01:54 PM (GMT +5)

Old Saturday, December 08, 2012

Cute Badshah has a spectacular aura aboutCute Badshah has a spectacular aura about

One would do nothing more than to lament on the order given by these judges of LHC. They have given the judgment regarding the construction of Dam on the consideration of CCI held back in 1991. These judges have forgotten that Issues of National importance are to be decided by the people of this country and by their representative members in the parliament, and NOT by the orders of the courts.

Chief Executive of present Government had unequivocally declare this project a dead horse, followed by an unanimous resolution against the construction of this Dam by the 3 legislative assemblies. Were the judges oblivion to these resolutions at the time of giving its controversial decision? A big question mark.

No one making this an Ethnic issue, not most of the people have technical knowledge of the so called Dam. But one thing is for sure, its a democratic era kindly left this matter to the people. If consensus built, Dam construction should be start on the very next day.

Dear Judges, You might have listened a word called National Consensus. When any issue becomes political it has to be decided by the Parliament. Don't repeat the '71 history in this country. We don't accept this Judicial Martial Law.
saleem2000 (Wednesday, December 12, 2012)

assassin007 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Cute Badshah View Post
One would do nothing more than to lament on the order given by these judges of LHC. They have given the judgment regarding the construction of Dam on the consideration of CCI held back in 1991. These judges have forgotten that Issues of National importance are to be decided by the people of this country and by their representative members in the parliament, and NOT by the orders of the courts.

Chief Executive of present Government had unequivocally declare this project a dead horse, followed by an unanimous resolution against the construction of this Dam by the 3 legislative assemblies. Were the judges oblivion to these resolutions at the time of giving its controversial decision? A big question mark.

No one making this an Ethnic issue, not most of the people have technical knowledge of the so called Dam. But one thing is for sure, its a democratic era kindly left this matter to the people. If consensus built, Dam construction should be start on the very next day.

Dear Judges, You might have listened a word called National Consensus. When any issue becomes political it has to be decided by the Parliament. Don't repeat the '71 history in this country. We don't accept this Judicial Martial Law.
Indeed. . . this issue should be resolved with mutual consent instead of one's personal view.
The Following User Says Thank You to assassin007 For This Useful Post:
saleem2000 (Wednesday, December 12, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,347 Times in 1,010 Posts
Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by assassin007 View Post
No not at all . . . . It isn't an ethnic issue neither i want to make it. . . I belong to sindh and own almost 100-150 acres of land for cultivation. From which less then 70 acres can be cultivated just because of water shortage. And from that 70 acres 20-30% crops aren't of any use due to climate conditions. We spent millions and get thousands in return. We don't get any subsidy or financial assistance by any of government sector. And our land is only source of income for us, from past few years we have not been able to grow something in plenty. I don't have any personal intentions regarding Kala Bagh's construction but please do not let our lands get barren. I'd mention many other sources to generate electricity which are 101% useful. Indians are stealing our water but even then our "Aman ki Asha" is alive. Try to achieve something on international level instead of national level. I invite you to my village and want you to listen voice of common people what they think about it. And take it in broader sense yesterday sindh assembly has passed resolution against kala bagh, and other two are also not in it's favor. For few M.W's of electricity don't block income of thousands.

With the construction of kalabagh dam no area of Pakistan will get barren for sure.It is just a propaganda of politicians and we all know how sincere they are with common people.

How come Punjab will stop anyone's water?It is a country,not someone's personal property that they will not allow others to enter in their territory.

Sindh is already getting 37% of share in water as well as punjab according to Indus Water Accord 1991 which was passed with consensus of all four provinces.And in the same accord,they also agreed upon making new dams.

The need for storages, wherever feasible on the Indus and other rivers was admitted and recognized by the participants for planned future agricultural development.
According to different surveys and reports if kalabagh dam is constructed,sindh alone will get 30 MAF additional water.Not only water storage capacity of pakistan will increase but it will make us self-sufficient in power supply.Our storage capacity of water which is 10-20% now will increase to more than 60%.Even bhasha and munda dam both cannot compete with kalabagh alone.Kalabagh dam will store the water of river kabul which is the major cause of recent flooding in Sindh and KPK whereas construction of bhasha and munda dam has nothing to do with flood restriction.They are too high and situated on different rivers.
I can show you numerous other studies highlighting the benefits of this dam for whole Pakistan.

Still,we cannot afford to make this one dam on the cost of our sovereignty and unity but it is not the right way to just make a statement,pass a resolution on such a big issue or pressurize others through demonstrations and protests.This shows dishonesty and malign of politicians towards larger national interest.They know if all the harees get relief and rid of their poverty,no one will give them votes.Our government must adopt a proper method i.e discussing this issue on relevant platforms such as the council of common interests to seek a proper solution.

We can't blame others when our own house is not in order.India will certainly try to manipulate our situation for its own benefit and she is already doing it by funding different groups here.Unfortunately,our media,who should create awareness in our masses regarding this issue,is not playing an effective role.Tarbella dam was also a controversial project.Small provinces had the same issues regarding it.Now how many problems tarbella has created for our nation so far?
alihashmatkhoso (Saturday, December 08, 2012), aniya warraich (Sunday, December 09, 2012), Arain007 (Saturday, December 08, 2012), Bostan (Tuesday, December 11, 2012), Erum Qureshi (Sunday, December 16, 2012), mohsanfiaz (Sunday, December 09, 2012), Mukarrum (Sunday, December 09, 2012), nightmare2011 (Saturday, December 08, 2012), pari Ali BNi (Monday, December 10, 2012), peacepakistan (Saturday, December 08, 2012)

alihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura about

2shooting star
With the construction of kalabagh dam no area of Pakistan will get barren for sure.It is just a propaganda of politicians and we all know how sincere they are with common people.

How come Punjab will stop anyone's water?It is a country,not someone's personal property that they will not allow others to enter in their territory.

Sindh is already getting 37% of share in water as well as punjab according to Indus Water Accord 1991 which was passed with consensus of all four provinces.And in the same accord,they also agreed upon making new dams.
for your kind information the main purpose of making kb is to generate electricity, do you know that?

then how you can say that no area of pakistan will get barren ?

you can say that no area of punjab will get barren....

fertile are of Sindh surely will get barren

further it is dead issue it can create riots in Pakistan, facing a lot of problems already, disintegration b/w provinces will be widened if this issue will supported by lhc. it will be a wise decision, to take decision back.... and cease it. for future..
saleem2000 (Sunday, December 09, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of

The main purpose of kalabagh dam is to increase our water storage capacity which in turn of course can be used to generate electricity as well.

then how you can say that no area of pakistan will get barren ?

you can say that no area of punjab will get barren....

fertile are of Sindh surely will get barren
I am saying this because i have ample evidence and statistics to justify my opinion.Kindly provide me all the statistics and logical facts according to which sindh will get barren.Please,i want to see them.

further it is dead issue it can create riots in Pakistan, facing a lot of problems already, disintegration b/w provinces will be widened if this issue will supported by lhc. it will be a wise decision, to take decision back.... and cease it. for future..
No sane person would create riot on a dead issue.Why all the politicians are taking so much interests if it is a dead issue?
aniya warraich (Sunday, December 09, 2012), Erum Qureshi (Sunday, December 16, 2012), Mukarrum (Sunday, December 09, 2012), pari Ali BNi (Monday, December 10, 2012)

alihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura aboutalihashmatkhoso has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Shooting Star View Post
The main purpose of kalabagh dam is to increase our water storage capacity which in turn of course can be used to generate electricity as well.

I am saying this because i have ample evidence and statistics to justify my opinion.Kindly provide me all the statistics and logical facts according to which sindh will get barren.Please,i want to see them.

No sane person would create riot on a dead issue.Why all the politicians are taking so much interests if it is a dead issue?
politician are taking interest for their vested interest..

and please share statistics, and prove your statement,

politician are taking interest for their vested interest..
Exactly.That is why they are hiding the reality.

and please share statistics, and prove your statement
Kindly see post #13.You challenged it.It is your turn now.
alihashmatkhoso (Saturday, December 08, 2012), Erum Qureshi (Sunday, December 16, 2012)

SOHILWAZIR is on a distinguished road
Default Real hurdles

On May 26, 2008, Federal Minister for Water and Power of Pakistan, Raja Pervez Ashraf, said that the "Kalabagh Dam would not be constructed" and the project has been cancelled.[citation needed] He said due to the "opposition from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Sindh and other stakeholders, the project was no longer feasible"

Sindh is the lower riparian and strongest opponent of KBD and politicians presents many objections against the proposed dam:
That their share of the Indus water will be curtailed as water from the Kalabagh will go to irrigate farmlands in Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, at their cost. Sindhis hold that their rights as the lower riparian have precedence according to international water distribution law.
The coastal regions of Sindh require a constant flow of water down the Indus into the Arabian Sea so that the flowing water can keep the seawater from intruding inland. Such seawater intrusion would literally turn vast areas of Sindh's coast into an arid saline desert, and destroy Sindh's coastal mangroves.
With the construction of dams, such as Mangla Dam and Tarbela Dam across the Indus, Sindhis have seen the once-mighty Indus turned into a shadow of its former glory downstream of the Kotri Barrage up to Hyderabad. They fear that there simply is not enough water for another large dam across the Indus, let alone three.
Claims that the current flow of Indus river downstream of Kotri Barrage is only because of rain. Hence in years of low rain, Sindh fears the Indus would stop flowing.
Damming the Indus has already caused a number of environmental problems that have not yet addressed. Silt deposited in the proposed Kalabagh dam would further curtail the water storage capacity of Manchar Lake and other lakes and of wetlands like Haleji Lake.
President Musharraf, Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and other leaders, have promised "iron-clad constitutional guarantees" to ensure that Sindh gets its fair share of water. However, these assurances mean little to most Sindhis, who claim that even the earlier 1991 Indus Water-Sharing Accord, which is a document already guaranteed by the constitutional body, the Council of Common Interests, has been violated, and that Punjab has "stolen" their water without any concrete evidence.

NWFP claims that the running of Cheshma-Jhelum link canal and over drawing of water from Tarbela is a common feature.
The entire system and canal of Ghazi- Barotha hydro electric project runs in Khyber- Pakhtunkhwa, however the electricity generating turbines were installed just 500 meters inside Punjab so that the royalty is denied to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.[citation needed].
While the reservoir will be in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the dam's electricity-generating turbines will be just across the provincial border in Punjab. Therefore, Punjab would get royalties from the central government in Islamabad for generating electricity.[citation needed]. Although, Punjab has also agreed not to claim any royalty on generation of resources from Kalabagh dam.
Concerns that large areas of Nowshera District would be submerged by the dam and even wider areas would suffer from water-logging and salinity as has occurred with the Tarbela Dam. As the water will be stored in Kalabagh dam as proposed, that will give water level rise to the city that is about 200 km away from the proposed location.[citation needed]. However, engineers having expertise on dam construction repeatedly deny the opinion that Nowshera city could be submerged by the dam lake.
Punjab follows a paradox policy when it comes to canals to be taken out from Kalabagh Dam. It talks of right bank canal which will supply water to D I Khan, but when talking to Sindh, it denies construction of right bank canal being infeasible

Balochistan is not directly affected by the dam as such. Rather, most nationalist Baloch claim the dam is an instance of grievances of smaller provinces not being taken into account. They have however, not included the dam in any of their statements after its cancellation.

All Pakistanis agree that Pakistan faces a severe water shortage, and that some form of water management must be implemented soon. Many point out that even if work on Kalabagh were to start tomorrow, it would still take at least three years to complete and commission such a large dam. In the meantime, the water situation would continue to worsen. Smaller dams, barrages, and canals must be built before that, and water conservation techniques introduced.
The WAPDA for years repeatedly changed its statistics on the dam, to the point where no-one in Pakistan now believes any of its figures.[citation needed] Government of Pakistan formed a technical committee, headed by A. N. G. Abbasi, to study the technical merits of the Kalabagh dam vis-a-vis the other two. The four-volume technical report concluded that Bhasha or Katzarah dam should be built before Kalabagh, further complicating matters. The report also stated that Kalabagh and Bhasha Dams could be considered feasible.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SOHILWAZIR For This Useful Post:
alihashmatkhoso (Saturday, December 08, 2012), nightmare2011 (Saturday, December 08, 2012), saleem2000 (Sunday, December 09, 2012)

Originally Posted by Shooting Star View Post
Exactly.That is why they are hiding the reality.

Kindly see post #13.You challenged it.It is your turn now.

Kalabagh Dam Project was designed in 1984, with the assistance of the United Nations Development Program; supervised by the World Bank
Shortage of electricity supply generated locally: The Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) and Karachi Electric Supply Corporation (KESC) are the main producers involved in power generation, transmission and distribution of electricity. WAPDA has not been able to cope with the demand that is growing at an average rate of about 7 percent annually, resorting to load shedding due to energy shortages.

Construction of Kalabagh Dam will add more electricity generation capacity: Kalabagh Dam located Punjab province on the Indus River -- a multi-purpose hydroelectricity cum- irrigation project that could have added 2,400 MW generation capacity to the WAPDA has long been identified as a technically feasible project. So far, over one billion rupees have already been spent on the feasibility and design of this project, but consensus on the construction of this dam by the provincial governments is not forthcoming despite efforts by the Federal Government.

Adverse impacts of Kalabagh Dam: The dam reservoir will inundate fertile plains of the upstream province of North West Frontier Province (NWFP) and flood over existing infrastructure. Likewise, the two other provinces (Sindh and Balochistan) down-stream have expressed their reservations about the reduced amount and flow of water in the river which will affect availability of water after construction of dam for irrigation and other needs of the provinces.
Apprehensions of Sindh
i) The anxiety that the project would render Sindh into a desert.
ii) There would be no surplus water to fill Kalabagh reservoir.
iii) High level outlets would be used to divert water from the reservoir.
iv) Cultivation in riverain (Sailaba) areas would be adversely affected.
v) Sea water intrusion in Indus estuary would accentuate.
vi) Mangrove forest, which are already threatened, would be further affected adversely.
vii) Fish production and drinking water supply below Kotri would be adversely affected.

Apprehensions of NWFP
i) It is feared that historic flooding of Peshawar Valley including Nowshera town would be aggravated in the event of recurrence of 1929 record flood.
ii) Drainages of surrounding area of Mardan, Pabbi and Swabi plains would be adversely affected by the reservoir thus creating water-logging and salinity.
iii) Operation of Mardan SCARP would be adversely affected.
iv) Fertile cultivable land would be submerged.
v) Large number of people would be displaced.

dear check it please......
nightmare2011 (Saturday, December 08, 2012), saleem2000 (Sunday, December 09, 2012)

peacepakistan will become famous soon enough

unanimous voices of sindhi politicians prove they got their fuel from oil importers, gas importers and yes their foreign supporters...Kalabagh is the only point where there is largest gathering of water takes place in all over river sindh...this could benefit all over pakistan in energy efficiency and also can utilize water efficiently without wastage and floods...Land lords who have their short term personal gains in mind are unanimous against it without even knowing that it will be beneficial for them......and Sheep ki trh pori awam minmina rhi ha...aise hi rhe na to India ki zroorat nhi ha hm par attack krne ki...we ourselves are enf and "Share of sindh" will not get hurt...37% decided ha to kya problem ha???? if sindh wont get then talk .
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to peacepakistan For This Useful Post:
Erum Qureshi (Sunday, December 16, 2012), pari Ali BNi (Monday, December 10, 2012)