Tuesday, May 28, 2024
11:20 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Jobs & Scholarships > Scholarships

Old Wednesday, February 08, 2012
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by shahabuddinshah View Post
@azzee

Azzee i have been selected for france under physical sciences category, I had done 3 years Honours and 1 year masters in mathematics. I have searched and found some universities of france which are relevent to me. I want to ask you that should I apply for masters in france or PhD. Since I am unable to find MS leading to PhD thing in France. Either they have masters or PhD. I have found few universities which offer exactly what I want to learn and then research about. But the issue is all of those courses are offered at masters and I can't find PhD exactly the same way as I find masters there. I want to pursue my course in Mathematics Vision and Learning you can see it on this link:

[UFR Mathématiques et Informatique] : Master Mathématiques Appliquées

But it is offered at masters level and not PhD level. and it is a 2 years masters. and someone told me that HEC offers or allow 1+3 years for MS leading to PhD that is 1 year for MS and 3 years for PhD. How can I manage that, since masters is usually of 2 years there .Please guide me in this situation since I am confused about whether to search and apply for masters or PhD in French Universities and research institutes. I have been to campusfrance.org site. I went through all of my concerned uni's but above is the only exact match according to me. I personally think and feel that I should apply for masters since there are so many subjects that I never studied in my masters at Pakistan. What do you suggest. please explain in detail. don't be brief. its a request.

Further more I can not translate next pages after following link:

Google Translate

google is unable to translate it. I want it translated because that is the page through which I have to apply for masters.

Please help me in this regard
Bro, it would be feasible for you to use Google Chrome (Latest Version Preferably). It automatically translates the whole page into English. You just need to 'Check' that it converts all pages in French to English.

In France, License is equal to Bachelors of UK (i.e. 16 years of Education). Masters is of 2 years and Doctorate 3 years. So I think we need to apply for Masters that is equivalent to MPhil and this would secure our way to get admission in Doctorate.

I would recommend, as did azzee, to visit CampusFrance - Education en France - Study in France - Estudiar en Francia - Etudier en France - Study abroad in France - Centre pour les Etudes En France - CEF, it may answer your queries...

44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by flowers View Post
there was little issue with my Gat score , got mixed, so today that solved and i came to know today that i am shortlisted for france . i am from media studies group. i am so confused. i did not find any kind of helping material on hec website as they remove that if you have kindly mail me..
i did not contact any university still
I don't think there is anything helpful on HEC website except their 'Instructions' for the candidates, regarding interviews. I would try to find any suitable universities relevant to your field of study and would email you. InshaALLAH.

engrsaad is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by shahabuddinshah View Post
google is unable to translate it. I want it translated because that is the page through which I have to apply for masters.

Please help me in this regard
try Yahoo Translator

flowers is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by courageneverdies View Post
I don't think there is anything helpful on HEC website except their 'Instructions' for the candidates, regarding interviews. I would try to find any suitable universities relevant to your field of study and would email you. InshaALLAH.

i did not find any kind of instructions now, can you please e mail me those instruction ..
on
*******@hotmail.com

Last edited by Amna; Saturday, May 19, 2012 at 05:08 AM. Reason: email id shared

azzee is on a distinguished road
Default Master and MS in france

dear all I have some personal engagement in these days thats why replying late

well there are question in every one's mind regarding master and MS in france

well for all of you please go to Degree descriptions section on campusfrance the link is given below
Degree descriptions > CampusFrance

there u find 1-Master degree and The 2- Mastère Spécialisé (MS) click the MS pdf file and study

(if you read the description of MS u find the following text)

Admission to MS programs is based on the following criteria:
• Successful completion of 5 years of postsecondary study (diplôme d’ingénieur,5-year management degree, or other 5-year professional degree), regardless ofexperience;
• Successful completion of 4 years of postsecondary study, plus at least 3 years of
professional experience demonstrating the knowledge and skills required for
success in a post-master degree program.

I think we all(haveing B.E and those having 16 years of education) fall in either of above two options so dear it is better to get acceptance from MS program

also when i consulted the relevant uni professor he replied that u have to complete 1 year MS before PhD

I THINK ALL IS CLEAR NOW

Dr Nasim is on a distinguished road

yes brother,
By the grace of allah almighty,i have been short listed for france under Medical sciences.thanks all

xoheb is on a distinguished road

So , now that everyone for France is Garden Garden, can someone for Germany kindly pitch in ? Its one tuff nut to crack, i mean it doesnt even progress to the Proposal discussion or sharing stage, all they say is sorry, either we arent accepting new students or that our capacity is full. i have already tried more than a 100 emails to different professors, all seperately, the situation unfortunately looks very discouaging. Is it the same with other fields aswell i.e engineering, social sciences etc ?

engrsaad is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by xoheb View Post
So , now that everyone for France is Garden Garden, can someone for Germany kindly pitch in ? Its one tuff nut to crack, i mean it doesnt even progress to the Proposal discussion or sharing stage, all they say is sorry, either we arent accepting new students or that our capacity is full. i have already tried more than a 100 emails to different professors, all seperately, the situation unfortunately looks very discouaging. Is it the same with other fields aswell i.e engineering, social sciences etc ?

@xoheb
I am short listed for Germany under Engineering and Technology (Electronics). I have only contacted one professor indirectly through a currently enrolled Pakistani PhD student at his group. I sent him my recommendation letters, statement of purpose, CV and academic documents. That pakistani mate told me that Professor might interview me in a few days. Lets see how does the professor respond.

One thing worth mentioning is that I did not send him any research proposal. I was told that research proposal is not very important at this stage (since I have funding). If professor finds my profile attractive, he might ask me to prepare a proposal.

What universites have you targeted and what is your area of specialization, to be specific?

shahabuddinshah is on a distinguished road
Default @azzee

But azzee, I think no one of us possesses 5 years post secondary degree. So how can we apply for The 2- Mastère Spécialisé (MS). Don't you think we are only eligible to 1-Master degree and not for mastere specialise(MS) according to French universities and their criteria

Originally Posted by azzee View Post
dear all I have some personal engagement in these days thats why replying late

well there are question in every one's mind regarding master and MS in france

well for all of you please go to Degree descriptions section on campusfrance the link is given below
Degree descriptions > CampusFrance

there u find 1-Master degree and The 2- Mastère Spécialisé (MS) click the MS pdf file and study

(if you read the description of MS u find the following text)

Admission to MS programs is based on the following criteria:
• Successful completion of 5 years of postsecondary study (diplôme d’ingénieur,5-year management degree, or other 5-year professional degree), regardless ofexperience;
• Successful completion of 4 years of postsecondary study, plus at least 3 years of
professional experience demonstrating the knowledge and skills required for
success in a post-master degree program.

I think we all(haveing B.E and those having 16 years of education) fall in either of above two options so dear it is better to get acceptance from MS program

also when i consulted the relevant uni professor he replied that u have to complete 1 year MS before PhD

I THINK ALL IS CLEAR NOW

shahabuddinshah is on a distinguished road

@azzee: besides that I don't have 3 years of experience

Thanks Bro, My issue is resolved since last night I found another word file for international students on that website. Which I couldn't find for so many days.

Originally Posted by courageneverdies View Post
Bro, it would be feasible for you to use Google Chrome (Latest Version Preferably). It automatically translates the whole page into English. You just need to 'Check' that it converts all pages in French to English.

In France, License is equal to Bachelors of UK (i.e. 16 years of Education). Masters is of 2 years and Doctorate 3 years. So I think we need to apply for Masters that is equivalent to MPhil and this would secure our way to get admission in Doctorate.

I would recommend, as did azzee, to visit CampusFrance - Education en France - Study in France - Estudiar en Francia - Etudier en France - Study abroad in France - Centre pour les Etudes En France - CEF, it may answer your queries...