08:36 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Pakistan Intelligence Agencies Jobs > Intelligence Bureau (IB)

Old Sunday, June 26, 2016

justsid is on a distinguished road

To be honest sir @imbindas has the most pragmatic and mature thinking and what he is stating is so close to truth and perfectly conforming to our country's trend.

N is best will become famous soon enough

I bet, the following link will end all the discussion..

http://www.dawn.com/news/848596/staf...ave-ib-spyless

Dawn SearchSEARCH
Staff drain may leave IB spyless
HASAN ABDULLAH —

WHATSAPP
0 COMMENTS
EMAIL
PRINT
KARACHI, Jan 13 A growing number of middle-ranking officers working for the Intelligence Bureau (IB) are desperate to leave the spy agency seeking other options, well-placed sources have told Dawn.

There is a growing feeling within the agency that it stands today “no more than a sarkari akhbaar with its officers collecting reports from TV and friends in journalism”, said an Islamabad-based assistant director at the IB.

“We simply collect these IR (information reports), put them together in the form of a DSR (daily situation report) and forward it to the prime minister,” he said, adding that “journalists are quicker and tend to know more than us anyway”.

A grade-17 IB officer told Dawn that one of the reasons why many of the BPS 17 and 18 officials felt disgruntled was because “the actual work we do nowhere matches our expectations in terms of the nature of the work. I'd rather quit and join the ISI if I get the opportunity”.

The officer claimed that many of his colleagues were desperate to switch over to other institutions. He narrated the story of two assistant directors on an advanced promotional course at the IB's Islamabad Academy who are now facing disciplinary action.

According to him, the two ADs had sought a no-objection certificate (NOC) from their seniors to be able to appear in an examination for a post at the provincial level. “When they were denied permission, they felt they had to take the risk and go ahead with the exam. They will now face the music.”

A newly-appointed assistant director told Dawn that while he agreed that his actual work nowhere matched what he had expected before joining, he could not ignore the monetary factor.

“On average a grade-17 IB officer gets around Rs18,000 basic salary. There is a tiny house allowance which effectively works out to be around Rs5,000. In contrast, the ISI offers lucrative packages even to civilian recruits. Risk allowance, displacement allowance, impressive house allowance and a car just to name a few things they (ISI) offer.”

He cited the case of a fellow assistant director who resigned from the agency a few days ago citing major housing issues in the city he was transferred to. The officer also claimed that currently four assistant directors appointed from Sindh are living in the new office block at Punjab Provincial HQ in Lahore.

“They have arranged their own mattresses and there is no official arrangement for food,” he said, adding “I dont wish to sound arrogant but you cant just dump officers like that. After all we have worked really hard to get here.”

“I cannot disclose the exact funding as it is a classified matter, but I do believe that all that money could be better channelled to the ISI instead as they are doing a brilliant job,” said a senior official posted at the PPHQ in Lahore. He acknowledged that his officers were facing housing problems but attributed that to “limited funding”.

A deputy director at the IB claimed that to an extent the agency had become redundant because of the overlapping of operational domains with the Special Branch and the ISI. “There is a lot of overlapping of work between us and the SB. But we do have a technical edge over the other agencies as our domestic surveillance capabilities are unmatched,” he said. But he added that he was in favour of a “national security force that could be a merger between the IB, SB and possibly even the FIA. I think that could eliminate the lack of coordination problem and bring all the skills together under one hat. ”

But not all officials consider overlapping as a negative factor. “While you may argue that overlapping means spending double the money on the same task, equally you can also argue that such overlapping in intelligence business means more credible intelligence,” argued one senior IB official. He acknowledged that many men were quitting the agency, but added that “many of our officers are keen to quit because they have repeatedly sought arrest powers and the DG has categorically rejected that request. The men who want to quit are simply power hungry and want to be able to pick up whoever they want”.

Dawn called IB's Director General Dr Shoaib Suddle for his comments but he said that there was an official policy that prohibited serving intelligence chiefs from being quoted in the media.
The Following User Says Thank You to N is best For This Useful Post:
imbindas (Sunday, June 26, 2016)

Lazar Iqbal is on a distinguished road

The crux of the whole discussion is that intelligence services are the worst jobs on the face of Pakistan, All the Pakistan shud try it's best not to be part of such useless service,
I'm really feeling sorry for you least interested guys who 1st appeared in MCQs paper,
Then they appeared for descriptive test, then these people appeared in Psychological test,
& then in interview,, Oh poor souls, who had nothing useful to do if they were not interested at all...
I can just pray for Bindas & company, & by the way it's a passion to be the EYES OF THE NATION being the part of the Pakistan 's Cover... Ease hungry aspirants won't understand it,

Sent from my S7 using Tapatalk

Feroz A is on a distinguished road

Dear imbindas, lazar iqbal is topper of this batch (since merit no.1 may not join) and as he stated earlier serving in bs.17 in M.O.D..
If you were not aspiring for this job its fine but u should not demotivate somenoe who is topper of this batch and already serving in bs.17..
I respect you because you topped in tehsildar exam..such a hard approach does not suit a topper and both of you are topper of your respective batches..

idealsome is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by imbindas View Post
Dear friend, i am happy that you joined this thread, a much of relief. You must be competent person, but here we talk about organization and those people who are comparing IB to CIA or Mossad
Please read my each and every post, and tell us, what did i say wrong? Correct me If i am wrong
AOA @imbindas

One should respect advises of others.... I sincerely respect whatever you say and whatever others are mentioning here in this forum on the basis of their respective experiences. However I do have few queries and I believe you and any other friend on the forum would try to answer it adequately.

1- Since you have mentioned civilians in ISI has no powers, no importance or access to information etc, why do these civilians face hectic security clearance, post joining restricted life and/or surveillance etc??

2- The world appreciates the working of our intelligence apparatus esp. of ISI, so all that praise worthy tasks have/had been completed by uniformed officers only???

I met someone who claims to be civilian in the organization and he only complained about the hectic duty hours of the MoD/IB, he praised the rest of the working environment etc. He also mentioned that every now and then these organization ISI/IB/MI tries to put their feet over others hard work and success, in short these organization do have professional rivalry to get the maximum success/exposure.

Please elaborate in detail for all of the aspirants of MoD/IB etc. The man also told me that these organizations are getting success rates on the shoulders of civilian staff (which is somewhat of a backbone of intel organizations).

I hope to get your response in this regard soon. Jazak ALLAH!
The Following User Says Thank You to idealsome For This Useful Post:
Lazar Iqbal (Sunday, June 26, 2016)

Shahidhailian is on a distinguished road

Intelligence bureau ma officers k mazay hein guys don't worry ..
Full time ayashi ..
Some section are just chill
Hafiz karim dad sb na being ad he preparation ki ha css ki .. I met many officers jin ho na ib me rahtay hoi css kar k csp services ko join kia ha ...

Sent from my SM-E500F using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Shahidhailian For This Useful Post:
justsid (Monday, June 27, 2016), Lazar Iqbal (Sunday, June 26, 2016)

alirazakh is on a distinguished road

@Lazar brother, I am still of the same view, even if lower in merit is offered to join and I am one of those I shall join but what reality is just for the up-gradation of a scale(ultimately perks), and here we are discussing in terms of perks as a whole (aptitude factor can never be ignored for preferences) NOT aptitude. There is always room for better carrier and everyone switches. If AD FGO is offered PSP, will he not join?

Lazar Iqbal is on a distinguished road

Actually you seem to be highly inspired from Indian dramas & movies, the reason ur are using Indian origin name for your profile, what is this BINDAS?? Leave civilians, Have you seen Army personnels? From a soldier to a general all are in social isolation for the cause of the country. They remain 24/7 available in cantonments, & One thing more, I'm already serving as a civilian Vice Principal under Army Administration, & we are not treated like bloody civilians type thoughts of urs, They are sensible officers & organised, they serve the way it should be served, that's why ISI is the best intelligence agency & our army is the best institute of Pakistan, & We all know the way you Tehsildars & Patwaris are serving the nation,, Halal ki kamai dekhen to an AD IB gets at least 20 thousand more than a Tehsildar in BS-16.
Lastly I'll say sorry for being harsh.

Old Monday, June 27, 2016

imbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by Lazar Iqbal View Post
Actually you seem to be highly inspired from Indian dramas & movies, the reason ur are using Indian origin name for your profile, what is this BINDAS?? Leave civilians, Have you seen Army personnels? From a soldier to a general all are in social isolation for the cause of the country. They remain 24/7 available in cantonments, & One thing more, I'm already serving as a civilian Vice Principal under Army Administration, & we are not treated like bloody civilians type thoughts of urs, They are sensible officers & organised, they serve the way it should be served, that's why ISI is the best intelligence agency & our army is the best institute of Pakistan, & We all know the way you Tehsildars & Patwaris are serving the nation,, Halal ki kamai dekhen to an AD IB gets at least 20 thousand more than a Tehsildar in BS-16.
Lastly I'll say sorry for being harsh.

Every civil servant is serving the nation in its own way and capacity, someone "so-called" serves the nation by picking up reports from newspapers and forward it to the authorities, while some are serving nation by resolving the real problems of downtrodden people. And regarding Halal, Haram kamai, The intelligence budget is so far never scrutinized nor put under any audit, so leave that "classified" discussion. Don't drag ISI in discussion, stay focused on IB.

More importantly, I can expect the same language from a "teacher" of our society, who is keen in shouting with empty arguments. and When that "teacher" suddenly start dreaming of being an "officer rank", that's exactly what happen.
Old Monday, June 27, 2016

Nisar Shah Bukhari is on a distinguished road

Information collected by IB played vital role in raid on Nine Zero : dawn news
ISLAMABAD: Although the civilian-led Intelligence Bureau (IB) has over the years run its operations under the shadow of the military-led Inter Services Intelligence (ISI), its success in collecting data on different militant wings operating in Karachi has proved handy in the recent successful operations.

Both on-and off-the-record discussions with former and serving officials of different law-enforcement agencies corroborate the fact that lack of collaboration between the two agencies had long been undermining effective operations against criminal elements.

Know more: Rangers raid MQM HQ in Karachi, detain member of Rabita Committee

But, they said, with the continuation of civilian governments in Islamabad, the IB had started strengthening its foothold and providing actionable intelligence to law-enforcers.

According to a senior official closely associated with IB’s operations, during the previous PPP government it had started building a consolidated databank on extortionists and targeted killers belonging to different religious and political parties operating in Karachi.

“Although no action was taken by the PPP government against these gangs because of political considerations, we kept following their activities and, in the process, gathered authentic statistics.”

Also read: Zardari stopped Rangers-like raid on ‘Nine Zero’: Mirza

As a result when in Sept 2013, the PML-N government decided to launch the operation in Karachi, the IB readily provided details of the affiliates of political parties involved in criminal activities.

According to the official, if political will prevails, Karachi’s situation can be effectively handled “as we have enough actionable intelligence at our disposal, including minute details of militant organisations and their sub-networks”.

“The initial success of the Karachi operation, which soon lost its intensity because of political considerations, is witness to the veracity of IB’s information,” he claimed.

Explaining how the IB had evolved into a functioning agency over the recent years, another official said that after General Parvez Musharraf’s years in power during which the agency played second fiddle to the ISI, the PPP government earmarked some resources for its operations. The incoming PML-N government continued equipping the IB with required tools.

A former senior official of the IB said that regular military interventions had led to the undoing of the IB, which until 1979 was considered a useful civilian spying entity. The agency fell prey to politicisation during 90s as successive PML-N and PPP governments influenced its operations to suit their interests.

Gen Musharraf deprived the IB of whatever resources it had, thereby making it a toothless agency, said the official.

Former interior secretary Tasneem Noorani (2001-2005) said that for obvious reasons Mr Musharraf had more confidence in the well- equipped ISI than the IB. As a result the latter was sent to the periphery and lost the opportunity of developing into a potent force. But he agreed that of late the IB had started making positive contributions.

In reply to a question, Mr Noorani said the raid on the headquarters of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement showed that the agencies had done adequate homework and were in possession of irrefutable evidence against those arrested.

On the lack of cooperation between the IB and ISI, which had long been considered as a hurdle in the way of effective intelligence operations, a senior police official, who had been posted in Karachi, said: “A healthy competition between the two agencies can yield a win-win situation. I am happy that the two agencies have started increasingly cooperating with each other.”

He said an effective IB could make a positive contribution to the success of the efforts to counter terrorism. “Although, the military-led Rangers are playing a leading role in reining in targeted killers in Karachi, there is no doubt that the IB has played a vital role in recent successes.”

“And this happens all over the world as countries do maintain multiple agencies but their actions end up in protecting their people,” he added.

Interior Minister Chau*dhry Nisar Ali Khan, while launching the first internal security policy, duly mentioned “trust deficit between the two agencies”. But on Feb 4 he jubilantly informed the National Assembly about a rare cooperation between the ISI and the IB, which led to the foiling of a deadly suicide plan against people belonging to Shia Hazara community of Quetta.

Published in Dawn, March 16th, 2015