?

I have better alternatives but still I will opt for CSS, if given a chance by god almighty. This is because I believe that people are to be served. I am from people and unto this soil, I shall return. However, my own goals are secondary. Tragically, this mindset is scarce. Clearing CSS is more important, opting for relevant subject is less important. What a tragic irony!

I would also like to add that there is no point in arguing. All members of this group are honorable people. Furthermore, we may have differences but 'ego' should not dictate our reactions, rather love, consideration and regard should serve as guiding light. Let us pursue knowledge, Let us appreciate intelligence and above all let us tolerate difference.

My best wishes are for those who will take the interview. May the best person who can serve people be selected.
Beautifully written,Daniyal.However, I disagree with you on one or two counts : a) USEFP mainly looks for well-rounded people with varied interests.I know of people with ordinary grades at their undergraduate degree getting Fulbright for Masters at ivy league universities.If someone is weak in academics,he or she can bolster his credentials by some solid work experience and vice versa. b) Oriental languages like Arabic and Persian have their place in today's world.Persian in particular is a treasure trove of eternal truths.Books of Sheikh Saadi and Rumi are guiding lights for today's youth.

I completely agree with you that qualifying CSS writtene exam is not a criterion to judge someone's intellectual abilities.The system is inherently flawed.Paper checking especially in English Essay and Precis exams is whimsical. Hats off to you for not letting your success in CE 2014 written exam get into your head-unlike some others' ,who admonish us" non qualifiers " when there interviews are commented upon.

With every passing year more and more graduates of foreign universities are trying their luck at CSS.Even Oxbridge and Harvard graduates are sitting for CSS.TV serials like Zindagi Gulzar Hai have glamourised the civil services.A large number of foreign university graduates who come back to Pakistan take CSS atleast once.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Wheeler For This Useful Post:
daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015), imranazeem (Saturday, March 21, 2015), RMKamran (Friday, March 06, 2015)
Old Friday, March 06, 2015
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 27

daniyalahmed is on a distinguished road

Without drawing myself into an argument, I would highlight a couple of points to further this stimulating and highly constructive debate. For starters, a doctor is supposed to study medicine, Likewise, an engineer is assumed to be adept in his vocation. In this era of specialization and compartmentalization generic subjects would not do us any good. This obsolete and archaic method has definite drawbacks. Consider a doctor, after years of education and practical experience is in a position to administer drugs. The purpose is to cure the malady afflicting the patient.

Take this argument forward, society itself is a body. Unlike us, it's constituents are not cells but human beings. Their collective efforts make a society vibrant. Similarly, negativity can lead to decay and rot. Now, a civil servant is just like a doctor, who diagnosis the maladies afflicting society. if, we just juxtapose my previous example of a physician, we would realize that we need specialists who can cure the troubles menacing social order. How can a doctor be a good doctor, if he studies Persian? I've never seen a doctor practicing his craft and boasting about his Arabic skills. Conversely, they show their FPCS, FRCS and MBBS degrees that are solely related to their work. This was my point. I have reverence for Rumi, Saadi and Firdosi but this does not mean that as a doctor, I would read them. My inspirations need to be harvey and Jenner.

Finally, I would like to clarify another point. When CSS examination is taken, the candidates do not know about their allocated group. Therefore, a general test assessing their qualitative, quantitative and analytical skills would be more relevant. Today's world involve interpretation of data, statistics and numbers. Tragically, there is scant effort to incorporate numbers in the testing criteria. Someone said, the illiterates of the world are those, who can't interpret numerical data. Furthermore, qualitative skills would address the ability to comprehend ideas. Why should I worry about the events in Timbuktu, when I have other pressing issues in my own homeland? Why should I read history, when time and again it is proven that history is subjective? Why should I waste my time in oriental languages that are repository of archaic ideas and knowledge?

My friends, I have taken both the examinations, therefore, I feel it a moral responsibility to enlighten you. Moreover, it is my love viz. a viz. my nation that forces me to write these long messages. I might be wrong but my purpose is to follow truth. Truth is beautiful, even if it goes against my own vested interest, I shall not cringe or cower. What am I? Out of 200 million inhabiting our beautiful motherland, my existence is a mere dot. Mother earth is billion of years old, we are mere blip. This idea can inculcate a lot of humility in us, if we understand our restrictions.
The Following User Says Thank You to daniyalahmed For This Useful Post:
bilalrhd (Tuesday, March 10, 2015)
Old Friday, March 06, 2015

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Hello again, Friends and Foes!

As promised, here is the remaining part of my interview.

The one and only Mr. Wajid Rana- "So if we take you in PSP, till which rank do you think you can make with the attitude you have?" asked with a very witty smile.
I said, "Sir I have this friend of mine in PSP and some time back he was advising me- 'Don't go for police, you are a girl- kabhi tumhain DPO nhi lagain gae!' But the thing is there is nothing that I want to do in police and I can't do it being an ASP. And I think this is what makes police department very unique that you have so much margin to deliver. The very day I start my career, I will be in charge of a police station where a number of people will be coming everyday with their grievances, if I can play my part in bring justice to those who have been wronged with, I think that would suffice for me.
I am not joining to reform the whole department. It's not even something I am aiming at. And I have seen people when they are ASPs they say we don't have much power we will do something when we become SPs or SSPs, then they say when we become DIGs, then they become IGs and then they just retire without ever having done anything!"
(God! I really enjoyed not having any IG in panel this year, or I would have been thrown out of the room straight away after this answer- if not before)

He said, "Okay let's come to your hobbies, kick-boxing and kungfu! Why do you have so much aggression in your personality?"
I kinda laughed and said,"It has nothing to do with aggression, I was interested in martial arts and kick-boxing was the only kind of MA for which regular classes were being offered for girls here. And kung-fu is very slow, it has routines you have to do over and over again. Then I think I told him somelife history of my instructor, why I joined his club, what makes it unique, why wasn't I comfortable in any other clubs I visited.
Anyhow we came back to kick-boxing and I said ' but now when I am learning it, I really like it. I come back with sore muscles and it feels good. Because this is how you know that you are growing- you are pushing your limits!
(It was like saying- you suspect I am kinda psycho, let me just prove it! )

Anyhow he said, "You know what, we should take you in police and send you to Karachi!"
Now you people say I was non-serious, had I been non-serious I would have said- Wouldn't you love to see me neck and neck with gangs in Karachi, and then a Hollywood thriller could be based on my life (a short-lived one!)
But I didn't say that, instead I said, "Sir I would like to start my career form Baluchistan!" I never doubted for a second in my interview that I didn't have all the attention of the panel but that was the point I could see Lehri Sahab visibly turning, it was like- Did someone mentioned Baluchistan here?'

Anyhow I went on explaining that I have had my childhood in Quetta, how I feel connection to that land and fantasy that. But this preference has more to do with professional reasons. "people tell me - 'don't ever opt for Baluchisatn- wahan se wapis nhi ao ge' And I say if I do come back I will make some cop! " Then I explained that saying "Owing to security state in that region conditions are very tough for police. The officers work there while having continuous life threats and even attempts on their life . That's a lot of pressure to take. And they have to deal with LJ and sectarian militants. If I go there in start of my career and survive that working environment then serving in Punjab afterward or in any other place would be nothing for me!"
(And then you people know what Ma'am added to this about Punjab police by the end of interview, that was hilarious! )
I am running out of smileys limit for one post so let's take a break. Some mod will merge the posts anyway. This is what they are for! They too should feel useful!

@mods
You know I am kidding, right?

Originally Posted by RMKamran View Post
Mam, I am nobody to comment on your interview but one thing is assured that it seems you did not confuse or get panic at any stage and that would certainly add sugar to your marks, IAT.

Your approach towards life is really optimistic and at the same time, the way you beautifully made friendly conversation with the panel shows the charisma of your personality. It would certainly be very beneficial both for your professional and personal life. I wish everyone a warm best of luck and kindly pray for me as well.

Stay blessed.
Yeah I have never considered me over-confident as a very thoughtful and new found brother of mine labelled me, but at some level I do think over-confidence is what makes a CSP. CSPs in Pak have a history of being known for their over-confidence.

About the friendly and open conversation, I think it is essential-communication is always two way. So to perform well you have to make yourself comfortable in that environment and at the same time you have to retain the level of interest of the panel in your interview. Keeping it light helped otherwise it builds a lot of pressure. And I think Mr. Wajid Rana was really helping me keeping it light!
Even Ma'am Batool she is very open and concerned, always. She asks very informal questions at times.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
bilalrhd (Tuesday, March 10, 2015), daniyalahmed (Friday, March 06, 2015), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, March 06, 2015), RMKamran (Friday, March 06, 2015)