01:09 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Cadres and Training Programmes > Specialized Training Program (STP) > Police Service of Pakistan

Old Tuesday, August 26, 2008
35th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

tahirauf is on a distinguished road
Default @ Omer

Dear..I am comparing a CA with a simple graduate and by the way i have passed the professional modules (Profile Has Been Updated Now)...Moreover i am still providing Financial Consultancy in the shape of assignments. so that is how i am very much in touch with the changes being made in the IASs and IFRSs. This is very easy u just have to get yourself registered with Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu

The financial consultancy does'nt need you to be sit all day long in the office..You just have to express your opinions on the proposed transaction

Omer will become famous soon enough

@Tabassum Shabbir Awan

Bro!after getting retirement in 25 years, i think th epurpose of joining civil services is not fullfilled. bcz aftr 25 yrs u will b at a better administerative position to do something extraordinary for the ppl of ur country.
If one's mind is set to join some other job aftr some yrs, one must not join civil service. bcz civil service means somthing other than money.
One must decide b4 going for CE about his priorities.which is a fundamental question.

@Tahirauf
Consulancy does require u to sit all the day in office rather than external audit where u have to work on specific time periods.
Consultancy majorly included due diligence, valuations, financial modeling, feasibility studies etc..............how can u complete these assignments without giving proper tym.

Anyway, its really nice 2 c a CA in the line of PSP.
"A man can be as great as he wants to be. If you believe in yourself and have the courage, the determination, the dedication, the competitive drive and if you are willing to sacrifice the little things in life and pay the price for the things that are worthwhile, it can be done."

Last edited by Aarwaa; Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 01:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Omer For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Tuesday, August 26, 2008)
35th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

Default @ Omer

Omer.. I absolutely agree with you that consultancy needs time but you see you are offering this service for a limited scope, as part time job it requires not that much time as in case of a Chartered accountant sitting in A.F.ferguson's office and going through the clients base and working on 3 to 4 assignments at one time.

Well i make Feasibility studies and advise about Investment opportuinitues to my clients that too ONLINE. Recently i have arranged equity from an American Company for a very famous Pakistani "Sweets, Bakers & Dairy Chain"...charging a consultancy fee of 3% of the amount of the transaction...Alhamdullah that AMOUNT is suffient for me for atleast 3 years....

Best of Luck Omer for your future...Hope you get whatever you want in your life.
Old Thursday, August 28, 2008

Osmaan is on a distinguished road
Default PSP Benefits

Could an CSP posted in the PSP tell me about the perks & privelges (vehicles, guards, house, workers) availed in each and every post of the PSP. Starting from an ASP to an IG. Answers from PSP officals are requested and only real and confirmed information.

Thank You
Old Monday, September 01, 2008
35th Common

Default @ Red.Hawk & Osmaan

Good to see that our youngsters like you are analyzying PSP deprtment so closely before joining....thats a good thing...well done...

By answering your questions, few answers have been provided above but i'll try to give you a bit exact replies.

As far as salary is concerned its around 24,000 (Including Allowances, TA & DAs)

Four personally sellected Gun men

Garderner & Cook ( hired from Thana not officially posted )

3- Door land cruiser with around of 200 litre petrol ( varies with nature & area of posting)

A house ( ofcourse finding a 5-marla house is a challenge in cities like Lahore, pindi & Karachi but in other cities one can easily get a house)

In some posts like in CID and Special branch one may get a cell phone with unlimited billing

Adding to this a 24 hour responsibility but it is quite thrilling too, it depends what kind of nature you have, some enjoy thrill and some hates that, PSP is for those who love challenges and thrill and believe very realistically that we have to DIE ONE DAY....ANY TIME...ANY PLACE....GOD KNOWS, WHEN WHERE HOW.....
Faraz_1984 (Tuesday, September 02, 2008), Omer (Monday, September 01, 2008), Surmount (Friday, September 19, 2008), Zirwaan Khan (Saturday, September 20, 2008)
Old Tuesday, September 02, 2008
35th Common

Default @ Omer

Originally Posted by Omer
@tahirauf
How is ur exp of PSP going wen u cmpare it with ur profession?
Wt factors propelled u to join civil services?
U did any other job?......articles etc or not?
Wt were ur marks in Audit and accounts in css?

It is really nice to c a person of my field in the position of which im an aspirant of.

Find the answers of your questions here.

Omer ofcourse when you are earning as a Chartered Accountant you are earning many a times as compared to you earn in CSP line. I am wise enough to bring my qualification in use while serving the nation. I just had to purchase a 1.25 lac Sony Vaio machine (laptop) and it got me going, am earning 7 to 10 lac per transaction and i have already completed 4 assignments.So my expenses are going really well, I am wearing a prestigeous uniform and at the same time earning like a Chartered Accountant but this style of job will suit better in DMG service not in PSP...Omer its really tough in PSP where your responbility is too much, anyways as far as i am concerned i am enjoying it.

Talking about the reasons due to which i decided to join the service....well as a young student i always used to tal about the poor performance of the politicians and the Govt officers, but gradually i realized that if i criticize these politiians and govt servants why do'nt i join the service myself and do what a Govt employee should do as per my thinkings. In short i felt that i'll be satisfied to do what i liked to do and infact i always loved to be a PSP officer since my childhood, though i realized that fact a bit late. Remember one should chose the profession what he/she loves to do and i dint like late sittings,audits,worried to much about the clients, no time for family and a dead rubber life....

Ofcourse i had my articles which are mendatory...i had them at KPMG, i took the CSS attempt when i had three papers of Mod-E cleared,but by the time when i joined the CSA my articles were complete and passed the BFD paper of MOd-F during my CTP. Other than articles i was'nt brave enough to join a private job.

My marks in Audit & Accounts were 172 and in Mercantile Law 88

Hope my answers meet your queries, due to shortage of time i could'nt go in detail.
Omer (Tuesday, September 02, 2008), ramzanali (Thursday, September 04, 2008)
Old Sunday, September 21, 2008

Sarmad Rafique is on a distinguished road

Dear Sir Tahir (ASP)

I really like the way you answer the questions....and I am impressed from your education as well…Nice! Couple of weeks back I came up with bunch of queries, hope u all remember who participated?

Well, I have decided to go for MBA first and then CSS inshAllah...but I have comment and question on your statement “after retirement as CSP, a CA holder can have sound future as well". I put it in the perspective of MBA….

1) Can MBA help to join some company or bank to work with (After getting retired from CSS)? another thing that I always think about Police officers that I have seen lot of political influence within this....like unethical and illegal demands of CMs and Nazims during election days to DPOs.. And if one does not comply with, he gets transferred or suffers his due promotions. (Who is Nazim to direct a DPO? Is he a CSP officer? How much an ASP or DPO is autonomous then?) Up to what extent this rumor or u can say my observation is right?

2) After how many years CSS officer (in Police) gets promoted? And I have heard that age limit is extended up to 30 years to attempt for CSS... Is it right?

3) Up to what extent my MBA can help me in the exam of CSS, means to qualify it?

I think I have asked more then I should but I want to get rid of my confusion thru u brothers and sisters on this group...

All members especially ASPs and police officers are warmly requested to answer…+ Mr. SURMOUNTz opinion is awaited…
Best Regards,
SARMAD RAFIQUE
The Following User Says Thank You to Sarmad Rafique For This Useful Post:
Surmount (Friday, June 05, 2009)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2007Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

mahmood has a spectacular aura aboutmahmood has a spectacular aura about

I Am not in active service at the moment but I consulted some people ( including a senior 22 grade DMG officer) before i was making my choices. they told me that Police and DMG are the most difficult as there is a lot of political pressure in it. so yes you might be right in that. because of that reason I put police at the end of my choices ( surprising ha, given everyone puts it at the top).
the first promotion is very quick. i think its three years after your STP. atleast that is what i have seen in the case of one of my good brotherly seniors.
35th Common

Default @ Sarmad Raffique

Originally Posted by Sarmad Rafique
Dear Sir Tahir (ASP)

I really like the way you answer the questions....and I am impressed from your education as well…Nice! Couple of weeks back I came up with bunch of queries, hope u all remember who participated?

Well, I have decided to go for MBA first and then CSS inshAllah...but I have comment and question on your statement “after retirement as CSP, a CA holder can have sound future as well". I put it in the perspective of MBA….

1) Can MBA help to join some company or bank to work with (After getting retired from CSS)? another thing that I always think about Police officers that I have seen lot of political influence within this....like unethical and illegal demands of CMs and Nazims during election days to DPOs.. And if one does not comply with, he gets transferred or suffers his due promotions. (Who is Nazim to direct a DPO? Is he a CSP officer? How much an ASP or DPO is autonomous then?) Up to what extent this rumor or u can say my observation is right?

2) After how many years CSS officer (in Police) gets promoted? And I have heard that age limit is extended up to 30 years to attempt for CSS... Is it right?

3) Up to what extent my MBA can help me in the exam of CSS, means to qualify it?

I think I have asked more then I should but I want to get rid of my confusion thru u brothers and sisters on this group...

All members especially ASPs and police officers are warmly requested to answer…+ Mr. SURMOUNTz opinion is awaited…
Best Regards,
SARMAD RAFIQUE

Dear Sarmad...First of all i really appreciate you for your keen interest shown in CSS...Pakistan needs competant people like you and I always feel obliged to answer the queries of the people like you

Now coming to the point..well As far as PSP is concerned then an MBA would'nt hav good package after retirement (at 60) or at premature resignation..this logic holds good for CAs but not for MBAs, reasons being the market is full of MBAs moreover MBAs are not financial advisors they are managers. (for PSP MBAs only)..BUT as far as MBAs in DMG,Foreign Service,tax,Custom,Audit/Accounts,Commerce & trade is concerned the prospects are very bright for MBAs..well i would like to quote the example of one of my seniors..he was in Income Tax department,he did MBA from IBA through Govt of Pak (which is mandatory for IT officers) then served for atleast 2 years and later he received an offer from Bank Alfalah at 5 lac per month + Civic + unlimited cell phone Now this is the prospects of an MBA in technical fields ofcourse even CA is'nt at its best while in PSP but in PSP one can go for LLM( crime) or Forensics as the STP at Sahala is awarded as Bsc(Criminal Studies) from punjab university

Yes MBA will help you a lot during your CSS attempt, i think if u hav covered ur accounting good dyring your MBA, u can score 150 easily in accouting of CSS (I scored 172) then Mercantile law if u hav good grip in Mercantile Law u can score 70+ (i scored 88) i think these were the two papers which made the difference for me coz i prepared for just 5 months for CSS due to my job commitments din hav time to prepare well then i resigned and prepared finally. similarly MBA can make a difference for u if u use it to your advantage.

Well talking about MNAs/MPAs and Nazims....who is more educated? who is more tacical? who is more shrewd? who is more cunning? "Toppi pehnana kisse atti hai?" ofcourse mighty CSPs...!!!! i think u got my point....yar have simple approach...DO NOT say No to anyone...be diplomatic and in the end do what ever u want to do...u'll always find excuses to be presented to these MNAs/MPAs and Nazims...they 'll play in ur hands dun u worry,the process through which v r sellected these Politicians ca'nt out smart us...believe me its a fact...but remember never say staright NO to anyone...be diplomatic

well from an ASP to SP it takes minimum of 2.5 years after ur STP is over...but finally it comes to the available seats in front of u...if seat is available then u get promoted just after 2.5 years but if seats are'nt avalable then it could take 3 years too...!!!

No age limit is'nt being extended to 30...

I tried to give all the Qs u asked...am on leave as am leaving for UK after Eid for my LLM(crime) so by then I am available so if u wanna ask more,u are more than welcomed

Sarmad Rafique (Tuesday, September 23, 2008), Surmount (Friday, June 05, 2009)
Old Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Sarmad Rafique is on a distinguished road

hmmm..thatz right. well best of luck with your tour... i think this is the attractive thing in CSS ( foreign tours) . have you ever been to u.k or other foreign country with an official trip before?

U rightly said about political diplomacy...but situation may vary from province to province. when did u join this service?

STP stands for? Sir what is the duration of training after qualifynig for ASP?

ahhh.. u scored nicely coz CAz r sharp at accounting. i will be more good at management kind of courses, but accounting will also do!

will be in touch INSHALLAH!

Last edited by Princess Royal; Wednesday, September 24, 2008 at 03:10 PM.