01:14 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > Islamic History & Culture

Old Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Shahzad Munir is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Stunner View Post
Ok bro, I'm free at last from my exams .. You can ask anything about Paper 2 now .. I planned to write all my stuff about Islamic History here but the publisher has stopped me from doing so .. ( I'm in the process of compiling a book for CSS Islamic History and will be ready in 3 to 4 months InshaAllah ) .. However, I can answer here whatever questions you have ..

Regards ..
AoA Sir,

Have you completed the book? can i get your contact no. pls?
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by Shahzad Munir View Post
AoA Sir,

Have you completed the book? can i get your contact no. pls?
Waalaikum Salam Bro,

Due to my final year Law studies I wasn't able to compile the book in time .. However it will be ready anytime this year in June/July/August InshaAllah .. Check your reputation points for my contact details ..

Regards ..
isha saeed (Tuesday, March 12, 2013), ubaid bangash (Sunday, August 25, 2013)

isha saeed has a spectacular aura aboutisha saeed has a spectacular aura about

Waalaikum Salam Bro,

Due to my final year Law studies I wasn't able to compile the book in time .. However it will be ready anytime this year in June/July/August InshaAllah .. Check your reputation points for my contact details ..

Regards ..
asalam o alaikum,
Islamic history and culture is my optional for css.
course of paper 2 is very tough for me.
please guide me in this regard.
thank you so very much, your thread is very useful for aspirants.
kindly suggest me how to prepare Islamic history and culture.
i am not good in Islamic history,please give me some tips to cover course in easy way.
i'll be really thankful to you.
may LORD bless you
The Following User Says Thank You to isha saeed For This Useful Post:
Stunner (Tuesday, March 12, 2013)
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by isha saeed View Post
asalam o alaikum,
Islamic history and culture is my optional for css.
course of paper 2 is very tough for me.
please guide me in this regard.
thank you so very much, your thread is very useful for aspirants.
kindly suggest me how to prepare Islamic history and culture.
i am not good in Islamic history,please give me some tips to cover course in easy way.
i'll be really thankful to you.
may LORD bless you
Waalaikum Salam ..

Paper 2 is actually easier as it has a very connected syllabus .. The best way is to keep the syllabus in front of you and prepare it topic by topic .. Following are some posts of this thread related to Paper 2 .. Have a look at them:

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/416332-post6.html

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/511412-post45.html

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/564017-post118.html

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/564085-post121.html

If you still find difficulty in preparing Paper 2, please feel free to ask ..

Regards ..
isha saeed (Tuesday, March 12, 2013), VetDoctor (Tuesday, March 12, 2013)
42nd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 190

azure will become famous soon enough

Well I won't call the Khilafat system as dictatorship .. We had four rightly guided Caliphs and their way of government should be the binding precedent for an ideal Khilafat system .. Their election were democratic with the Shura choosing them and later the 'Bayt' confirming their right to rule .. Dictators are not chosen by any shura or community rather they impose themselves and they do not need any confirmation of their right to rule as they assume to acquire it when they take over ..

When one Caliph died the shura had to chose another and Khilafat was not passed to any family or kin without any consultation .. Dictators freely pass on the power to anyone they want and most dictatorships have been hereditary ..

The Caliphs were questioned for any alleged misuse of public money or property and they were bound to answer .. Even they had to appear in court to clarify if they were asked to and that means submitting to the jurisdiction of a judge .. Means if proven wrong they would even have faced punishment/penalty .. Dictators cannot be questioned and if they are, the consequences for the ones who ask too much are brutal .. Dictators do not submit to the jurisdiction of courts rather they chose their own judges to amend laws and rules in their favour .. Our Pakistani PCO example is one of them ..

There are numerous other examples differing Khilafat and Dictatorship .. They are quite opposed actually .. The problem now a days is that any sort of government which is a little different from modern democratic rules is termed as flawed or dictatorship by the West and our people simply submit to that propaganda ..

When the examiner writes/asks something and especially in analytic questions, it is not necessary to agree with him .. If you can propose a better solution than the one given in question then you must put it forward, backed by solid reasons ..

Regards ..
But the Caliphs himself suggested names of the nominees and out of those nominated, one name was chosen.
-

-
The Qazi was answerable to the Caliph and the supreme power of judge remained with the Caliph. No?
-
-
Whatever i had written in exam, i leave that aside.
But help me in removing these confusions, please.
I still am not convinced that Islamic Rule is a purely democratic. In the life of the Holy Prophet (SAW) He alone had all the powers, He was the statesman, judge, the chief commander... this is visible negation of democracy.
PHILOSOPHER

Originally Posted by azure View Post
But the Caliphs himself suggested names of the nominees and out of those nominated, one name was chosen.
-
Suggesting names of the nominees is different and nominating a single Caliph is different altogether .. The Caliph used his Caliphal prerogative by suggesting the names of the proposed Caliphs, then the Shura had real task of choosing one .. Similarly a presidential candidate for example in the U.S is elected by his party consisting of some members and then he runs for President .. So he is chosen by some and then for confirmation is voted by people .. Now compare the Khilafat aspect of being chosen by Shura and later 'Bayt' by people confirming his right to rule ..

Remember that at time of election of Hazrat Abu Bakar R.A there was a suggestion given when disagreement arose between Ansar and Muahjireen .. Both wanted their leader to rule .. Suggestion was that there should be 2 Caliphs, one from each side .. It was refused by Hazrat Umar R.A on grounds that there could not be 2 sovereigns in a state .. Hence complying purely with modern constitutional law requirements given today ..

The Qazi was answerable to the Caliph and the supreme power of judge remained with the Caliph. No?
This is what is called 'Separation of Powers' in Constitutional law .. The concept is that powers may overlap but no one should transgress into powers or prerogatives of others .. Now remember that there were no codified modern concepts in those days relating constitution and still the mechanism worked perfectly complying with concepts prevalent today .. The Qazi was answerable to Caliph on misconduct and the Caliph to Qazi if the Qazi was approached on alleged misconduct of Caliph .. Compare this with modern concept, for example President appoints judges and can be removed by him as well on misconduct .. Similarly judges have powers to try president .. Both have overlapping powers ..

PS: Do not here be confused with what is going on in Pakistan as there is nothing much democratic about Pakistan .. Democracy does not at all means carrying on with a massively corrupt government .. But people in Pakistan think that if a corrupt government is removed, 'Jamhooriat per shab khoon maarnay ki koshish ho rahi hai' ..

Whatever i had written in exam, i leave that aside.
But help me in removing these confusions, please.
Do not worry about your exam answer .. If you backed it with solid arguments then you will be rewarded for whatever you have written .. There are no right or wrong answers in analytic questions, you just need to put forward your proposal, however, that should be rational and well formulated providing reforms .. That's what examiners look for ..

I still am not convinced that Islamic Rule is a purely democratic. In the life of the Holy Prophet (SAW) He alone had all the powers, He was the statesman, judge, the chief commander... this is visible negation of democracy.
Here I shall try my best to remove your confusion .. Try analyzing democracy and khilafat as two distinct systems .. I never submitted that Caliphal rule was 'purely democratic' .. It is not .. It had some or many democratic aspects however .. My submission was that for today's Muslim Ummah a system consisting of both Khilafat and modern democratic principles should be applied, as a mixture of goods from both systems ..

Returning to your example of Prophet Muhamamd P.B.U.H .. Well, the Khilafat started after Muhammad P.B.U.H and our question concerned with Khilafat and not with powers that Prophet P.B.U.H had .. He was a Prophet right .. ? Sent by God .. He had 11 wives and no other Muslim was and is allowed to have that many .. Prophet David had 100s of wives and so did King Soloman .. The case with Prophets is different .. They are not to err and not to be questioned ..

And lastly, there is no 'Pure democracy' in the world .. Everything has loopholes .. Democracy and its principles are cheated every now and then even in U.K and U.S.A .. Take an example of constitutional convention in the U.K .. It says that a minister should resign if criticized on misconduct .. Well, they do resign in almost all cases (Very unlike Pakistan) .. True till here, complying with the constitution .. However, if the minister is handy and in most cases is handy for the government, he/she is made minister of another ministry .. Isn't the whole purpose of such rules being defeated here .. ? There are dozens of other examples like that ..

I wish and hope your confusions are removed .. Please do not hesitate if you have anything further to ask ..

Regards ..
azure (Thursday, March 14, 2013), Roqayyah (Thursday, March 14, 2013), sadiakanwal (Friday, July 04, 2014)

Asi01 will become famous soon enoughAsi01 will become famous soon enough

@ Stunner!
-
Q5. The role model for Muslim rulers may be as under:-
(i) Monarchy (ii)Khilafat (iii) Democracy
Which one is most practical and suitable to solve major problems of contemporary Muslim Ummah in the light of Islamic teachings?
-
How would you have tackled this question?
Kindly share your approach towards it.
Thank you.
The Muslims have experienced these three above mentioned forms of government. If we analyze the Islamic history, dawned from the Holy Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon Him) to the present. The period of Holy Prophet (PBUH) and four rightly Caliphs was the period in which Islam flourished especially during the first two Caliphs. As one of our friends has termed the caliphate like dictatorship, it is not true because the Holy Prophet believed in the Shura means consultation with his colleagues or Ashabas. After the Prophet (SAW), the elections of Hazrat Abu Bakr (RA) n other Caliphs is the clearly proof that the System of consultation prevailed. The reforms made by Hazrat Umar (RA) and Administration is the example of mutual consensus. So it is not wrong to say that Islam believe in democracy which protects the rights of Muslims and minorities, delivers the justice and provides equal opportunities to all and sundry.
Although the Muslim Ummah is divided in different and multifarious tribes and countries and is suffering from multiple problems. The weak western democracies have destabilized the Muslim countries. The western democracy is different from the Khilafat. So with some modifications in democracy and implementing the Caliphate is only suitable and applicable solution for the problems of Muslim Ummah like it was before the 1924. Although the Muslim was shattered at that time but they were strengthened by their faith and the system given by the Holy Prophet (PBUH). In khilafat, there is the solution of every contemporary problem. Every system whether it is Social. political, economic or judicial in Khilafat strengthened the unity of Muslim Ummah and enhanced their prowess.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Asi01 For This Useful Post:
azure (Thursday, March 14, 2013), Roqayyah (Thursday, March 14, 2013), Stunner (Tuesday, March 12, 2013), syedzafar (Tuesday, April 16, 2013), VetDoctor (Wednesday, March 13, 2013)
Old Wednesday, March 27, 2013

zainab ali is on a distinguished road

Hello Chums,

I had Islamic History as one of the optional subjects in CSS 2012 and I must submit that I fell in love with this subject .. Here, I intend to share all my preparation and paper techniques regarding Islamic History learned throughout my prep span ..

First of all let me eradicate some myths:

1- Islamic History is not a scoring subject ..
Well, remove this 'not' and you get my answer .. In fact it is highly scoring if properly prepared and attempted .. How, we'll discuss in this thread InshaAllah ..

2- It has a very lengthy syllabus ..
Well, to some extent it is true, but proper guidance and to the point preparation makes this lengthy syllabus a very brief one .. There are a few main topics which need to be studied extensively, the remaining bulk of topics need just to be gone through and not to be covered with much detail at all ..

3- It is a dry subject and chunks of material makes it boring ..
Again a wrong perception .. I feel no hesitation in submitting that I fell in love with Islamic History due to its variety and spice, the nobility of its characters, Islamic humour and the fun loving way with which I prepared it ..

Take one example of Islamic humour extract taken from Bernard Lewis' book 'Islam from Prophet Mohammad to the capture of Constantinople':

A man announced that he was God. He was brought before the Caliph Mutawakkil who said to him, "Last year there was someone here who claimed to be a prophet. He was executed." "That was well done," said the man, "for I had not sent him." Kitna barra fankaar tha ..

I watched some documentaries to make my preparation joyful .. I gained much knowledge and also some extra-ordinary quotes from those documentaries .. Specially knowledge relating architecture and Islamic boom in education and medicine was superbly described in them .. Here are some that I watched:

1- Islam - Empire of faith
2- The legacy of a Prophet P.B.U.H
3- When Moors ruled in Europe

You can download all these movies easily through torrents .. If you find any difficulty let me know and I will post the exact links .. I would recommend all Islamic History aspirants to watch these documentaries .. I got a lot of insight from them .. For example in 'When Moors ruled in Europe' while mentioning the difference in advancement of Muslim physicians in Spain and those of other European doctors, the English Historian Bettany Hughes notes from the accounts of a Muslim doctor:

They brought me a Knight who had an abscess in his leg and a woman suffering from consumption. I made a plaster for the Knight and his swelling opened and improved. For the woman I suggested a diet to regulate metabolism and cure her consumption. But then the Frankish doctor arrived and objected. 'Bring me a strong Knight with a sharp axe' he said. The Knight struck a powerful blow to his leg and wound burst, the Knight died having lost much of his blood. As for the woman he suggested that a devil must have entered her head and he cut her head with a blade in a cross shape and rubbed salt into it. The woman died instantly. 'I returned home, having learned much about the medicine of the Christians'. (Waisay aaj kal ye sab hamaray mulk mein ho raha hai) ..

Now you can note the way with which Bettany Hughes contrasts the caliber of Muslim and other doctors at the times of Spanish Islam. I used the above mentioned quote in my paper too.

Book Sources:

Dear friends, I'm a book lover and I do not personally believe in one book policy. I used as much as 8 or 9 books for Islamic History alone. But I won't recommend you to study that many books, because that might well be a reason for my low score (God forbid) Here are the books I suggest:

1- A short history of Islam - Mazhar ul Haq
2- History of Arabs - P.K Hitti
3- Spanish Islam - Reinhardt Dozy

Use Mazhar ul Haq's book for pet knowledge and the other two for contrasting views and quotes .. You can add criticizing comments of the above mentioned European writers in your answers but do not forget to defend Islam to the fullest. You have to negate any negative comments from them. This will show and extra in-depth and will fetch additional marks ..

So friends, do opt for this subject if you got love for it. Prepare by staying on the right track and it will fetch excellent marks for you InshaAllah .. You are free to ask any questions you have .. I'll keep posting remaining points and stuff InshaAllah ..

Best of luck ..

Regards ..
i was totally in mess about subject selection and now i made my full mind to go for islamic history iA.please guide me step wise.thanx
The Following User Says Thank You to zainab ali For This Useful Post:
Stunner (Thursday, March 28, 2013)
Old Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Thanked 1,265 Times in 674 Posts
VetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to allVetDoctor is a name known to all
Default @ zainab

After going through this thread right from the 1st post, you'll not need any guidance.
the whole course of Islamic history has been explained in a friendly way in this thread.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to VetDoctor For This Useful Post:
Stunner (Thursday, March 28, 2013), zainab ali (Thursday, March 28, 2013)
Old Thursday, March 28, 2013
PHILOSOPHER

Originally Posted by zainab ali View Post
i was totally in mess about subject selection and now i made my full mind to go for islamic history iA.please guide me step wise.thanx
Congratulations on making a wise decision .. Start with the syllabus in front of you and prepare topic by topic .. If you find any difficulty, explore through this thread and InshaAllah you'll find a way for preparing and attempting the paper .. Still if any of your questions remain un-answered then ask here without any hesitation .. Best of luck ..

Regards ..
Traveller (Sunday, March 31, 2013), VetDoctor (Thursday, March 28, 2013), Young Hafiz (Saturday, October 18, 2014), zainab ali (Thursday, March 28, 2013)