04:19 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Saturday, September 29, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by ilyana View Post
my optionals are
psychology
geography
punjabi and
sociology
for sociology i ve consulted Taga.keeping the paper pattern of 2012 is this book sufficient for sociology?
do suggest me book for geo2!
Your combination seems good one!

I didn't opt Geography therefore cannot suggest you books for this.

Taga's book is good one for sociology. However, you will have to consult other sources like internet for topics not available in the book.
The Following User Says Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
ilyana (Monday, October 01, 2012)

Abdul Q will become famous soon enough
Default Arabic

you got coaching in Karachi?

Alipk009 is on a distinguished road

Congrat bro great work ..... Yar kuch interview ka experience bhi share karo
Old Sunday, September 30, 2012

dazedandconfused is on a distinguished road

Unpredictability and variation in test scores for no apparent reason isn't something which test makers around the world feel very proud of. For a test to be the real indicator of a persons ability it should be reliable and consistent. Maybe it's time for FPSC to revisit the whole process it deploys to induct CSP's and bring in some much needed improvements in the process. Instead of basing the whole process on an applicants memorization skills they should be testing their analytical reasoning skills which these CSP's will be using extensively through out their career.

Btw congrats on your achievement
Old Monday, October 01, 2012

aasim aslam abbasi is on a distinguished road
Default Arabic

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
Brother, Arabic is not much difficult to learn. One needs around 20-25 days for good preparation.

and in how many months arabic can be learned starting from very basic?

Last edited by Arain007; Monday, October 01, 2012 at 11:02 AM. Reason: spelling mistake
Old Monday, October 01, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by Abdul Q View Post
you got coaching in Karachi?
No dear, I got coaching in Lahore.

Originally Posted by Alipk009 View Post
Congrat bro great work ..... Yar kuch interview ka experience bhi share karo
I have already shared it brother!

Here it is:

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/436039-post243.html

Last edited by Arain007; Tuesday, October 02, 2012 at 09:02 AM. Reason: merged
Old Tuesday, October 09, 2012

theysaymeShah is on a distinguished road

Thank you bro for sharing your story & it is an inspiring one. And congrats on your success.
I guess many,like me,can take a leaf from your story. I appeared in CE-2012 with no preparation at all. I just wanted to have a feel of it all. I got 581. With success stories like you, now I feel that I CAN do it with a little more hardwork,commitment & sincerity. I just have to be hopeful and things like this keep my hopes alive.

All the best & Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to theysaymeShah For This Useful Post:
usman khalid (Tuesday, October 09, 2012)
Old Wednesday, October 10, 2012

kainatsaba is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mani g View Post
Brother! Would you like to share your educational qualification?? Though I have observed from your posts you done MBA in 2011. But you are saying that you were in university in 2006. So, in which degree you were enrolled in 2006?
what were your total score in first attempt?

@ Usman

what were your written+interview score in first attempt(2008)?

Last edited by Arain007; Wednesday, October 10, 2012 at 12:02 PM. Reason: Avoid net speak
Old Thursday, April 03, 2014

syedghulammustafa5328 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
I have started this thread to share my experience regarding CSS exam. ALHAMDULILLAH, I have cleared it for the second time in my three attempts. During all my attempts, what I observed was uncertainties and surprises. CSS is an exam of nerves, it really exhausts you and demands a lot of patience due to its lengthy process. After a long wait, when result is not as expected especially after putting so much effort, obviously it hurts a lot. Although, it requires hard work, determination, commitment, patience and what not to secure a good position in this exam but at the same time, there are somethings which are not in our control. Some of these are ALLAH's will and Luck. These two things are very important along with hard work for success.

To start with, I appeared in CSS for the first time in 2008 with 3 months preparation along with a job at a bank. Before this, I didn't know ABC of CSS. Although, it was a naive attempt but I put in my best and qualified the written. But unfortunately, a thing 'scoring trend' threw me out of the race. I appeared for the second time in 2010 with much better preparation. This time I was sure about my success and gave my CSS books / notes to other aspirants because I thought I would not be needing them now! But, again this time essay paper sealed my fate. Thus, despite scoring very good marks in written, everything was multiplied by zero. I did not intend to go for the third attempt after this failure but my family and friends mustered up my courage to give it an other try. So, I made up my mind in December 2010 to reappear when few days were remaining to apply for the exam. I was not well prepared, did not have any books/notes (because I already had given them to other aspirants). So, I appeared on the basis of experience gained from previous attempts! This time I got what I deserved!

I have made a DMC taking out best scores from my three attempts!!!

Essay: 47 (2008)
Precis: 78 (2010)
EDS: 75 (2008)
CA: 69 (2011)
PA: 53 (2011)
Islamiat: 64 (2008)

IR: 61 (2010)
Sociology: 76 (2010)
Journalism: 64 (2010)
Punjabi: 81 (2010)
Arabic: 153 (2010)

Total: 821
Viva: 203 (2011)

Grand Total: 1024

This shows that one cannot be perfect at one time. Sometimes, things go in your way and next time same thing with a better performance may not go in your way. This is where luck plays its part which is as equally important in CSS as any other thing. (If things had gone my way and I had obtained above marks in one particular year, I would have been topper and record holder for highest ever marks in CSS )

What I want to convey to aspirants is to never lose hope. Nothing is impossible if you are determined and consistent. Also, hard work should be accompanied with smart work. Aspirants should know what to read and what not to read, how to make maximum out of short period of time, how to attempt paper, how to make presentation attractive to fetch maximum marks. Make a strategy for each paper by looking at the past papers. Make points which may help them in revision during exams. Examiner is not much concerned about one's hard work of one year or more, he/she is only concerned what one has produced on pieces of sheets in 3 hours. CSS is full of uncertainties and surprises. If one is not successful in the first attempt, keep trying with same zeal and zest and INSHALLAH you will find yourself successful one day.

Having said all this, remember ALLAH is the best planner. HE surely does what is best for us. Despite all hard work, smart work and other things, if result is not in your favour, surely HE will have better plans for your future. It is HIS will which Will win in every matter of our life.

May ALLAH bless you all with splendid success in all exams of your lives!
JAZAKALLAH!
Thank you very much for sharing your painstaking experience. I'm going through the same situation when I frequently rum out of self-motivation to study. I make plans, but unable to make my mark. Yes, it's a really time consuming and patience demanding. Another problem is, it makes me worried when I look at the vast material and uncertain past papers.
Overall, I've been facing self-motivation, consistency and lack of guidance issues. I feel exhausted quickly when I start studying.
I would be thankful to you and other members for any support in this regard.
Please reply
Thank you
The Following User Says Thank You to syedghulammustafa5328 For This Useful Post:
parwarsha (Wednesday, April 16, 2014)
Old Sunday, July 27, 2014

mserpico is on a distinguished road

hey Usman... Congratulations brother.

I liked your post. Good luck with everything that comes your way.

Thank you for sharing your experience.