05:01 AM (GMT +5)

Old Thursday, May 13, 2010
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough

@CrownPrince
bro there r many complexities.itz not just the Police officers to be blamed.like all other departments, the govt has neglected reforming it.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 06:00 PM. Reason: Kindly stay focused on the topic of the thread
38th CTP (CEG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 50

S_Ranjha will become famous soon enough

Do think over following lines before u people criticize the Police next time

Workforce for Police in Pakistan is below 350,000 for a population of 170 million and a major chunk of that allocated for VIP security.

If someone of u will like to make a point that in Western countries workforce ration is even much low then also look at the tech edge they are having. For instance in London there is a security n surveillance camera for every 10 people.
Also look at the crime rate of those countries.
Police normally is meant to control general law n order situation nd not for something like WOT. Had this been the situation in any of ur idealized dream place in some well developed country of WEST, u might not be sitting here and making these comparisons

Okay let leave aside these comparisons. I can literally make dozens of them.
Let me put a very basic question to u people

How many of u will like to ur duty with full devotion and honesty when
U r being paid around 12000pm serving way remote of ur family and u r
being asked to
stand out dere on a roadside check post knowing fully that if you are
to intercept a suicidal attack, the best u can do is that u might make
going to his intended destination but dere is literally no chance of u
being able to survive that out

If informed of some security threat u start checking vehicles and there
builds up a queue, then even the very enlightened educated ppl like
me and u waiting out dere in queue are the first one to start abusing
them

Ur CM want to make a visit from CM house to Raiwind and back. A
Police bus drops u at some remote location alongside road at 7am
where u wont wont find even water to drink in a dia of 2,3 km. U
stand out dere in scorching sun in noon thirsty and hungry and
eventually CM finds his way back in eve and u start waiting for Bus
to pick u up. U go back to barracks and suddenly u come to know
a Federal Minister has decided to visit a culture show at PC and u
have again to wander on roads for whole night. Such 24 hrs shift r
common affair.

Oaky now u belong to Vehari, u r on duty in Lahore. U have been dere
for whole year, u made sure the safety of people going in and out of
city on Eids to meet dere ones without even finding a chance to see
see ur owns. Thats alright, it isnt a big enough sacrifice. Now u
r special duty to stand out dere alongside road to make sure the
safety of Some Foreign leader. U receive a call from ur home, back
where ur mother is suffering on a hospital bed. U try to contact
ur senior to get leave but he is all too bust at the moment to even
listen to u, so what u get is Loud "Shut Up and go back to ur duty".
U go back out dere, u again receive a call informing u that she is
breathing her last and want to see u. U sneak out from ur duty place
visit her. U r found missing from duty and suspended. So what if u
sacrificed ur Eids and all other family occasions, u shd have been
dere.

So u see that quite an easy job with a HUGE sum of 12000. Where else u ll find such luxuries. So just abolish it

You were not born a winner, and you were not born a loser. You are what you make yourself be.

sillent.killer will become famous soon enough

Police ordered by Supreme Court to close torture cells

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court observed on Thursday that people approached it because police treated them with such indignity that even the law of the jungle appeared comparatively fair.

“The situation is so alarming that there is no way out for the general public except to approach the Supreme Court,” said Justice Javed Iqbal, head of a three-judge bench that has taken up suo motu notice of reports of police torturing suspects outside the Bhawana police station in Chiniot.

“The rampant police torture, especially in Punjab and Sindh means dishonouring human dignity,” the judge observed.

The court directed the Punjab government to shut down private torture cells being run by police, make drastic changes in police training manuals, maintain strict discipline and hold senior police officers, including inspectors general, accountable.

The court also sought from the Punjab police a comprehensive report containing affidavits from police officers that there were no private torture cells in their areas of jurisdiction.

Taking notice of reports of police torture in Punjab, Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry had asked home secretaries, inspectors general of police and advocates general of the provinces to come up with comprehensive reports on such incidents.

During the proceedings, Punjab IG Tariq Saleem Dogar accused the media of creating tension between law-abiding citizens and God-fearing police officers. He said that moving outside in uniform had become embarrassing for police because people were “abusing them more than the Indian army”.

“We are moving towards anarchy,” he regretted and requested the court to take notice of the hype created by the media which, he said, should have fizzled out after action had been taken against delinquent officers.

The court told the IG that the main objective behind the exercise was not to demoralise police but to strengthen the department.

The job of police is to maintain law and order and it should itself restore its respect, Justice Tariq Parvez, a member of the bench, observed.

“There is no intention to criticise, but when there is a violation of Article 14 (inviolability of dignity of a man) of the Constitution the Supreme Court being custodian of the law and the Constitution cannot sit silent,” Justice Iqbal said. “Tell your police force not to obey illegal or unconstitutional orders,” he added.

The court asked the IG to issue show-cause notices to DIGs and SPs of areas where incidents of police torture had taken place.

“I am sure crimes will reduce by 50 per cent if police start showing efficiency,” Justice Iqbal said, adding that instead of media reports senior officers should get authentic reports from their own men.

“The Punjab government should create awareness among police officers about fundamental provisions of the Pakistan Procedure Code (PPC) and the Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC) and should also consider bringing amendments to the syllabus being taught at the Sihala Police Training Centre,” the judge observed.

The bench said it was perturbed over the level of tolerance in senior officers like inspectors general on such incidents and deplored that torture cells were still being operated in Punjab with impunity. “Why the Punjab government always takes ad hoc steps,” the bench asked. So many senior officers were sitting in the court, but none must have ever raided any police station to check such violations or incidents.

When Advocate General Khawaja Haris informed the court that the Punjab government had prepared a report about action taken against personnel responsible for the torture and recommendations had been made to amend CrPC and PPC, Justice Iqbal said that ‘thana culture’ would not end by these amendments.

“Ninety-five per cent police officers have no idea about fundamental provisions of CrPC and PPC and they do not even have slightest idea how to lodge FIR. Things will not improve unless political interference is cut by discouraging quotas meant for MNAs and MPAs,” Justice Iqbal said.

Situation would have been different today had recommendations of the Mitha Khan Commission (on police reforms) been implemented, the judge said.

Khawaja Haris said the Punjab government was planning to set up a monitoring committee and had drafted the Police Order 2010.

“It is not a practical measure,” Justice Sair Ali said, adding that the matter had again been sent to the committee and the result would again be nil.

The advocate general admitted that police torture was against the UN Human Rights Convention and Islamic teachings, but said that certain issues being faced by police, like frustration, because of the current situation were the result of such incidents.

“What frustration? You have to leave frustration home when you are wearing uniform,” Justice Iqbal said, adding that although salary of the Punjab police had been increased to bring them on a par with the Motorway police, there was no improvement in efficiency.

Islamabad IG Kaleem Imam informed the bench that police in the federal capital were adopting scientific way of employing forensics and hi-tech gadgets for investigation. When he stressed the need for a paradigm shift, Justice Sair observed that police needed to shift their orientation to service, from power, otherwise the entire system would collapse.

The court also summoned inspectors general of Balochistan and Sindh and adjourned the hearing for three weeks.
copied from dawn
Attached Thumbnails
problems faced by police in maintaining law and order.-police_608x325.jpg  
Provincial Civil Service
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,335 Times in 569 Posts
Xeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdom

@S Ranjha, we have good example of Army and Para-military forces in sense of performance, they are also not paid well but have better privileges than police. You have mentioned the total strength of police and compared it with total population of country, keep in mind that 17 million people are not criminals. Moreover, most of the cases and issues are solved arbitrarily.

How many of u will like to ur duty with full devotion and honesty when
U r being paid around 12000pm serving way remote of ur family . . . . . . . .
Karachi, Jan 17 (IANS) Some 25,000 candidates have applied for 5,000 vacancies of constables in the Sindh Police, and during the form submission process Sunday chaos broke out, forcing the police to baton charge the aspirants.
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/...100305409.html

Problems of police force mentioned by you are worth noting and they should be facilitated as more as possible to boost their performance. But these problems are not specific to their field; you can observe the pitiable life of laborers in Lahore and Karachi and certain other cities of Pakistan. They visit their hometowns after years and lead a miserable life. Joining police force is a passion of every youth who could not study after matriculation so there is not scarcity of people for joining police.

Police can do miraculous jobs provided that if they are pressurized. They perform well when they held accountable through Constitutional Petition or suo-moto actions in the apex court. I want to recall the case of Manu Bel – a family kidnapped for years and still missing whosoever, either DIG or DPO opens the file of that case, is transferred immediately. On the directives of Supreme Court, DIG Saleem Ullah Khan, sincerely followed the case and even recovered the vehicle used in the crime but after the imposition of emergency, DIG was send to Jail, case closed and family is still missing.

If we want to serve the nation then we should bear some difficulties. Did you ever hear that DIG or IGP lead the raid party? Police officers don’t interact with the people and all the matters are left on juniors. It is better to quit that force if we think it is risky job, there are many other opportunities get calm life. A Molve Shab told me that police patrolling at night, protecting people, is more preferable and worthy than offering the “salat-e-tahajud”.

No doubt there are good and well reputed personnel in police department but black sheep in the department have overshadowed the reputation of the department. Furthermore, there should be separate wings for specific purposes in police department e.g. Escort to VIPs should be dealt by separate wing and police stations should not be disturbed. However, if you want to observe the behavior of police personally visit the nearest customer center i.e. Police Station and your visit should be as a layman.
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough
Exclamation

@ supreme court order to police::

i dun think that the police are going to close these torture cells.pakistan police has no other option and available resources or technological access to find out the criminals except investigating in this manner.if supreme court has ordered the police department to close torture cells, then i can say just one thing that the Supreme Court must be able to provide justice to the people and stop corruption within itself and its session and high courts.there is so much corruption going on in the session courts and high courts that i dun think that it can be compared with any other department.is there any one to say to iftikhar choudhry about this very fact????? y does iftikhar choudhry pay no attention to this ignoble fact???????

if the criminals are not tortured and punished by the police, then there is no other department that may punish them.the courtz r highly corrupt.no real criminal gets any punishment for what they hv done.they r freed at bell after paying some bribe to the judges.itz all the travesty of justice going on in the courts.

Originally Posted by Crown Prince View Post
No doubt there are good and well reputed personnel in police department but black sheep in the department have overshadowed the reputation of the department. Furthermore, there should be separate wings for specific purposes in police department e.g. Escort to VIPs should be dealt by separate wing and police stations should not be disturbed. However, if you want to observe the behavior of police personally visit the nearest customer center i.e. Police Station and your visit should be as a layman.
i agree with u sir.
but i may tell u that this misdemeanor on the part of the police officers is just because of the presence of the unqualified and illiterate officers.there are many illiterate or just matric passed police officers at every police station .but this trend is ratcheting down as nowadays the qualified and well-educated police officers are being intaken. they are really cooperative.i myself has observed this.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 06:05 PM. Reason: Merged
38th CTP (CEG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 50

S_Ranjha will become famous soon enough

@S Ranjha, we have good example of Army and Para-military forces in sense of performance, they are also not paid well but have better privileges than police.
I do have gr8 respect for our Arm forces as well but here we were discussing police so avoided mentioning that.

You have mentioned the total strength of police and compared it with total population of country, keep in mind that 17 million people are not criminals. Moreover, most of the cases and issues are solved arbitrarily.
Sir 170 million are not criminals but i feel sad to say that most of our people whenever they ll see an opportunity ll feel quite happy to break the laws. Go to any traffic signal at 6-7am when there is no traffic warden out dere n see for urself how many people stop at red light even if most of them will not be in any hurry. And that im referring to ur metropolitans where people are supposed to be more educated,civilized and obedient to law. It is just coz we do not have well educated nd groomed nation. For instance talking of Karo Kari issue in most of Sindh, Baluchistan nd even in southern Punjab, how u suppose the police to prevent them when u,ve sitting ministers inside ur parliament who are defending it. Secondly such issues mostly nd other related to domestic violence are never curb by mere actions of police but rather by changing peoples mindset through different means. Same is the case of illegal trade of weapons in all the areas i mentioned above.

Karachi, Jan 17 (IANS) Some 25,000 candidates have applied for 5,000 vacancies of constables in the Sindh Police, and during the form submission process Sunday chaos broke out, forcing the police to baton charge the aspirants.
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/...100305409.html
True!! I would even believe a bigger number. But did u ever questioned them personally that how many of them would like to join police even if they are given an alternate. The figure is more appropriate to represent the menace of unemployment and worse economic condition of country rather than showing any zeal or passion to join police service.

Joining police force is a passion of every youth who could not study after matriculation so there is not scarcity of people for joining police.
Yeah there may be no scarcity but if u dont address the probs, there ll be no scarcity of the people who u call black sheep

Police can do miraculous jobs provided that if they are pressurized. They perform well when they held accountable through Constitutional Petition or suo-moto actions in the apex court. I want to recall the case of Manu Bel – a family kidnapped for years and still missing whosoever, either DIG or DPO opens the file of that case, is transferred immediately. On the directives of Supreme Court, DIG Saleem Ullah Khan, sincerely followed the case and even recovered the vehicle used in the crime but after the imposition of emergency, DIG was send to Jail, case closed and family is still missing.
So here is the prob which u have urself identified. But i would have like to start the sentence by saying that Police can do miraculous jobs provided they are not pressurized. The bad performance we usually associate with police has to do a lot with the pol pressure that is there 24/7. People might go in police with high ideals nd zeal to serve people but once or at the most 2,3 times u disobey that pol pressure and get suspended or transferred to some Mounjodaro as ur reward, then all that ideals go down n u learn to be a practical minded person So address these structural flaws in the system before going all out to criticize police or any other department for that purpose.

If we want to serve the nation then we should bear some difficulties. Did you ever hear that DIG or IGP lead the raid party?
I can consider ur proposal if u have said that ASP/DSP should lead the raid nd they often do. As far ur demand is concerned that a DIG or IG should be conducting raid parties that impractical. He has to look into other matters of much wider spectrum than this. Btw i would really like to know any agency,anywhere in the of world where officials of such higher posts go directly in the combat zone. what u r stating is that a Brig or General should be out dere in the combat field but i hardly heard of that even in Pak Army which has the highest ratio of officers to Jawans causalities

Note:: I am not refuting that there is no prob with our police department and they are all angels. Obviously like any other dept they do require a lot of over hauling and improvement. I took this opposite stance just coz all the people out dere were hell bent upon virtually bashing the police image aithout taking into account the other side of picture.

You were not born a winner, and you were not born a loser. You are what you make yourself be.
Provincial Civil Service
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,335 Times in 569 Posts
Xeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdom

Purpose of discussing armed forced was to compare their performance with police having same salary and privileges. All the problems mentioned by you regarding police are also encountered by them and para-military forces; they rather have tough life than police. If the people are uncivilized then all the arrangements and reforms in police department are useless. Education is a separate thing, in Afghanistan educational ratio is not higher than Pakistan but we have an example of Taliban’s regime when they established writ of state so strictly that shopkeepers had to left shops open and no one dare to commit theft.

In Saudi Arabia again law and order situation is better than Pakistan and reason is fear of punishment. When there is fear in the society to be punished for wrong done then there will be peace and low crimes rate. In our country powerful is exempted and weak is persecuted. One of my teachers in 2003 was allocated in DMG by his choice, earlier he had aptitude for PSP, he told me the reason for not joining PSP as, “I can’t survive in this department where weak are punished and powerful are escorted. Where a minor thief is treated dreadfully and powerful while collar thugs are highly respected and we have to salute them”.

The following story is true and I expect that jobs from police force:

In a village of Punjab a girl was kidnapped and sexually assaulted by son of a feudal lord. SP of the concerned district personally took the matter into his hands and feudal lord was satisfied with investigation because he approached the SP through his sources. Son of feudal lord was arrested on the pretext of protection and was investigated as other criminals.

When the chalan of case was submitted in the court, the lawyer of criminal and father were shocked that it was based on fact and no cover was provided despite the strong position of feudal lord. Even the criminal in a confessional statement to the court accepted the crime. During that days, SP was called by IGP and he was threatened as, “thum aag ke sath khel rhay ho, thumhare galay par jaega ye case it would be better to solve the case arbitrarily” SP spitted on the mouth of IGP and asked him, “ye teer, ye stars is din ke lea thum ne lagai thay”.

A 15th Commoner told me that story; he said we visited Police Darbar of IGP in Lahore and that SP told us the story by himself and he was PSP and denied promotions his batch mates were DIGs. Anyway, some people can show such courage, valor and boldness. Those who have the ambition to serve the mankind don’t care for safe future.

Thanked 1,143 Times in 374 Posts
DEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really niceDEADLYDOCTOR is just really nice

angrez k zamaney ki techniques or tareeqa kar abi tuk raij he police me.

compare military and police!
no match. no daily dealing of crime,no pressure from politicians, army men does not die on daily basis if not in war,
and the list goes on.

story thori ambiguous he or suni sunai he but anyway this is not a place to discuss this story,exceptions hoti he.

police ka to ye haal he "naukar ki te nakhra ki"

its like asking poor police department to do more without providing any kind of aid not even first aid.

how can police stop a crime before crime happens without any technology,forensic or investigation? (which major city has cameras to cover many roads or monitor activites,any department even a smaller one like this is not functioning anywhere)
majority are suspended for not maintaining peace and low crime rate.reaction to govt ki policies ka he.

agar ek akarta he to baqi be strong stance le. jo transfer hota he usk i jaga ache aadmi ko lagatey he jo qaeedey se chalta he. by qaeeda idid not mean al-qaeeda,police ka qaeeda maqssoood tha

SHO files more case and cannot find out crime ,to uski repu ki band buj jati he or zalalat afsaro se elahda
bari mushkil se dobara sho ship milti he.
to wo karte kya he case file nahi krte k apni repu bi achi rahe or naukri b chalti rahe . at the ned mujrim/criminal gets light punishment.

ap ka law to koi be follow nahi kr raha to police kaisey implement krwaye. wo be insaan he,kaha jaye.Supreme court ka faisla nahi mana ja raha to baki kya kahey? ravi sub chain likh raha he,lekin ravi to sookh chuka he,yani ravi ka qalam dan sokh chuka he,bhok or aflas ,ghurabt ne ravi ko kahi ka nahi chora.

light topic he,no offense meant
Old Friday, May 14, 2010

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all

We need a new Police force on the pattern of Motorways Police and if we cant afford to raise a new force then we need few ZULFIQAR CHEEMAS in the existing police force.
Old Saturday, May 15, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no

KAWISH will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
We need a new Police force on the pattern of Motorways Police and if we cant afford to raise a new force then we need few ZULFIQAR CHEEMAS in the existing police force.
aoa the approach of introducing entirely new force for maintaining law and order seems very attractive.but its spurious too, for where the existing force will go?or how this additional burden on the national exchequer would be managed? i agree that there should be a reshuffling in the packing order of police and its controling authorities,but then the issue of what can be that new effective order or system,is still hanging in the air unanswered....

anyhow the following material may creat mixed feelings for police,please share your opinions

Police callousness
Dawn Editorial
Friday, 14 May, 2010

When it comes to brutality and sheer callousness, the Punjab police have few peers in Pakistani officialdom. A force notorious for its inhumane treatment of alleged criminals as well as the public at large plumbed new depths on Wednesday when the Daska police took a critically injured rape victim on an extended tour of the town and its adjoining rural areas.

The seven-year-old girl — yes, you read the age right — had been fighting for her life in Lahore and doctors there were of the opinion that even the slightest of exertion could prove hazardous. Yet, despite her precarious condition and against doctor’s orders, she was transported from Lahore to Daska where an even bigger ordeal awaited her. Under the ‘supervision’ of police officers as high-ranking as the local DPO and SP, she was placed on a stretcher and taken to diverse areas where the assault may have taken place. The aim of this senseless and cruel exercise, carried out after the Punjab chief minister directed police officers to catch the culprits at the earliest, was to identify the crime scene. Given her condition and age, the girl was naturally unable to do so. Meanwhile her health deteriorated to the extent where she needed emergency aid.

It is clear that the officers handling this case are completely lacking in sensitivity, common sense and the skills needed for a professional investigation. They were told to act by the chief minister and, eager to please, they did so without any consideration for the plight of the victim. Instead of furthering the cause of justice, the Daska police nearly killed a child that has suffered unspeakable horrors. If top police officers can behave in this manner, what could be the calibre of the lower cadres? Police departments across the country are known for their collusion with criminals, harassment of the public, registration of false cases at the behest of influentials and for extracting ‘confessions’ through torture. But the Punjab police seem to be a breed apart whose mindset simply beggars belief. Urgent reform is in order to transform the force into protectors, not violators, of public rights.
http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/...ness-450-hh-04

Last edited by Princess Royal; Monday, May 17, 2010 at 09:00 PM.