Tuesday, May 14, 2024
01:20 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Jobs & Scholarships > Scholarships

Old Monday, June 10, 2013

EngrHamza is on a distinguished road

Received the following email from HEC

"Dear Applicant,

This is with reference to your previous email in which you have submitted your preferences. It is to inform you that our higher Authorities did not approve case for MS Leading to PhD for Italy and Germany, so you can apply for the other countries mentioned in the previous email.

For: Turkey

Kindly apply in the following universities of Turkey:

· Bilkent University (if admission are opened)

· Middle East Technical University

· Koc University

· Sabanci University

Note: Please contact only with relevant person for your queries. Addresses are available on the relevant University website.

Syed.M. Ali.

HRDI-UESTPs/UETs

Higher Education Commission,

Islamabad"

I have given preference of Italy and Germany .. Couldn't the HEC informed us earlier

omama is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by suhailahmadkhan View Post
yaar omama bhai!! do you have any cell number, skype id or facebook account.
Dude ask anything I will help you as much I can.

suhailahmadkhan is on a distinguished road

answer following questions plz. you may have got answers as you have visisted hec today

1. What did they say about usa for ms leading to phd
2. is germany and italy removed only for ms leading to phd.
3.if somebody has alredy got admission in italy or turkey(no tution fee), can he be allowed there to study on hec scholarship

Originally Posted by suhailahmadkhan View Post
answer following questions plz. you may have got answers as you have visisted hec today

1. What did they say about usa for ms leading to phd
2. is germany and italy removed only for ms leading to phd.
3.if somebody has alredy got admission in italy or turkey(no tution fee), can he be allowed there to study on hec scholarship
1)For USA there are total 5 seats( 2 for PhD and 3 MS leading PhD). Shortlisted candidate who fulfill eligibility criteria of University of Florida and New Mexico can apply for admission.If more than 3 students for MS leading PhD are admitted then HEC will decide based on merit.So choice is yours as it admissions are for next session.Applying and waiting for it may loose other university admissions.

2)Yes.Germany and Italy are only for PhD studies.

3)In case of Italy as I was admitted and I have offer letter with me when I visit HEC,they didn't approve me saying only PhD eligible. You can further proceed your application if you have got admission in Turkey as MS leading PhD are allowed there.

Anything else.
suhailahmadkhan (Monday, June 10, 2013)

Aqeel Ahmed Soomro is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by noorahmed View Post
Got email from HEC
They will contact Business Admin group students probably in coming week.
so wish u good luck. finally the business Adm group result is going to be announced. it means this scholarship is efficient than 90%.

Last edited by Aqeel Ahmed Soomro; Monday, June 10, 2013 at 09:48 PM. Reason: correction
The Following User Says Thank You to Aqeel Ahmed Soomro For This Useful Post:
noorahmed (Tuesday, June 11, 2013)

Polestar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by EngrHamza View Post
Received the following email from HEC

"Dear Applicant,

This is with reference to your previous email in which you have submitted your preferences. It is to inform you that our higher Authorities did not approve case for MS Leading to PhD for Italy and Germany, so you can apply for the other countries mentioned in the previous email.

For: Turkey

Kindly apply in the following universities of Turkey:

· Bilkent University (if admission are opened)

· Middle East Technical University

· Koc University

· Sabanci University

Note: Please contact only with relevant person for your queries. Addresses are available on the relevant University website.

Syed.M. Ali.

HRDI-UESTPs/UETs

Higher Education Commission,

Islamabad"

I have given preference of Italy and Germany .. Couldn't the HEC informed us earlier
HEC has declined my initial preferences as well and now i am at complete loss in seeking new options. HEC also says
Please contact only with relevant person for your queries.
I am going to apply in korea and turkey now. Is there someone who has been following these options & Can he/she please share the contact info of these so called relevant persons?

sonia5 is on a distinguished road

is there someone who has applied for Social Sciences and has been contacted by HEC?
Old Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Noblemaster is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Polestar View Post
HEC has declined my initial preferences as well and now i am at complete loss in seeking new options. HEC also says
Please contact only with relevant person for your queries.
I am going to apply in korea and turkey now. Is there someone who has been following these options & Can he/she please share the contact info of these so called relevant persons?
- Koc University Turkey: JPACHECO[a]ku.edu.tr
- Hanyang Korea: ohmykim[a]hanyang.ac.kr
The Following User Says Thank You to Noblemaster For This Useful Post:
Polestar (Wednesday, June 12, 2013)

Crystal Clear is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by omama View Post
Dear Members,

Today I paid a visit to HEC Islamabad and talked to Sajid Mahmood and another guy from HRD and this is what I got.

1)Every shortlisted candidate will be given chance and that upto the him or her to qualify admission criteria or interview etc.
*In previous scholarship some students were rejected....
Because they were given chances and they were unable to express themselves in front of selection committee (like German,Chinese,Korean etc)

2)Only PhD students are eligible for Germany (Selection through DAAD experts) or Italy.(The reason for this is HEC will provide upto 70 lake for each student so it is very difficult to pursue MS leading PhD in this amount)

3)For Ms leading PhD you can apply to Turkey,China ans South Korea.

4)HEC will provide every possible help for VISA application but it is the sole responsibility of applicant to get VISA.

5)Stipend will be good enough to cover your daily expenses and needs.

6)Turkey and Korea are very cooperating in regard with student admission.America process is very slow and highly competitive.
70 Lac is enough for MS leading to PhD in Germany, because HEC provide 1000 Euro per month and the average expanse in Germany is 300 to 400 Euro.
So this is not the reason that 70 Lac is not enough for MS leading to PhD, there is something else, most of us have selected Germany as it is a leading country in the field of Engineering, so HEC should give the option of Germany to MS leading to PhD candidates.

Originally Posted by Crystal Clear View Post
70 Lac is enough for MS leading to PhD in Germany, because HEC provide 1000 Euro per month and the average expanse in Germany is 300 to 400 Euro.
So this is not the reason that 70 Lac is not enough for MS leading to PhD, there is something else, most of us have selected Germany as it is a leading country in the field of Engineering, so HEC should give the option of Germany to MS leading to PhD candidates.
My further correspondence in this regard with Syed Wasim Hashmi is as under

"There are few issues with Master program at Italy and Germany, its taking two and half/ three years for already studying students in Germany and Italy, we have funding for five year for MS leading to PhD, if a scholar will spend three years for Master then it won’t be possible for him/her to complete PhD in two years. So on safe side we are only considering PhD students for these countries.

Wasim Hashmi Syed"

I know that Germany is one of the best country for Engineering & Technology,that's why I also prefer Germany.
I would suggest that you people should pay a visit to HEC.They are very cooperative.Talk to them about your reservations and may be they can change their mind.