04:17 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS

PCS / PMS Information about PCS / PMS

Old Thursday, January 24, 2013

Mr hashmi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by orangeemperor25 View Post
a former member of the ppsc who retired as secretary to govt of punjab and than served as member ppsc from 2000 to 2006 lives near my house i sought guidance from him on scoring trends in interviews of pms since he was member of the interview panel 3 times during his tenure he said that we people while conducting interviews are not at all impressed by the fact that one candiate has got 700 marks in written and just declare him pass without seeing anything else according to him punjabi has always been a scoring subject and in his years majority of the people got 130+ marks going as high as 170 but he said that we usually grilled these people more in interviews because we know that the examiner has done loose marking and they dont deserve such high marks so more searching questions were put to them and most of the candidates were not even able to explain the abc of punjabi so we gave them low scores or outrightly failed them secondly he said that a person who has got say 610 or 620 with a low scoring combination appears before the panel and performs well does not becomes nervous and handles pressure well even if he drops as many as 4 to 5 questions impresses the panel more and is more likely to get allocated as the purpose of the interview is to ascertain ones personality and his mental approach and apptitude he admitted before me that the marking system of both fpsc and ppsc is flawed since some examiners blindly give numbers whereas some others do not even give average marks to highly deserving candidates and because of this thing the role of interview becomes extremely important and he says that on the basis of his experience he can say that people with high scores are usually not intelligent and people with low scores are more sharp and because of this we have to give exceptionally high grade to low scoring candidates but with high iq level and that is the reason why fingers are raised every time both in css and pms that look they have favoured someone who had 601 marks with say 180 marks in interview but the fact of the matter is that he deserved those marks but his written score was not in consonnance with his calibre due to a number of reasons he also asked me that tell yourself does that person who has for example got more than 750 marks is not able to speak even one word of correct english does not gives logical answers and is shaky and nervous does not makes eye contanct with the the interivewer and is trembling does he deserves to be allocated he advised that all candidates should appear in interviews with positive frame of mind and even if they are aware that they have got only 600 marks they should not loose hope give their best in the interview and think of the interview as a 20/20 match even if you loose wickets in the opening overs you should play till the end confidently dropping questions is not something perceived negative it is how you conduct yourself which is important and in the end he said that it all depends on your luck if the panel likes you they will award you high marks to compenste for you low marks in written i have quoted my conversation with him word by word so as to encourage everyone and give them an insight that how the panels work the name of this man is Ch Riaz Warriach he is a distinguished civil servant served as DC and Comissioner and secretary to govt he served under three chairman ppsc as he got two tenures as member ppsc so i hope that this conversation will help everyone
@orange brother
I agree with you that panel will and should compensate those deserving candidates who opted low scoring subjects but as well as PMS is concerned, first time optional were taken in 2009. Before this in 2004 and 2006, PMS was conducted only with compulsory subjects.
With due respect, how mr Riaz warraich has interviewed candidates opting punjabi when his second tenure as ppsc member was ended in 2006?

Romana baig is on a distinguished road

Wish u very Good luck Sir Hashmi.
Mr hashmi (Thursday, January 24, 2013)
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

@ all

All interviews stated above give an impression that psychological test is not being given even a bit of importance as they didn't ask questions related to your fav personalities, books etc. The more important aspects are job, optionals, academic background esp; post graduation and specialization and reasons to join civil services? Correct me if I am wrong?
Secondly, gradually they have started asking questions related to current national and international affairs as well. Hence this area keeps priority as well.
The changes so made obviously explains that to find similarity in interviews has become irrational owing to unique nature of questions from candidate to candidate. Hence one must be ready for one on one encounter, preparation will hardly matter here.
mudasr (Thursday, January 24, 2013)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CSS 2010  5695

Javed Sarwar Jasra is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Mr hashmi View Post
@orange brother
I agree with you that panel will and should compensate those deserving candidates who opted low scoring subjects but as well as PMS is concerned, first time optional were taken in 2009. Before this in 2004 and 2006, PMS was conducted only with compulsory subjects.
With due respect, how mr Riaz warraich has interviewed candidates opting punjabi when his second tenure as ppsc member was ended in 2006?
Yes I agree with Mr Hashmi and Mr Orange's statement was astonishing for me ..... for the first time optional subjects were introduced in PMS 2009, prior to that this exam included the following subjects
1. ENGLISH 150 Marks
2. URDU 150 Marks
3. PAK AFFAIRS 100 Marks
4. ISLAMIYAT 100 Marks
5. G. K 100 Marks
Total 600 Marks
so in this scenario Mr Riaz sb's observations does not hold water. and I am sure Sir Warraich was not the member of 2009 panel
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 104

orangeemperor25 will become famous soon enoughorangeemperor25 will become famous soon enough

well all of you who think that optionals were introduced in 2009 are quite mistaken optional papers were taken off and on they were their in the 1990s and early 2000s and pms was created by merging PCS AND PSS like in css there is dmg and omg but due to a conpiracy hatched by dmg it was renamed as pms and in the last 18 years pcs exam was held many times consecutively for 3 years and i myself have optional papers of pcs dating from 1990 onwards till 2005 when they again resorted to 150 marks compulsory papers and old optional papers are easily available in the market and their is no difference between pms and pcs by the way i myself for my interview sought guidance from another former member of ppsc namely Syed Fazal Hussain who gives guidance at his house he is also former secretary to govt of punjab and all these things that i wrote yesterday were corroborated by him i just posted those things for guidance if you dont believe them it is your choice

and one more thing is that pcs which means provicial civil service was created during the days of the British Raj in the subcontinent in 1878 and both the persons who are mentioned above were also invovlved in interview process of pcs in the 1990s as they represented S&GAD in the panel like in our case two ladies are departmental representatives so before giving sweeping statements one should take advice of seniors seriously as their experience is twice as much as our age

Last edited by Amna; Sunday, January 27, 2013 at 10:39 AM. Reason: Merged
The Following User Says Thank You to orangeemperor25 For This Useful Post:
mudasr (Thursday, January 24, 2013)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CSS 2010  5695

Javed Sarwar Jasra is on a distinguished road

well all of you who think that optionals were introduced in 2009 are quite mistaken optional papers were taken off and on they were their in the 1990s and early 2000s and pms was created by merging PCS AND PSS like in css there is dmg and omg but due to a conpiracy hatched by dmg it was renamed as pms and in the last 18 years pcs exam was held many times consecutively for 3 years and i myself have optional papers of pcs dating from 1990 onwards till 2005 when they again resorted to 150 marks compulsory papers and old optional papers are easily available in the market and their is no difference between pms and pcs by the way i myself for my interview sought guidance from another former member of ppsc namely Syed Fazal Hussain who gives guidance at his house he is also former secretary to govt of punjab and all these things that i wrote yesterday were corroborated by him i just posted those things for guidance if you dont believe them it is your choice
Sir what you are saying is right but since PMS1 and PCS exams that were conducted in late 90's and early 2000's there was no optional subject. You may confirm it from any senior PCS/PMS officer

naughty eyes is on a distinguished road

very nice orange bro,,you deliberately wrote it for our guidance and i hope it will serve a lot to aspirants
The Following User Says Thank You to naughty eyes For This Useful Post:
mudasr (Friday, January 25, 2013)
Old Friday, January 25, 2013

Md.Umar is on a distinguished road
Default My Interview Experience

I appeared before madam's Panel on 23-01-2013.

first Madam asked my name. then
1.what are you doing? ( a little long discussion about my job and during this she suddenly asked what is your date of birth?)
2.what you have done before?
3. you find any difference b/w private and public schools?
here I made a long statement and also criticize govt' policies and intention

now madam signaling other member to ask me questions

2nd member first asked me a question about my current working place and then said; you made very hard statement about govt, while govt have increase budget for education, can you justify your statement?
(I answered and He hand me over to next member)

3rd: tell any two qualities and shortcomings of Pakistani societies?

(while answering I said Pakistanis are relatively more peaceful than Indians , He caught my words and asked " kaya India main masjidoon main bomb damakay hotay hain kaya wahan ye halat hain?
I said: Sir its not We, Its a very small group which is doing all this and its because of Afghan war.... I also quoted the statement of Sushil Kumar about Indian extremist )

3rd: ok, tell the qualities of a civil servant?
(I said; 1.determination, 2. cool temperament, 3. can handle critical situation.)

(now the forth one, he was writing something on a paper)

4th: ok, you told the qualities of civil servant now tell the qualities of an administrator?
(I told 3 qualities which were different from the qualities of a civil servant and later I realized that I could put the same answer)

4th: you are Hafiz, ok tell which two pairs of surah are known as "moaizatain" and "zun'nun"?
I said sir I red them while preparing GK paper lakin abi yad nhi, but he did not respect my words and said; main ny app ki malumat main izafa kiya hai, ap ko nahi pata tha ab app ko pata chal gaya hai, kahin aur app say pocha ja sakta hai. I said; thank you sir

4th: akhin waris shah....... (something like this) , ye kis ka shair hai?
( main ny yahan tuka lagaya; sir waris shah ka name hai shayad un ka hai )
He said: no, Amrita pritam ka name suna hai? ye un ka hai.

4th: who is shreef kunjahai?

I told a little bit about Kunjahi but he said un ki kisi punjabi book ka name batao? at that time I did not remember his book name.

4th: ok, you don't remember, you know what are the "people of the book"

I said: no sir but I can made an answer on perception If you allow me...

He said nahi, ab ye na keh dyna k jo kitabain phertay hai

Here madam said: you can leave no

almost,all the questions which were asked by 4th member I could not answered, instead of answering I try to made "tukas". another bad thing which I feel I answered in very quick manners instead of a steady and calm way like intellectuals do..
Seniors plz tell me what 'll be the impact of these two on my interview.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Md.Umar For This Useful Post:
Mrubab (Monday, January 28, 2013), mudasr (Friday, January 25, 2013)
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 104

orangeemperor25 will become famous soon enoughorangeemperor25 will become famous soon enough

@Umar
brother can you tell who were the other members of the panel except madam Rukhsana if you dont know their name you can see their pictures present on ppsc official website secondly dropping questions is no big deal because the aristotle's and socrates of this world also didnt knew everything under the sun but the only thing is that you should be confident and should not become nervous if this was the case then mark my words you will get good marks
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 96

GanXTeR is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Kamran View Post
What would be the safe estimate both in written + interview to get allocated?Any guesses??
Firstly, one has to get 150 marks in interview to be declared qualified otherwise he would remain amongst failures ..as it was mentioned in the advertisement , am quoting relevant note here

"MPORTANT NOTES:

a). A candidate must secure 33% marks in each paper and 50% marks in the aggregate to qualify for interview. Qualifying candidates must also secure 50% marks in the interview to be finally successful. "

There is no hard n fast rule but we can guess an aspirant having 670 in written and 180 in interview (total 850) would be in safe hands or minimum total 800 to be included in the final list

psychological assessment will be completed in the last week of feb (most probably 25th feb)as was told by the employee of ppsc on first day

candidates around serial number 350 are called for psycho on 29th jan

pms interview