07:52 PM (GMT +5)

Old Wednesday, February 18, 2009

waqar muhammad is on a distinguished road
Default Posts for SBP officers Grade-II announced

hai everyone, Posts for state bank of pakistan officers grade 2 are announced, if anyone of u have previous experience or papers regarding this test, please share it with us

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to waqar muhammad For This Useful Post:
Intenser (Tuesday, July 21, 2009), mzubair11 (Wednesday, February 18, 2009), Rizwan Chaudhry (Saturday, June 27, 2009), saeedlaghari (Sunday, March 29, 2009), salik_malik (Friday, February 20, 2009)
Old Thursday, February 19, 2009

ok sir, i was very much interested in past papers, so if u dont hve it, thn kindly guide me about the test contents, as then include english composition, quantitative skills, general knowledge, intelligance and current affairs, if u can give me any useful tip about it
Old Friday, February 20, 2009

idresee is on a distinguished road

Kindly guide us which type of questions are likely to come in the SBP exams..

please specify the whole ........... paper accordingly as we are really appearinf first tiome in the same exams.

Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

A complete package to qualify SBOTS test:

English:

1) Grip over grammar
2) Dawn for essay like topic and IBP economic letter
3) GRE for vocab

Maths:

1) Word problems and simple arithmetic on finger tips (Like : work problems, age problems, tank problems, percentage, ratio n proportion, profit n loss, cost, margin, markup, averages, simple equations, under root, square root, series problems.)
I don't remember exact name of the book but I guess : Book by SM ANWAR OR SM Naseer green colored book. That book covers all these problems. Practice of this book is best way to score 100% in this test. Sorry I have not touched that book since 2005 that is why now forgot its proper name and writer. But most of our members might know its name SM Anwar????

Note: That is the time which causes failure in maths section not the knowledge.
Problems are not difficult but we run short of time while attempting. To overcome this weakness you need to have good practice of these problems.

GK:
1) Dawn
2) IBP weekly economic news letter from IBP website
3) Pakistan economic survey from Ministry of finance site
4) Current Budget figures
5) Annual report of SBP from SBP website
6) Current Economic indicators from SBP website.
7) Basic computer or IT related terms (Glossary) like RAM, ROM, CPU, Fuzzy Logic, ALU, CU, MIS, DBMS, etc
8) Basic Business / Banking terminology like KYC, AML, Basel, IOU, POS, PAYE, etc.

Paper is question-cum-answer book, be brief and to the point as you have defined space to write any thing.

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 08:38 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
fidamah (Saturday, March 27, 2010), Hassan Razzaq (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Zaheer Qadri (Friday, October 19, 2012)

Rana G is on a distinguished road

hai everyone, Posts for state bank of pakistan officers grade 2 are announced, if anyone of u have previous experience or papers regarding this test, please share it with us

Yes dear Waqar, I appeared in SBOTS Test 14th batch held in Jan/Feb 2008
The test was comprised upon following three portion/parts. The weightage of marks is shown against each

Ist Part
English Grammer & Short note on any topic & Basic arithmatic portion (40 marks)

2nd Part
General Knoweldge and current affairs
including few qutions of Islamiyat/Pak study (Abt 30 marks)

3rd Part
This portion was comprised totally on banking rules, regulation, procedures and existing/amended policies etc. (Abt 30 marks)

The only thing i observed from their test is that SBP perhaps itends to hire only banking professional. Y. Coz Ist two portions were too easy (I mean it was really Halwa) and 3rd portion was easy only for those already working in any bank. The most interesting factor is that u hv to obtain 50% marks in each sections to be called for interview.Below 50% in any portion will lead ur disqualification even ur 80-90% marks any part doez nt hv any weightage in this case. Im sure that paper might had been qualified only by banking professional and Inclusion of banking portion perhaps serve the purpose to hire only banking professional. Rest ppl are definitly scrapped due to banking portion.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rana G For This Useful Post:
KAISER A. RIND (Wednesday, March 18, 2009)
Old Saturday, February 21, 2009

@Rana G

Thank u sir for such precious information, English Composition, (ii) Quantitative Skills and (iii) Current Affairs/
Intelligence/General Knowledge, these are the basic things they have mentioned for the test in the add,

now if there is a portion of banking rules and policies, can u a bit explain it like of which level questions will they be putting as i m myself working in a bank but joined it two months ago and still learing everything

@Raz
Sir i have searched for tht book of SM Anwar in nearly more thn 50 shops but no one had it, even a guy told me tht this book publishing was stopped after 2000, currently i m covering Basic mathematics portion of GRE for the maths portion, if u can suggest some other book beside it i will be thankful.
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Dear waqar muhammad:

No problem if you could not find that book. GRE book will serve the purpose only upto simple arithmetic level but for tricky word problems you need to go through any aptitude test book specially for IBA or LUMS admission test.

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 08:39 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
public_servant (Saturday, February 21, 2009)

Well friends, last test was held about a year ago. I don't remember the exact questions (relevant to banking) as 1 yr has elapsed. I hv bit idea abt the types of qtnz. These were mostly regarding existing policies of banks, such as auto loan,housing loan, car financing, loan to Govt.employees,credit card, existing ratio of mark-up, policies under-consideration by SBP, ammended policies, newly launched policies, newly proposed policies, newly launched technology with regard to banking sectors and like that. There were also sum other areas which i dont remeber. Out of 30 qtnz, each qt was from different area. Now banker can guess which kind of 30 areas could be.

2ndly, don't take wory abt general arithmatic portion. Last time, very basic qtnz were asked consisting of mean, mode, average, %age, words problem, ratio & proportion etc. No need to look for any comprehensive book and dont waste ur time on practice. Root level course was covered. I reiterate , banking portion was the only difference. Rest were HALWA.

Last edited by Last Island; Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 08:40 PM.
Old Monday, February 23, 2009

ok sir, thnx for the guidance, there is one other query i have, tht wht does the english portion includes, like u have told me its mostly about grammer, but it will be very nice of u if u can furter explain it a bit
The Following User Says Thank You to waqar muhammad For This Useful Post:
sajad (Wednesday, April 15, 2009)
Old Monday, February 23, 2009

wht does the english portion includes, like u have told me its mostly about grammer
Englishe portion was consisted of

Correction in errors 10 marks
Short note on topic 10 marks
(dont rembr topic - no choice was available)
Use of wrds in sentnc 10 marks
(Words were nomal)