03:48 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Monday, June 18, 2012

Ghazanfar Ali is on a distinguished road
Default For all who have come to blows for nothing

"If A is success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut". (Albert Einstein)
Success is nothing but few right things practiced daily. There is no hard and fast rule to define success. To make it more simple, one can say that there are four ingredients of success.
1. Define your Goals
2. Make arrangements to meet that goals
3. Consistant hard work
4. Finnaly come the matter of CHANCE (This is called LUCK)
Man can only struggle and rest is in the hands of HEAVENS. One should struggle hard and leave the rest to ALLAH.
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by samia fakhar View Post
well Bilal Hassan, i m saying the same. i am not saying that if there is option of NONE OF THESE so it means that this option (none of these) can't be correct.... if the paper setter has given the option of NONE OF THEM means it has the same weighatge to be selected by examinee as other three options have... If examiner is playing the trick by giving this option it means this option (none of them) has the same chance to be selected i.e 25% whether it is correct or wrong. Now it is pure LUCK of examinee that he is choosing correct option or wrong on the basis of wild guesses and correct option may be any one of 4 options including NONE OF THEM..
wellmy dear Samia i think you are just doing it on the basis of probability theory, if it is so then let me tell you that all these are not mutually exclusive events...
38th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 702

rizvan is on a distinguished road

dere is a difference btw hardwork and smartwork....if someone selects the optional subjects whch are more scoring and points out only 10 most expected questions n prepare dere answers, he surely would surpass the hardworker who have had opted low scoring subjects and has prepared lets say 30 topics for every subject...my frnds hardwork neva guarantees u success where as smartwork increases ur chances for success.for css u shuld b a smart worker rather den a hardworker.
luck is wid people who work smartly....ur success depends more on ur selection optional subjects and scoring trend den ur hardwork.half of the ppl commenting here have neither appeared in css or are still waitin for results dats the reason dey r saying dat exaimer is not biased n dere is no such thing as scoring subjects or trend.i hve seen many extraordinary ppl gettin failed or scoring very low in css only due to the scoring trend in certain subjects n not due to lack of dere preparation or expertise in the subject.n i hve also seen many ppl scoring much higher den wot dey r capable of due to scoring subjects
yes luck does count in css but the smarter u work the better chances for ur luck to shine
The Following User Says Thank You to rizvan For This Useful Post:
Mystic Enigma (Monday, June 18, 2012)

samia fakhar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
wellmy dear Samia i think you are just doing it on the basis of probability theory, if it is so then let me tell you that all these are not mutually exclusive events...
Brother, niether I am interested to prove my stance as complicated as PROBABILITY THEORY is nor i am trying to prove that a particualr event is mutually exclusive or not... by word PROBABILITY i mean to say CHANCE or POSIBILITY...
well brother, i m just trying to say that there is quite a significant room for LUCK in CSS. even for fetching a single mark through MCQ u have 25% chance of GOOD LUCK on the basis of even blunt guess... and intelligent guess will increase the quota and vice versa....
Old Tuesday, June 19, 2012
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Brother, niether I am interested to prove my stance as complicated as PROBABILITY THEORY is nor i am trying to prove that a particualr event is mutually exclusive or not... by word PROBABILITY i mean to say CHANCE or POSIBILITY...
well brother, i m just trying to say that there is quite a significant room for LUCK in CSS. even for fetching a single mark through MCQ u have 25% chance of GOOD LUCK on the basis of even blunt guess... and intelligent guess will increase the quota and vice versa....
well you have called me brother twice, you have made me very emotional and it would have been more adoring had you called me Bhai instead...
i won't argue any more with you sister and i undoubtedly second your opinion whatever your accord is...

Originally Posted by rizvan View Post
dere is a difference btw hardwork and smartwork....if someone selects the optional subjects whch are more scoring and points out only 10 most expected questions n prepare dere answers, he surely would surpass the hardworker who have had opted low scoring subjects and has prepared lets say 30 topics for every subject...my frnds hardwork neva guarantees u success where as smartwork increases ur chances for success.for css u shuld b a smart worker rather den a hardworker.
luck is wid people who work smartly....ur success depends more on ur selection optional subjects and scoring trend den ur hardwork.half of the ppl commenting here have neither appeared in css or are still waitin for results dats the reason dey r saying dat exaimer is not biased n dere is no such thing as scoring subjects or trend.i hve seen many extraordinary ppl gettin failed or scoring very low in css only due to the scoring trend in certain subjects n not due to lack of dere preparation or expertise in the subject.n i hve also seen many ppl scoring much higher den wot dey r capable of due to scoring subjects
yes luck does count in css but the smarter u work the better chances for ur luck to shine
Rizwan bhai the high scoring and low scoring theory is correct then would you please tell us about the subjects that are high scoring and likely to remain so in future if we opt them for CE 2013, and which one to avoid???

Last edited by Amna; Tuesday, June 19, 2012 at 12:48 PM. Reason: merged
Old Wednesday, June 20, 2012

mukt will become famous soon enoughmukt will become famous soon enough

Very exactly, i m saying the same thing.thanx for justifying my stance. If there is certain inefficiencies on the part of FPSC then it means it is increasing the quota of LUCK for aspirants. e.g will it not be my luck that in particular year there is a tough competition in KPK for example and the next year in KPK aspirants will not facing the same resistance which there previous fellows would have faced? If I am from rural sindh for example and I get the chance to be allocated on merit no 250 and u are from punjab and u don't get chance to be allocated(Khuda na Khawasta, my best wishes for u) on merit no 150, then of course u are hard working, more commited and more competent than me but I am lucky enough.. This is for what I am giving space to LUCK factor.sad
It has NOTHING to do with luck, It simply means that the quota system of FSPC is flawed and illogical, If there is something as LUCK then it should be unconditional whereas the situation here is totally different. It is depriving someone of their rights and has nothing to do with good or bad luck. If there's something on the face of the earth what you call LUCK then it should not be conditional whereas it's very conditional here i.e THE FSPC has drafted a FLAWED quota policy due to which aspirants of Punjab suffer the most.

Is it not seem that whatever I am saying is the product of good and reasonable mind research? well joke apart, someone borrowed my book I will soon come up with the names of those educationalists who have given the same opinion.
Which book?

we can't root out the possibility of good luck. a person with good luck but with less hard work can be equalized with a person with hard work.
I don't agree.

How?
1 - Due to misunderstanding
2 - In a dream

1) There is difference between wild guesses and intelligent guess. In wild guess we do not have any idea and we have to go for one option out of four (means 25% room for my luck). On the other hand intelligent guesses may even prove more dengerous than wild guesses and vice versa. e.g in answer of one MCQ i know that (a) is not correct and (d) is also not correct. on the basis of my knowledge and intelligent guess i will either select (b) or (c). now 50% to go for wrong option and the same 50% chance to go for correct option. Here the quota for LUCK has been increased to 50% from 25%.
Intelligent guesses are MORE secure and fruitful as compared to Wild guesses and I am sure you have a background of statistics and probability and I won't need to prove it to you as you will already agree, But If not, I can prove it to you with mathematical probability.

Now, Point worth noticing is that INTELLIGENT guesses can only INCREASE If you have more knowledge and obviously more knowledge will come with more hard work so It means that it's not the luck favoring but it's the hard work favoring.

Very simple

2) There is no prescribe course for MCQs at least. May be you have gone through 50 concepts and among them 20 appear in paper and I have gone through 200 concepts but examiner starts asking from 201 or 202. Again u are lucky enough. No doubt my chance of coverage of MCQs is more than ur chance but again LUCK can play its part.
That's unrealistic, as far as the exams are concerned. There is a syllabus to follow and If you have properly covered the topics in depth, it is likely that you will do well which some people like calling "GOOD LUCK" but it's just the hard work and study done and on other hand someone would have just gone through the topics and not covered them properly and when encountered with mcqs of which he has no idea, he will call it "bad luck"

Again, very simple

3) The given options are too interrelated which can confuse the aspirant.e.g for a single MCQ u go for option (a) and i go for option (b). I will have my own reasons to select (b) based on my logics and u will have ur own logics to go for (a). (as the asked questions are most of time based on reasons and logics specially in socail sciences e.g in sociology, journalism etc)
If your reasons are based on the study you have done and you know what you are doing then the chances are that you will do good on the contrary if you start using LOGIC in pak affairs or current affairs etc and have no proper and relevant knowledge on what is being asked then good luck for that sort of logic.. yeah people will call it "BAD luck" but they will never understand that logic is something best fitted with mathematics as far as it is used for making guesses or solving things on hand. You can't use logic in history because many events will appear to be illogical for which there will be no explanation
Old Wednesday, June 20, 2012

samia fakhar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mukt View Post
It has NOTHING to do with luck, It simply means that the quota system of FSPC is flawed and illogical, If there is something as LUCK then it should be unconditional whereas the situation here is totally different. It is depriving someone of their rights and has nothing to do with good or bad luck. If there's something on the face of the earth what you call LUCK then it should not be conditional whereas it's very conditional here i.e THE FSPC has drafted a FLAWED quota policy due to which aspirants of Punjab suffer the most.

Which book?

I don't agree.

1 - Due to misunderstanding
2 - In a dream

Intelligent guesses are MORE secure and fruitful as compared to Wild guesses and I am sure you have a background of statistics and probability and I won't need to prove it to you as you will already agree, But If not, I can prove it to you with mathematical probability.

Now, Point worth noticing is that INTELLIGENT guesses can only INCREASE If you have more knowledge and obviously more knowledge will come with more hard work so It means that it's not the luck favoring but it's the hard work favoring.

Very simple

That's unrealistic, as far as the exams are concerned. There is a syllabus to follow and If you have properly covered the topics in depth, it is likely that you will do well which some people like calling "GOOD LUCK" but it's just the hard work and study done and on other hand someone would have just gone through the topics and not covered them properly and when encountered with mcqs of which he has no idea, he will call it "bad luck"

Again, very simple

If your reasons are based on the study you have done and you know what you are doing then the chances are that you will do good on the contrary if you start using LOGIC in pak affairs or current affairs etc and have no proper and relevant knowledge on what is being asked then good luck for that sort of logic.. yeah people will call it "BAD luck" but they will never understand that logic is something best fitted with mathematics as far as it is used for making guesses or solving things on hand. You can't use logic in history because many events will appear to be illogical for which there will be no explanation

Uff it will require a lenghty explanation...

1) Well whatever is the case, if I am benefited besides low performance in my written, psychological and viva voce because of ineffectiveness of any body or organization apart form the fact that there is some one who have scored good enough in all three phases, then tell me what you will call this blessing for me? (Now there is no question of conditions) and what will you name this happening for a person belonging to Punjab? Just tell me if a person with low academics go for allocations then is it not his or her good luck. Well I am not trying to surpass the rules and regulation of FPSC… again I am not saying that it is permanent phenomena; the effective policies can reduce these tendencies. I discussed it earlier that luck factor should be replaced with hard work…

2) Evaluation techniques by Dr Mehmooda Rehman ( I forgot her counter part writer) I.E.R Peshawar University.
Evaluation techniques( again I am not sure about the whole name of the book) but written by Allama Iqbal Open University.(well as I have told u that I do not have the books at the moment but I have photocopy of a particular topic and I am quoting it here)
Topic 2.3.3 Multiple choice type test
Sub heading limitations and the sentence is like this: examinees who do not know correct answer can succeed in guessing. (page # 171). I wish I would have whole book with me.

3) well if u are agree I am happy and if u are not agree I am happier… It’s up to you. Of course I can’t compel you to agree with me.. but I have given you the logic now my task is finished.

4) You said due to misunderstanding and in dream, then plz I also want to learn how to dream a truth and how to convert a very significant reality in to misunderstanding and day dreaming. It seems an art to me and I want to learn it from you. I will be indebted for.

5) Well again I am impressed. How you analyze my statement it shows extra ordinary abilities of analyzing the thing. Now you will ask me how I come to know. Then let me tell you I do not only have a very good back ground of statistics but I also have a very good background of EDUCATION in both fields theory and in practice.. and it is again very good that you are watching the bright side of the picture but let me tell you there are two sides of coin and you can reverse the case which you have mentioned in your statement… e.g you eliminate option (a) and (d) on basis of your intelligent guess. Now the remaining two options are (b) and (c). u go for (b) but the correct is (c) THEN my brother????????? Now what about your intelligent guess????

6) Yes very simple…. Now I can’t say any thing but I will just say that can u plz any case who have corrected all MCQs in all papers???? Means CSS has no evidence of hard worker aspirant??

7) Of course I can’t go for logics in pak affairs and current affairs but there are subjects in which I can apply the channels for collecting the correct answer. The good example is economics, statistics etc…

And last not the least. Good analysis… I appreciate.
Old Saturday, June 23, 2012

assassin007 is on a distinguished road

Being novice i have firm belief on luck, specially in css. . . before i gestured the quantity about 50% but now after knowing the checking procedure i think the quantity should be 80 or 80+ and no doubt one has to put efforts because without efforts it's not possible. . magar bhaiya luck ka hona bhi to matter karta hai na
43rd CTP (PAS)

Originally Posted by assassin007 View Post
Being novice i have firm belief on luck, specially in css. . . before i gestured the quantity about 50% but now after knowing the checking procedure i think the quantity should be 80 or 80+ and no doubt one has to put efforts because without efforts it's not possible. . magar bhaiya luck ka hona bhi to matter karta hai na
what have you come to know about checking procedure that has enhanced your believe on luck so drastically???

assassin007 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
what have you come to know about checking procedure that has enhanced your believe on luck so drastically???
As far as i know, i have heard that each compulsory paper is to be checked by one person. . and imagine if the strength is of 9000, and one have to check (one compulsory subject) into limited period of three months than what will be the condition of that person?? Than here you are at his disposal. . so i think essence of luck does matter in the recipe of css :-) i hope i have answered your question ???