09:07 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Compulsory Subjects > English (Precis & Composition) > Grammar-Section

Old Wednesday, January 23, 2013

israrahmed is on a distinguished road

excellent work to all of you. May Allah bless you with success
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by mudasr2006_01 View Post
@bilal'keep it up bro,there are some members like me too who are not particiapting actively but still following thread regularly and benefitting themselves,i solemnly acknowledge your efforts please keep going,:thumbup:
Thank you very much brother, these encouraging remarks really make me feel contented that people are benefiting from my efforts, thanks indeed.
Originally Posted by Intifada View Post
thank you so..... much brother, i got the my answers
and for confirmation, tell me if i m right? i can?could carry this bag.
Yes dear you got the point..
Originally Posted by israrahmed View Post
excellent work to all of you. May Allah bless you with success

Thank you very much brother for these kind and encouraging words.

Ghost Rider will become famous soon enough

wese bilal bhai apki shadi aur proposals k narrations kuch ziada nahi
Anyway, good work buddy.
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold
Default Rule no 9...commands

Commands are Reported in Indirect speech by adding ordered/told.

Bilal said, "Get out of my room". Direct speech
Bilal told me to get out of his room. Indirect speech

General said to the soldiers, "march on". (Appeared in CSS 2012) Direct speech
The General ordered the soldiers to march on. Indirect speech

Similarly there are some negative commands not to do something which are reported in warned, forbade etc

He said, "Don't buy this bag".
Direct speech
HE warned me not to buy that bag. Indirect speech
__________________________________________________ _______________

Exercise:

Teacher said, "raise your hands".
Amir said, "fetch me a glass of water".
CEO ordered me to give him the report on Financial data.
He said, "Do never make noise here."
The Following User Says Thank You to Bilal Hassan For This Useful Post:
Waqas77 (Thursday, January 24, 2013)

Tehreem Biya is on a distinguished road
Default My attempt

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
Commands are Reported in Indirect speech by adding ordered/told.

Bilal said, "Get out of my room". Direct speech
Bilal told me to get out of his room. Indirect speech

General said to the soldiers, "march on". (Appeared in CSS 2012) Direct speech
The General ordered the soldiers to march on. Indirect speech

Similarly there are some negative commands not to do something which are reported in warned, forbade etc

He said, "Don't buy this bag".
Direct speech
HE warned me not to buy that bag. Indirect speech

Exercise:

1. Teacher ordered me to raise my hands.

2. Amir ordered me to fetch him a glass of water.

3. CEO said to me,"Give me the report on financial data."

4. He warned me to never make noice there.

ultimate is on a distinguished road

teacher ordered to raise my hands

Amir ordered me to fetch him a glass of water

CEO said, "give me the report on financial data"

he fobaded to make noise there.
Old Thursday, January 24, 2013

Waqas77 is on a distinguished road

Teacher told us to raise our hands.
Amir told(not signifying sense for order/request) me to fetch him a glass of water.
CEO said, "Give me the report on financial data"
He warned me never to make noise there.
or
He forbade me to make noise there.

Waqas77 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by amna rafiq View Post
2: I aksed what was the price of that book.
Dear i was talking about this sentence as you changed I to He in its indirect form...
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 2547

Farhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by ultimate View Post
teacher ordered to raise my hands

Amir ordered me to fetch him a glass of water

CEO said, "give me the report on financial data"

he fobaded to make noise there.
To consider order, there should be either the expression of order or an authority always supposed to be authoritative like CEO.

Afshan Choudary will become famous soon enoughAfshan Choudary will become famous soon enough

1: Might remains unchanged in reported speech.

Bilal said, "I might leave for Karachi today."
Direct speech
Bilal said that he might leave for Karachi that day. Indirect speech

BUT when might is used for request, it changes.

Humaira said, "you might bring some flowers for me please." Direct speech
Humaira asked him to bring her some flowers./ Humaira requested him to bring some flowers for her. Indirect speech

2: Ought to and should remain unchanged when used in their original role i-e for obligation and assumption.

Ali said, "He should not tease his sister". Direct speech

Ali said that he should not tease hi sister. Indirect speech.

My father said, "You ought to respect the elders". Direct speech
My father said that i ought to respect the elders. Indirect speech

BUT when it is used for advice it changes, advise + object[/COLOR]

"You should work hard to succeed", said his father.
Direct speech
His father advised him to work hard to succeed. Indirect speech

3: should be, would be grateful for making requests is reported by
ask + object +infinitive.

"I would be grateful to you if you would lend me five rupee", said Hamza.
Direct speech
He asked me to lend him five rupee. Indirect speech
__________________________________________________ _________________________________________

Exercise:

He said, "We should help the poor".
Bilal said, "we might go to Switzerland for our honeymoon".
"You ought to take care of all students", said my teacher.
She said, "You might fetch me a glass of water."
"I would be thankful to you if you'd tell me hi name", said Ali.
He said that they should help the poor.
Bilal said that they might go to Switzerland for their honeymoon.
My teacher advised to take care of all students.
She requested him to her a glass of water.
Ali asked him to tell me him his name.