-   Expansion/Paragraph (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/expansion-paragraph/)
-   -   Everyone! Please take part in Expansions. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-compulsory-subjects/english-precis-composition/expansion-paragraph/65470-everyone-please-take-part-expansions.html)

seher bano Wednesday, October 09, 2013 01:02 AM

[QUOTE=Bilal Hassan;656961] Bilal Hassan[/QUOTE]

Bilal Bhai, I am much obliged to you; your feedback is always worthy to read. You have always been very helpful.

[QUOTE=exclusively;657356][COLOR="Green"][B][SIZE="4"]WE ARE INCLINED TO JUDGE OURSELVES BY OUR IDEALS: OTHERS BY THEIR ACTS (CSS-2003)[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR]

Please check pin point my mistakes...
[B]
Thanks in anticipation...[/B][/QUOTE]

I wish I could check your writing, but I am afraid I am still unwilling to point out others mistakes. There are many intelligent seniors who may guide you better. :)

exclusively Wednesday, October 09, 2013 01:07 AM

[B][COLOR="Green"]A downward trend in education standard today is root cause of all social evils.[/COLOR][/B]

Education is considered a third eye of a human being. Without education, nothing can be done perfectly and nothing can be achieved what are our goals to make our country the best country in all over the world. Education plays a vital role in controlling social evils. However, in current circumstances, due to a downward trend in education, the social evils have been increasing to the rapid speed. The rates of crimes are increasing day by day. As a matter of fact, Pakistan is facing different crimes such as robberies, drug addiction, money extortion, land mafia, target killing, honour killing and many other social evils have increased and which are diminishing the image of our country before the world. Media exposes the dirty picture of social evel, for example, a moth ago a six year innocent girl was rapped, citizens are brutally killed by terrorists. On the other hand, the rate of our education as compare to Srilanka, India, Bangladesh has been far behind. And it is the ongoing trend. Despite of spending millions of dollars on education, nothing have been achieved, according to the UNDP and Millenniums Programs, our country has not achieved the desired goals in imparting the education yet. That is why, the social evils are increasing day by day. The sheep mentality and lack of cooperation have been increased. Therefore, it is the need of hour to pay attention towards education. Education should be imparted to the every corner of our country. Different teams should be made to inspect schools, and corrupt DCO's and teachers should be dismissed on the spot if they are founded guilty. Last but not the least, from top to bottom, the mess of corruption should be washed by any cost. In this regard, our all institutions have to be active enough to do so. Apart from that, media can play her role vitally. It is the duty of our media to educate the masses, and teach them that with the help of education we can do miracles. To the sum up, Indeed, a downward trend in education has been of the biggest cause of social evils. But with honesty, sincerity and patriotism, we can achieve our goals. We can change our nation, we can control the adverse prevailing conditions. No matter, our country is facing social evils' problems, but with the help of education we can change our country towards apex. Rightly said by Robert Frost..."Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence."

Seniors, Juniors, all members, please pin point my mistakes. [B]Thanks in anticipation...[/B]

Ayaz Goraya Wednesday, October 09, 2013 01:25 AM

[B]We are inclined to judge ourselves by our ideals and others by their deeds....[/B]

It is quite authentic that a human being supposes himself a perfect person to some extent.He always adovocates his ideas and he denies to accept ideas of the other people.It is not applicable to some specific cast or creed it is human psychology.A person wants an encouraging feedback thats why he always prefer his favourite one to give feedback about his ideas.Because he knows that his ideal will never pass negative comments.But we weights other people by merely their deeds and work, we do not think deeply about others.That's the main problem with us, there are many example around us, for instance we take example of political parties of Pakistan they calls themselves patriot and others are traits in their opinion and vice versa.If everyone is clear like crystal then violence comes from where.Hence we can say that we inclined to judge ourselves by our ideals and others by their deeds.

This is a very poor attempt i know.....But Seniors please give me marks out of 20?

Bilal Hassan Wednesday, October 09, 2013 09:26 AM

[QUOTE=rayma qaiser;657175]thank you so much sir for pointing out my mistakes as i do not have any one to check my writings... that is a real hurdle for me :(
but sir with due respect to all pointed mistakes by you, i used APPOSITE in the meaning of APPROPRIATE!
Kindly let me know whether i used it in the wrong context.[/QUOTE]
[COLOR="blue"][SIZE="3"][B]Rayma you are right, it was my mistake, Apposite was correctly used, I condoned the context in which it was used. However, your other mistakes betoken that you must endeavor to use advanced words aptly because you have made mistakes. Like beside the mistakes I pointed out, you have a mistake in your signature, I Believe in Allah and he is [COLOR="DarkRed"][B][U]mere one[/U][/B][/COLOR] who can help me. Mere is an adjective which means only, but dear in your signature you need to insert[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR] [COLOR="SeaGreen"][U][B][SIZE="3"][B]Only one[/B][/SIZE][/B][/U][/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"][B][SIZE="3"]because you need a determiner here not an adjective.....and mere can never be followed or preceded by one, it is sole characteristic of ONLY.

Best of Luck.[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR]
[QUOTE=Dr saad;657310]The above mentioned statement alludes towards the essential ingredients of politicians,political parties and the polity,that is, deception and mercantilism.Beyond platitudes and rhetorics,there is not much to be found in politics.Morality,ethics and ideologies are something of a little significance.when it comes to fulfilling personal motives, all rules are violated and all norms are forgotten.
the often propounded speeches, filled with banality and cliches of politicians are nothing but carrots to appease the docile masses.much of their efforts and endeavors are to fulfill their endless bucket of personal gains.in the war between principles and interests, expediency hails victory.the pages of history are full of such examples in which the political values were sacrificed at the altar of insidious motives.In pakistan, many so-called champions of democracy exist who were secretly hand in glove with the country's dictators;when the time came to resist against the tyrants, unfortunately,they became turncoats.another pertinent example to mention here is from the history of england : in the year 1688, two political parties , the whigs and the tories, having radically opposite political orientations,joined hands to curtail the power of monarchs and to increase their own strength.many call it "the glorious revolution" but, the critics call it a clever move to empower oligarchy.
thus,it can be concluded that there are no rules in politics.everyone tries to keep up appearances while staging backdoor intrigues, for petty gains.indeed,politics is not about principles, it is about victory and duplicity.

P.S: ignore the capital letters mistake.[/QUOTE]
[COLOR="Blue"][SIZE="3"][B]Dr Saad its good that you have knack for using good vocabulary but it goes a famous saying that "Excess of everything is Bad". I must say that you must study the words with their functions, means you must know which word is adjective and which one is noun and so forth, so that you can use them correctly in the sentence syntax, for example if a word is adjective but you take it as a noun then adjectives qualify nouns as attributive and predicative ones but if you take it as a noun then it is not used with functionally preciseness. Hope you would attend to that matter. :)

P.S: Try to find out that what is normal quantity of Masala to be added to cuisine, because spices do make them dish tasty but if quantity is increased, it also makes it bitter and tasteless.[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
[QUOTE=exclusively;657324][B][COLOR="DarkGreen"][B][SIZE="5"]If wants were horses even Beggars would ride[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR][/B]

As a matter of fact that human by nature desires a lot. But he is nearly unable to fulfill all of his desires. Because, many things which he wants are more or less out of his reach. That is why Tom, Dick and Harry can not fulfill their desires. Same as the case with Beggar, a Beggar desires for luxurious bungalow, car, bank balances, [COLOR="blue"][U][B]beautiful women[/B][/U][/COLOR] [COLOR="SeaGreen"][SIZE="3"][B]ReallY! hmm uska b to dil hy yar:8:[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR] and many more related to the above things which [COLOR="DarkRed"][U][B]make them[/B][/U][/COLOR] [COLOR="SeaGreen"][SIZE="3"][B](In the beginning you are talking about a beggar, means a singular subject, how can the verb and pronoun be plural)[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR] him happier. Beggar wants are not genuine. Because it does not make any sense. Infact, a Beggar can not afford such expenses. In order to gain a horse, Beggar needs a lot of money to ride over desired horse. Sadly, he can not afford horse due to the shortage of money.

Similarly, we have limited resources and unlimited wants. Particularly, third world counters are facing many problems, but the problem that has affected them are scarcity. Therefore, nation in coordination and cooperation with other countries are trying their best to fulfill their desires as much as they can.

Even a King or Queen is nearly unable to fulfill all of his/her desires, no body can achieve his/her desired heaven perfectly. However, with honesty, sincerity and hard work can do miracles. But it needs an ample time and concentration to the target or desire in a right way.

Nevertheless, a Beggar desires for those things which are nearly out of his reach. But his desires can not be restricted by anyhow. As every body has got the freedom of expression and freedom of desires. Similarly, beggar desires for a horse that is very far away from him due to his poorness. But he can do anything with his hard working in order to earn much more money to purchase a horse so that he can ride over it. Sadly, most of the beggars are nearly unable to fulfill their desires, because desires are very far away to reach them. That is why it is well said that if wants were horses even beggars would ride.

Words 341

Please assess my Expansion, And pin point my [B]mistakes[/B].

[B]Thanks in anticipation…[/B][/QUOTE]
[COLOR="Blue"][SIZE="3"][B]You have used a lot of paras, make them in one or maximum two. Hit the first cord straightaway, then don't come back to it, then comes to the second one. and finish, you are coming back to the same theme again and again.[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
[QUOTE=exclusively;657356][COLOR="Green"][B][SIZE="4"]WE ARE INCLINED TO JUDGE OURSELVES BY OUR IDEALS: OTHERS BY THEIR ACTS (CSS-2003)[/SIZE][/B][/COLOR]

More or less it has been seen and assumed that we always criticize other people according to their deeds. We are understood by their acts they do that they are mistaken. However, in our own case, no matter we have committed a mistake or any blunder, if some one criticize us, then we would be frustrated and even we can go even a length of fighting but would not tolerate the disclosing of our flaws and mistakes in front of anybody. As a matter of fact, by nature human is liable to commit mistakes, because he is not an angel [COLOR="DarkRed"][U][B]neither he is a God.[/B][/U][/COLOR] [COLOR="SeaGreen"][B][U](Nor is he a God...is the correct structure as when we use comparison and say that neither one is the case nor is the other, then if no neither is used then nor is used)[/U][/B][/COLOR] To the same token, after[COLOR="DarkRed"][U][B] nine eleven,[/B][/U][/COLOR] [COLOR="SeaGreen"][U][B](9/11) is correct[/B][/U][/COLOR] Talibans have been on the board, and are considered terrorists. By the same token, Talibans do not like Americans' belief, value and culture. Because, they want a government in all over the world like Ghlufa e Rashdeen. Contrary to this, Americans are secular and they do not permit any body to impose Islam in the world. Therefore, they judge to one another according to their acts and deeds. May be they both are right as per their own belief, values, and traditions. However, we every body thinks about them by our ideas as per their deeds. To the conclude, we judge ourselves good, no matter we are bad or wrongdoers. Besides, we think about others according to their deeds and then device a judgement that some one is wrong doer or good doer.

Words:[B]245[/B]

Please check pin point my mistakes...
[B]
Thanks in anticipation...[/B][/QUOTE]
[COLOR="Blue"][SIZE="3"][B]Dear you lost the focus somewhere...however it is just upto the mark.....[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
[QUOTE=Ayaz Goraya;657376][B]We are inclined to judge ourselves by our ideals and others by their deeds....[/B]

It is quite authentic that a human being supposes himself a perfect person to some extent.He always adovocates his ideas and he denies to accept ideas of the other people.It is not applicable to some specific cast or creed it is human psychology.A person wants an encouraging feedback thats why he always prefer his favourite one to give feedback about his ideas.Because he knows that his ideal will never pass negative comments.But we weights other people by merely their deeds and work, we do not think deeply about others.That's the main problem with us, there are many example around us, for instance we take example of political parties of Pakistan they calls themselves patriot and others are traits in their opinion and vice versa.If everyone is clear like crystal then violence comes from where.Hence we can say that we inclined to judge ourselves by our ideals and others by their deeds.

This is a very poor attempt i know.....But Seniors please give me marks out of 20?[/QUOTE]

[COLOR="blue"][SIZE="3"][B]Oho, dear you misunderstood that quotation, it simply means that we judge ourselves by the high standards we have set for ourselves but other by what they actually do. And Ideal here is not a personality, it is an abstract concept, it means our high standards of morality that we are suppose to and all think they do follow always. Keep practicing dear, your composition is good. :) 5 marks I would give.[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]

exclusively Wednesday, October 09, 2013 11:53 AM

[QUOTE=exclusively;657370][B][COLOR="Green"]A downward trend in education standard today is root cause of all social evils.[/COLOR][/B]

Education is considered a third eye of a human being. Without education, nothing can be done perfectly and nothing can be achieved what are our goals to make our country the best country in all over the world. Education plays a vital role in controlling social evils. However, in current circumstances, due to a downward trend in education, the social evils have been increasing to the rapid speed. The rates of crimes are increasing day by day. As a matter of fact, Pakistan is facing different crimes such as robberies, drug addiction, money extortion, land mafia, target killing, honour killing and many other social evils have increased and which are diminishing the image of our country before the world. Media exposes the dirty picture of social evel, for example, a moth ago a six year innocent girl was rapped, citizens are brutally killed by terrorists. On the other hand, the rate of our education as compare to Srilanka, India, Bangladesh has been far behind. And it is the ongoing trend. Despite of spending millions of dollars on education, nothing have been achieved, according to the UNDP and Millenniums Programs, our country has not achieved the desired goals in imparting the education yet. That is why, the social evils are increasing day by day. The sheep mentality and lack of cooperation have been increased. Therefore, it is the need of hour to pay attention towards education. Education should be imparted to the every corner of our country. Different teams should be made to inspect schools, and corrupt DCO's and teachers should be dismissed on the spot if they are founded guilty. Last but not the least, from top to bottom, the mess of corruption should be washed by any cost. In this regard, our all institutions have to be active enough to do so. Apart from that, media can play her role vitally. It is the duty of our media to educate the masses, and teach them that with the help of education we can do miracles. To the sum up, Indeed, a downward trend in education has been of the biggest cause of social evils. But with honesty, sincerity and patriotism, we can achieve our goals. We can change our nation, we can control the adverse prevailing conditions. No matter, our country is facing social evils' problems, but with the help of education we can change our country towards apex. Rightly said by Robert Frost..."Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence."

Seniors, Juniors, all members, please pin point my mistakes. [B]Thanks in anticipation...[/B][/QUOTE]

Thank you [B]Bilal Bhai[/B]. Please check this one. My typing speed is really slow. But I try my best to post my expansions as much as I could. Please check it and pin point my mistakes. [B]Thanks in anticipation[/B]...:angle

Ayaz Goraya Wednesday, October 09, 2013 01:38 PM

If i want to expand this sentence,
Can i explain it by different examples?
or more than one example?
please guide me...!

''Who they know, and who they don't know, Can be equal?'' (Quran)
An illetrate and an educated person can't be equal in anyway.All relegions of words stress on getting education because education is the key to success.Being a muslim it is our duty to get education and promote it as well.History is burdened with muslim scholars who contributed in different feids.It is merely because of good standard of eduation at that time.Hazrat Muhammad SAW also stressed to get education.In Ghazwa Badr muslim caught some enimies, They asked to educate muslims.Hazrat Muhammad SAW rewarded teacher as a father.Man can't recognise himself without education.Hazrat Ali RA was a great scholar, he also asked muslim to get education.
Quad e Azam, the father of Pakistan aslo advised muslims to get education.He said to students, ''You should devote yourself wholeheartedly to your study because this is your first obligation to your parents and your state.''
He said, ''World is progressing very fast, we have to educate our nation''

Jolie Dame Wednesday, October 09, 2013 02:26 PM

We learn from history that we do not learn from history

Cicero has said "History is the witness of the times, the torch of the truth, the life of memory, the teacher of life, the messenger of antiquity". But this doesn't seem to be heard by Pakistani nation and subsequent governments, because still if we see around we would find many examples of the government repeating same old mistakes. Either it be fear of American attack or an attack by terrorists on the sovereignty of the country, the leadership seems to be pleading for mercy in front of those who invade the peace of Pakistan. Moreover, apparently the government has not ascertained any lesson from the detachment of East Pakistan and hence Balochistan issue has not been able to get the attention of the masters, not even in the light of this drastic epoch of history.

Leadership has been blind to the past or have an inability to admit what wrong has been done to the country. But they need to take a review of history as soon as possible as they say "Those who don't learn history are doomed to repeat it". The next generations must be told what mistakes have been done by their elders so that they could avoid them instead of concealing the truth. Only then a change can be expected that could lead the nation to a promising future.

Ayaz Goraya Wednesday, October 09, 2013 02:27 PM

[QUOTE=Ayaz Goraya;657497]''Who they know, and who they don't know, Can be equal?'' (Quran)
An illetrate and an educated person can't be equal in anyway.All relegions of words stress on getting education because education is the key to success.Being a muslim it is our duty to get education and promote it as well.History is burdened with muslim scholars who contributed in different feids.It is merely because of good standard of eduation at that time.Hazrat Muhammad SAW also stressed to get education.In Ghazwa Badr muslim caught some enimies, They asked to educate muslims.Hazrat Muhammad SAW rewarded teacher as a father.Man can't recognise himself without education.Hazrat Ali RA was a great scholar, he also asked muslim to get education.
Quad e Azam, the father of Pakistan aslo advised muslims to get education.He said to students, ''You should devote yourself wholeheartedly to your study because this is your first obligation to your parents and your state.''
He said, ''World is progressing very fast, we have to educate our nation''[/QUOTE]
Iqbal said, ''Parapogation of western civilization in sub-continent will shatter the unity of muslim.''
Being a muslim we can't follow western education system.They go in fo Co-education while Islam ultimately opposes it.Iqbal is also talking about this difference in the above qoutation.
Education standard of Pakistan is not defective.There is no proper syllabus for subjects, no proper rules and regulations.Educational institutions are considered to reflectors of upcoming days.Education is directly proportional to success.Educational institutions of Pakistan have failed to build a strong nation.There are some salient reasons.Academic books contains some stories, in which a negative characters are seem to be hero of the nation and students prefer to become like that character.This attempt creats decoits and criminals.
Furthermore co-education also affects students personality.The student who used to live in prohibited enviroment since his childhood, when enters in University he fulfills his every wish freely.

Ayaz Goraya Wednesday, October 09, 2013 02:30 PM

[QUOTE=Jolie Dame;657510]Cicero has said "History is the witness of the times, the torch of the truth, the life of memory, the teacher of life, the messenger of antiquity". But this doesn't seem to be heard by Pakistani nation and subsequent governments, because still if we see around we would find many examples of the government repeating same old mistakes. Either it be fear of American attack or an attack by terrorists on the sovereignty of the country, the leadership seems to be pleading for mercy in front of those who invade the peace of Pakistan. Moreover, apparently the government has not ascertained any lesson from the detachment of East Pakistan and hence Balochistan issue has not been able to get the attention of the masters, not even in the light of this drastic epoch of history.

Leadership has been blind to the past or have an inability to admit what wrong has been done to the country. But they need to take a review of history as soon as possible as they say "Those who don't learn history are doomed to repeat it". The next generations must be told what mistakes have been done by their elders so that they could avoid them instead of concealing the truth. Only then a change can be expected that could lead the nation to a promising future.[/QUOTE]
Please check my attempt as well,
i posted in two parts because my cell supports 1024 word in one writing.....

pretender Wednesday, October 09, 2013 05:03 PM

Self done is Well done

self confidence is the essential trait of personality. if a person wants to achieve a prestigious position in society he must have to believe on his own will. otherwise he will under-perform than his potential. is is a fact that goals and achievements of life varies form person to person. therefore the tactics and strategies for achieving those goals are different. to bring an efficiency in your plan to achieve the desire goal, it is necessary to device your strategies at your own. because you cannot get success in life by others hard work. although getting work done through others is a managerial quality of a person but the satisfaction level that you gain from doing by yourself is not possible through others work. the quality that you want in a work cannot comes from by dragging the other people to do work on your be halve. suppose if you are a manager of company and you do not work with your hand than how you can set examples before your subordinates. by indulging yourself into the work and utilizing personal capabilities and abilities you can achieve the desired quality of work work.

please evaluate the passage....

02:45 PM (GMT +5)